Hello and welcome to the library subject support page for Stanfort Academy students
Your local Institution will provide you with the resources that you need for your assignments, but this webpage will explain what additional library resources are available to you as a student studying for a London Metropolitan University degree. You will also find hints and tips of how to navigate your way around these library resources to use them for your studies.
On this page we have put together a list of the resources provided to you by London Met available for Accounting, Banking, Business, Economics, Finance, Management, Marketing and Tourism topics for Stanfort Academy studentsâ, along with some great freely available sources of academic knowledge (mainly academic in content), and our guides on how to find information, carry out your research and reference correctly.
Good luck with your studies!
The Emerald databases provides full-text articles covering management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, and marketing and human resource management – and over 3,000 e-books covering the social sciences subjects, including education, economics, politics and research in the social sciences.
Use the links below to access these databases, and use your London Met username and password to log into them when prompted.
This database provides full-text articles covering management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, and marketing and human resource management â and over 3,000 e-books covering the social sciences subjects, including education, economics, politics and research in the social sciences.
Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies (EEMCS) is an online collection of peer-reviewed case studies focusing on business decision making and management development throughout key global emerging markets. Case are written by case writers working in or closely with developing economies. offering perspectives with global appeal. EEMCS addresses the increasing demand from business educators and practitioners for quality-controlled teaching cases focusing on global emerging markets. We have access to the 2016, 2018, 2019 and 2020 case studies.
Provides access to over 1,000,000 articles from thousands of journals published by Oxford University Press.
Search the entire collection, or use the Collection, Type or Subjects options to filter down the content to relevant topics.
At Cambridge University Press, Open Access submissions are accepted in more than 350 of their journals, and nearly 80,000 articles are now available as open access
Unpaywall - plug-in tool to indicate free scholarly content
Unpaywall retrieves Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and research repositories, and makes it easy to find, track, and use freely available research.
It’s a tool – a browser plugin – that will indicate if an Open Access version of an academic journal article, conference paper or book chapter is available when you’ve landed on a web page which is requesting a login and you're being asked to pay to view the item.
For example, instead of looking at a journal article on the publisher's website, it could alternatively be available in a university digital research repository as the final pre-print copy that was sent for publication.
Large collection of academic e-journals and e-books. Covers economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences; Language, performing, and visual arts, including all titles in the Music collection.
Large collection of academic e-journals and e-books. Covers economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences; Language, performing, and visual arts, including all titles in the Music collection. JSTOR also includes the Artstor image database, accessible by using the âImagesâ search option on the JSTOR site, or by using the separate Artstor link on the A-Z of E-Resources.
A global index of fully open access journals and articles screened for specific criteria (a 'safe list').
Freely available full-text online journals from all disciplines. Searchable and browsable.
Open Access resources are freely available sources of knowledge (mainly academic in content), which can include academic journal articles, books, conference reports and PhD theses.
The open access movement's purpose is to increase and encourage sharing of knowledge to help further research.
These collections listed below give access to open access jounrnals and books.
An index to literature in Leisure and Tourism topics provided by CABI. It indexes academic journals, books, conference proceedings, theses and so on back to 1976. It links direct to some of the full-text journals we subscribe to on other databases.
This multi-archive collection provides a wide-ranging and in depth look at the emigration of peoples from Great Britain, mainland Europe and Asia during the nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. Personal diaries, letters, travel journals and scrapbooks are supplemented by original maps, watercolours, engravings, objects, emigration pamphlets, shipping papers and rare printed material which provide significant context to these eye-witness accounts. Included within the collection are also documents from the late-eighteenth century discussing the early stages of emigration and mid-twentieth century photographs showing the immigration process. Includes The Century of Immigration: This release provides a wealth of material on English, Scandinavian, Irish, Italian, Jewish, Polish and Scottish migrant experiences, along with a rich variety of documents covering Chinese and Japanese migration to the United States. Hundreds of unique primary documents have been sourced from 15 contributing archives, libraries and museums, including material from the National Archives UK, Maritime Museum of San Diego, Museum Victoria, the Tenement Museum (New York) and the Maritime Museum of Tasmania. This collection provides an important and multi-faceted resource for students, teachers and researchers from a diverse range of academic disciplines, including migration studies, history, sociology, law, economics and postcolonial studies.
The mission of CORE (COnnecting REpositories) is to âaggregate all open access research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public. In this way CORE facilitates free unrestricted access to research for allâ (website). The CORE Portal allows to search and navigate scientific publications and open access journal articles aggregated from a wide range of Open Access Repositories (OARs). CORE also includes doctoral theses held in repositories globally.
Searchable directory of open access e-books. It is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in open access.
Presents comparative statistics that provide an overview of recent international economic developments through the presentation of a wide range of short-term economic indicators for the OECD member countries, 5 area totals and selected non-member countries. Contains data on national accounts, industrial production, employment, prices, business trends, finance and trade for the major world economies and runs from January 1960 to the current month.
Site providing access to financial, economic and alternative datasets for investors from various sources including central banks and stock exchanges. Includes alternative data previously hosted by Quandl. Some free data is available (free account registration required).
Collection of high quality Open Access e-textbooks in many different subject areas.
Organisation that promotes Open Access research books, particularly in Humanities and Social Science disciplines. Includes the OAPEN Library, which provides many freely accessible books along with a search tool.
