"question mark" by BAMCorp is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0.
Indexing databases index literature from many different publishers worldwide, giving you the reference details and the abstracts of articles. Usually, articles that you find by using databases containing full-text, such as Science Direct, Wiley Online Library, or Academic Search Complete, will be indexed in one of the indexing databases. Full-text collections are smaller, so if you're doing a thorough literature search to find out what's been published on your topic, you need to use the big indexing databases. There are databases that are interdisciplinary and ones that are subject specific. You will need both when doing a thorough literature search.
Databases are listed under subject groupings below, including relevant interdisciplinary databases. Please note that many of these are a mixture of index and full-text content. This is not a comprehensive list of the databases available; other subject specific databases can be found in the relevant subject guides. Please also keep in mind that there may be reason to look at databases from other subject areas, such as business, law or psychology, depending on the nature of your research topic.
Links to full text for many journal articles. This database also contains indexes and summaries for articles from over 400 journals in the field of communications and mass media, including radio, television and journalism.
HIC provides fulltext of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world including all data from Humanities International Index. Humanities International Complete is an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. Summaries of journal articles not subscribed to are also listed.
IEEE Xplore is the interface for IEL Online (IEEE/IET Digital library). This database provides full text access to all the IEEE and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) journals, conferences and active IEEE standards. It gives access to worldwide quality technical literature in electrical engineering, electronics, communications technology, business management, computing and multimedia.
Large collection of academic e-journals and e-books. Covers economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences; Language, performing, and visual arts, including all titles in the Music collection. JSTOR also includes the Artstor image database, accessible by using the ‘Images’ search option on the JSTOR site, or by using the separate Artstor link on the A-Z of E-Resources.
Web of Science is citation tracking search tool that allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects. Web of Science covers over 20,000 journals across most major disciplines (not just science disciplines).
Full-text access to thousands of journals across a broad range of topics. Contains also summaries to articles which are available fulltext via other databases.
HIC provides fulltext of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world including all data from Humanities International Index. Humanities International Complete is an invaluable resource for students, researchers, and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. Summaries of journal articles not subscribed to are also listed.
Web of Science is citation tracking search tool that allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects. Web of Science covers over 20,000 journals across most major disciplines (not just science disciplines).
Journal article abstract database focused on psychology, social science and behavioural sciences. Covers approximately 2,400 journals in multiple languages.
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Please note that the personal Sign In function does not currently work with London Met IT logins. Please use a personal Google/Gmail or Microsoft/Hotmail login if you wish to create a personal account on PubMed.
Medical research resource covering Health Psychology and other medicine-related issues. Available free of charge nationally. See their online Search Manual for details of the different databases, which sections are most appropriate for your search (e.g. Systematic Reviews). Includes some full-text.
Web of Science is citation tracking search tool that allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects. Web of Science covers over 20,000 journals across most major disciplines (not just science disciplines).
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Please note that the personal Sign In function does not currently work with London Met IT logins. Please use a personal Google/Gmail or Microsoft/Hotmail login if you wish to create a personal account on PubMed.
Developed by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC), SPORTDiscus covers both the practical and research literature on sport, physical fitness and physical education. It includes HERACLES, a French-language bibliographic database covering sport, physical education and fitness. Subjects covered include sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and other sport- and fitness-related topics. Also included are ATLANTES and CATALOGUE DU MUSEE OLYMPIQUE.
Medical research resource covering Health Psychology and other medicine-related issues. Available free of charge nationally. See their online Search Manual for details of the different databases, which sections are most appropriate for your search (e.g. Systematic Reviews). Includes some full-text.
Web of Science is citation tracking search tool that allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects. Web of Science covers over 20,000 journals across most major disciplines (not just science disciplines).
Clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Please sign-up to the database the first time you use it and always use this personal login to get the best results
This database offers full-text plus summaries and indexes to international arts publications on fine, decorative and commercial art. Indexing of art reproductions helps researchers focus on a single artist or find individual works. Invaluable for students, educators, curators, art historians, and art lovers.
Provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students working in the social sciences with quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings.
Web of Science is citation tracking search tool that allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects. Web of Science covers over 20,000 journals across most major disciplines (not just science disciplines).
