Partnership Library Services: Resources (QAHE and ECA)
Welcome
Hello and welcome to the library subject support page for students studying with our partners at QAHE and ECA-London.
Your local Institution will provide you with the resources that you need for your assignments, but this webpage will explain what additional library resources are available to you as a student studying for a London Metropolitan University degree. You will also find hints and tips of how to navigate your way around these library resources to use them for your studies.
On this page we have put together a list of some great freely available sources of academic knowledge (mainly academic in content), and our guides on how to find information, carry out your research and reference correctly.
Good luck with your studies!
What can I access?
On this page you will find information about the ebook collections and other online databases that you can access as a partner student undertaking a London Metropolitan University award.
Databases have been categorised into broad subject categories in the A-Z e-Resources list. Use this list to click on the relevant database to link directly to it.
Other free databases and repositories exist to find ebooks and ejournals. See the Open Access resources information and links on this page for more information.
- A-Z E-Resources List
A-Z list of all the Library's online resources including descriptions. The list can be filtered by subject and resource type
How do I get more help?
Library Services is here to support your studies at London Metropolitan University. There is a dedicated subject guide and Academic Liaison Librarian for each of the teaching areas.
The guides give information on relevant resources for each subject, and your Academic Liaison Librarian (ALL) will be able to help you with any questions you might have about effectively using the Library subject collections, databases and other resources, or skills such as how to reference.
- Subject Guides
Written by the Academic Liaison Librarians who are specialists in their subject areas, the subject guides provide subject specific information on relevant databases that can help you in your studies
How do I access resources?
You will be issued with a London Metropolitan University Single Sign-On Username and Password.
These details allow you to login to the databases subscribed to by the University. Some Open Access databases won't require a login.
- You will be assigned a student number, which acts as your username.
You can make use of the databases listed in our guides for educational purposes only. It is against university regulations to share your login details or password with anyone else.
What is Open Access?
Open Access resources are freely available sources of knowledge (mainly academic in content), which can include academic journal articles, books, conference reports and PhD theses.
The open access movement's purpose is to increase and encourage sharing of knowledge to help further research.
Unpaywall browser plug-in to locate OA content
Unpaywall - plug-in tool to indicate free scholarly content
Unpaywall retrieves Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and research repositories, and makes it easy to find, track, and use freely available research.
It’s a tool – a browser plugin – that will indicate if an Open Access version of an academic journal article, conference paper or book chapter is available when you’ve landed on a web page which is requesting a login and you're being asked to pay to view the item.
For example, instead of looking at a journal article on the publisher's website, it could alternatively be available in a university digital research repository as the final pre-print copy that was sent for publication.
Library Skills
SCONUL Access
London Metropolitan University is a member of the SCONUL Access scheme. SCONUL Access is a reciprocal scheme which allows many university library users to borrow or use books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme. The scheme covers most of the university libraries in the UK and Ireland.
The scheme covers most of the university libraries in the UK and Ireland so have a look at participating libraries. You will not be able to access their subscribed e-journals, databases or other e-resources, printers, laptops or PCs. Please be patient when you first apply as the institution you apply for may be processing a large number of applications. Members must comply with the entry requirements of the library they visit, e.g. wear their ID on a lanyard whilst on campus, and are responsible for loss of, or damage to, books and other University property.
QAHE student can register to join the scheme by using the Sconul Access application form and submit your application.
Application requirements:
- You do not need to make multiple applications.
- Providing your library account shows no overdue items or outstanding charges you will receive an e-mail showing acceptance of your application.
- Be ready to show your acceptance email - printed or on your mobile device - and your staff / student ID card when you go to the institution you wish to use.
Student FAQs are available on the Sconul Access website.
Check the library website of the institution you are visiting before making the journey in case a passport photo or any further identification is required, and to check their opening times for SCONUL visitors.
If the institution you are visiting provides Eduroam wireless access you should be able to connect to this as a London Metropolitan University student. Check our Wifi access details for more information.
