Partnership Library Services: Resources (NCC)
Welcome
Hello and welcome to the library subject support page for New City College students
Your local Institution will provide you with the resources that you need for your assignments, but this webpage will explain what additional library resources are available to you as a student studying for a London Metropolitan University degree. You will also find hints and tips of how to navigate your way around these library resources to use them for your studies.
On this page we have put together a list of some great freely available sources of academic knowledge (mainly academic in content), and our guides on how to find information, carry out your research and reference correctly.
Good luck with your studies!
Ebsco Educational Databases
As a partner student at New City College undertaking a London Metropolitan University award, you also have access to Ebsco Educational Databases.
EBSCO Educational Databases is an online education resource comprising British Education Index (BEI), Education Resource Information Center (ERIC), Educational Administration Abstracts, Education Abstracts, and Child Development and Adolescent Studies.
You will have been emailed instructions on how to log into Ebsco Education Databases and a direct link to let you log into it. This username is separate from your London Met login, and the link to this resource is unique to NCC and not the same one found on the Library's main pages.
Note - these databases are Abstracts and Indexes only, no full texts are available unless stated
Learn how to perform an advanced search on EBSCOhost databases, e.g. Educational Databases, in the video below
What is Open Access?
Open Access resources are freely available sources of knowledge (mainly academic in content), which can include academic journal articles, books, conference reports and PhD theses.
The open access movement's purpose is to increase and encourage sharing of knowledge to help further research.
Unpaywall browser plug-in to locate OA content
Unpaywall - plug-in tool to indicate free scholarly content
Unpaywall retrieves Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and research repositories, and makes it easy to find, track, and use freely available research.
It’s a tool – a browser plugin – that will indicate if an Open Access version of an academic journal article, conference paper or book chapter is available when you’ve landed on a web page which is requesting a login and you're being asked to pay to view the item.
For example, instead of looking at a journal article on the publisher's website, it could alternatively be available in a university digital research repository as the final pre-print copy that was sent for publication.
Library Skills
Emerald Insight Databases
The Emerald databases provides full-text articles covering management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, and marketing and human resource management – and over 3,000 e-books covering the social sciences subjects, including education, economics, politics and research in the social sciences.
Use the links below to access these databases, and use your London Met username and password to log into them when prompted.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text articles covering management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, and marketing and human resource management – and over 3,000 e-books covering the social sciences subjects, including education, economics, politics and research in the social sciences.
- Emerald Emerging Markets Case Studies This link opens in a new windowEmerald Emerging Markets Case Studies (EEMCS) is an online collection of peer-reviewed case studies focusing on business decision making and management development throughout key global emerging markets. Case are written by case writers working in or closely with developing economies. offering perspectives with global appeal. EEMCS addresses the increasing demand from business educators and practitioners for quality-controlled teaching cases focusing on global emerging markets. We have access to the 2016, 2018, 2019 and 2020 case studies.
Brill Journal Archive Online
Provides access to over 50,000 articles from more than 80 journals published by Brill before 2000. This resource has content relevant to biology, the humanities, human rights, international law, science, and the social sciences.
Use the Publications or Subjects option to search and view content.
- Brill Journal Archive Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 50,000 articles from more than 80 journals published by Brill before 2000. This resource has content relevant to biology, the humanities, human rights, international law, science, and the social sciences.
Open Access - Books Quick Links
These collections give access to open access books. For more details about these resources, and links to other databases as well please see the A-Z list at the bottom of the page
Open Access - Journals Quick Links
These collections give access to open access journals. For more details about these resources, and links to other databases as well please see the A-Z list at the bottom of the page