Full-text access to thousands of journals across a broad range of topics. Contains also summaries to articles which are available fulltext via other databases.
Artstor features millions of high-quality images and media from some of the world’s top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. Artstor’s collections also include Open Access collections from partner museums freely available to all. All content in Artstor is rights-cleared for education and research — you are free to use it in classroom instruction and handouts, presentations, student assignments, and other noncommercial educational and scholarly act.
This comprehensive resource offers instant, searchable access to books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines including Fashion and Textiles, Design and Illustration, Photography, Film and Media, Architecture and Interiors, and Marketing and Advertising.
The Fashion Photography Archive is a fully searchable and meticulously indexed resource, containing 750,000 high-quality runway, backstage and street style images that have never before been published online. These include: international runway shows from the 1970s until 2000, including key designers such as McQueen, Gaultier, Westwood, Chalayan, Galliano and more; rare backstage and front row shots from fashion shows of the past forty years; and, street-style images from fashion cities around the world.
Shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for education institutions. BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 free to air TV and radio channels.
Online image database providing unlimited access to over 1.2m images, all copyright cleared for educational use by institutions, teachers, lecturers, librarians and students. Bridgeman Art Library represents over 1,600 museums, galleries and private collections, and over 30,000 artists. The comprehensive and eclectic range of images spans the curriculum, providing invaluable visual teaching and learning material on a variety of subjects, including: fine art, history, geography, politics, sociology, antiquity, literature and theatre, science and medicine, religion and philosophy.
Provides introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods in the subject areas of literature, philosophy, classics, religion and cultural studies in a functional, cross searchable online environment.
Access to all academic journals published by Cambridge University Press (approximately 430 journals) covering subjects across the humanities, social sciences and science, technology and medicine.
Interactive referencing help tool based on the bestselling ‘Cite Them Right’ book. Includes guided referencing tutorials and videos. Supports all key referencing styles including Harvard, APA, IEEE, Chicago and OSCOLA.
Links to full text for many journal articles. This database also contains indexes and summaries for articles from over 400 journals in the field of communications and mass media, including radio, television and journalism.
Courtauld Books Online is a series of online scholarly books published by The Courtauld Institute of Art. The series includes research publications that emerge from Courtauld Research Forum events and Courtauld projects involving an array of outstanding scholars from art history and conservation across the world. The series consists of discrete books, shaped by a rigorous academic peer-review process. It is an open-access series, freely available to read online and to download without charge. The series has been developed in the context of research priorities of The Courtauld which emphasise the extension of knowledge in the fields of art history and conservation, and the development of new patterns of explanation.
An online reference resource that provides access to the full text of subject-specific reference titles, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases from a wide variety of publishers. Credo guides students through topics and concepts using visualisation tools and extensive cross referencing. Constantly expanding, it contains over 3 million entries from over 500 titles, including over 200,000 multimedia items and allows seamless searching of your other library resources. This multidisciplinary resource covers anthropology, art, astronomy, biography, biology, business, chemistry, computer science, ecology, economics, education, engineering, environmental studies, food, geography, geology, history, language, law, literature, mathematics, media studies, medicine, midwifery, music, nursing, palaeontology, philosophy, physics, politics, psychology, quotations, religion, sociology, technology, and zoology.
Containing over 170 titles, the Art and Art History e-book collection raises critical questions about the story of art in the 20th and 21st centuries. These books expand the narrative of art history to include women, LGBTQ artists, artists of color, indigenous artists, and artists from Latin America, Africa, and Asia. The collection includes major works in photography, museum studies, and visual culture, as well as volumes of artists talking about their own work.
The online service for finding doctoral theses from most UK universities. Includes over 600,000 theses, with many being available for full text viewing online. Other theses listed in paper format can also be requested for digitisation on demand.
Multi-lingual online collection of millions of digitised cultural items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections, including images, texts, newspapers, audio and video.
Exact Editions makes magazines and their archives accessible, searchable and usable across web and app platforms. The Exact Editions system processes PDF files supplied by the publisher and stores images and text in a database, ensuring that the digital edition of the title looks exactly the same as the print edition. The digital editions boast a comprehensive search function, sharing facilities and are fully-linked for an interactive and seamless reader experience.
Free digital backlist titles from the Getty Publications Archives, covering the J. Paul Getty Museum, Getty Conservation Institute, Getty Research Institute. Books in the fields of art, photography, archaeology, architecture, conservation, and the humanities for both general and specialized audiences.
Full-text electronic gateway for access to a range of full text electronic journals from academic publishers.
Large collection of academic e-journals and e-books. Covers economics, history, political science, and sociology, as well as in other key fields in the humanities and social sciences; Language, performing, and visual arts, including all titles in the Music collection. JSTOR also includes the Artstor image database, accessible by using the ‘Images’ search option on the JSTOR site, or by using the separate Artstor link on the A-Z of E-Resources.
Legal database containing the full text of amended and consolidated UK legislation from 1267 onwards as well as a comprehensive range of general and specialist law reports including the Law Reports of England & Wales, All England Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports and the Family Law Reports. Includes Halsbury’s Laws of England and Wales, a complete narrative statement of the law of England and Wales. You can search and browse over 100 full text UK law journals from a range of publishers including Cambridge University Press and Oxford University Press.
LinkedIn Learning (formerly known as Lynda.com) is an online learning platform to help people learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals through access to a searchable video library of courses. Training sessions in streaming video taught by recognised industry experts cover a variety of software products and digital technologies as well as a wide range of other topics.
Online newspaper directory for the world, with thousands of newspapers listed by country and region, covering North America and the Caribbean, Africa, South and Central America, Asia and the Middle East, Europe, Australasia and Oceania
This archive represents over 165 years of historical research, containing articles from over 140 titles, compiled into subject-based archives, which includes The Humanities Archive (1829 – 1995), The Medicine Archive (1878 – 1995), The Science Archive (1848 – 1995), The Law Archive (1952 – 1995) and The Social Science Archive (1902 – 1995).
Project MUSE is a platform operated by Johns Hopkins University in the USA providing access to a range of Open Access books, with a particular focus on the Humanities and Social Sciences.
The Slade School of Fine Art approaches the practice of contemporary art and the history and theories that inform it in an experimental, research-oriented and imaginative way. An art school with a world leading reputation, the Slade makes a significant contribution to the field of contemporary art both nationally and internationally. This page presents some of the Slade’s open access publications which includes: Colour and poetry, Print pals : then and now and Slade graduate research.
Academic journals covering a wide range of subject areas – from the social sciences and humanities to science and technology. Access to London Met subscribed journals plus Open Access journals only.
A collection of over 100,000 images. The image resources are free and copyright cleared for use in UK Higher Education. The database covers advertising, architecture, art history, crafts, design, dress, fashion, fine art, graphic design, industrial design, jewellery, painting, photography, posters, public monuments, textiles, sculpture, shoes, stained glass. Featuring: African and Asian Art, The Design Council Archives, Imperial War Museum Spanish Civil War Posters, Parker Collection of Furniture, Paul Trevor East End of London Photography Archive, Russian Visual Arts, Women’s Library Suffrage Banners.
Web of Science is citation tracking search tool that allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects. Web of Science covers over 20,000 journals across most major disciplines (not just science disciplines).
Access to approximately 2,800 academic journals published by Wiley. Subject areas include medicine, health, life sciences, engineering, physics, information science, computing, mathematics and more.
