Built Environment and Construction

For budget estimation and costing. Includes news, cost analyses, index, and average building prices.

Construction News is a leading UK provider of news, analysis and opinion on the construction industry. The site includes access to all current content going back to 2018. Register for an access account using your London Met email address. Once registered, use your new username and password for full access to the site.

This online database offers a range of historical UK maps from the Ordnance Survey. County, National and Town maps at various scales are offered dating from 1843 to the mid 1990s.

Digimap is a collection of UK maps at scales from 1:1,250 up to 1:750,000 available for making maps online of for download. Additional products include post codes, administrative boundaries, a gazetteer of place names and digital terrain models.

Property and real estate market analysis database including data, news and legal commentary. First-time users sign up here. 

Account registration required
To register for EG Radius please go to this sign-up link. Use your London Met email address to register and wait for the confirmation email. On the registration screen enter ‘London Metropolitan University’ under Company Name, ‘N7 8DB’ under Postcode, ‘Education - Student’ under Job Role and ‘Student’ under Job Level. After registering, use the main link above, logging in with your London Met email address and the password you created at registration. 

This database provides full-text articles covering management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, and marketing and human resource management – and over 3,000 e-books covering the social sciences subjects, including education, economics, politics and research in the social sciences.

Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment, including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.

Source of BIM objects in the UK to support Building Information Modeling, the process involving the generation and management of digital representations of physical and functional characteristics of places. Includes generic objects for use in outline design stages and specific manufacture objects for use later in the project, all authored to NBS standard.

The British Architectural Library’s online catalogue. Among the many subjects covered by the collection are architectural law and practice, history, building types, such as churches, galleries and houses, guides to the architecture of specific countries or regions, sustainability and town planning.

Statista is an online statistics portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions. According to the company, the platform has statistics on over 80,000 topics, covering Europe (with a focus on the United Kingdom), the United States and China, from more than 18,000 sources. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Data sources include market research reports, such as the Ipsos Affluent Survey published annually by Ipsos Media, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights from Scarborough Research, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Web of Science is citation tracking search tool that allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects. Web of Science covers over 20,000 journals across most major disciplines (not just science disciplines).

Full text of UK, and International cases, legislation, journals and ebook legal reference material. It also includes the text books: Contract Law: Textbook Series; Criminal Law: Textbook Series; Darbyshire on the English Legal System; English Legal System: The Fundamentals; Glanville Williams Textbook of Criminal Law; Hayton and Mitchell on the Law of Trusts & Equitable Remedies; McEldowney: Public Law; Smith & Thomas: A Casebook on Contract; Treitel on The Law of Contract; Clarkson & Keating Criminal Law: Text and Materials; Contract Law: The Fundamentals; Criminal Law: The Fundamentals; Elliott & Wood’s Cases and Materials on Criminal Law Equity and Trusts: Textbook Series; Hanbury & Martin: Modern Equity Land Law: Textbook Series; Megarry & Wade Tort: Textbook Series; Winfield & Jolowicz on Tort. Registration required on first login