Hello and welcome to the library subject support page for Islington College - Nepal students
Your local Institution will provide you with the resources that you need for your assignments, but this webpage will explain what additional library resources are available to you as a student studying for a London Metropolitan University degree. You will also find hints and tips of how to navigate your way around these library resources to use them for your studies.
On this page we have put together a list of databases that you can access as a partner student at Islington College undertaking a London Metropolitan University award and some great freely available sources of academic knowledge (mainly academic in content), and our guides on how to find information, carry out your research and reference correctly.
Good luck with your studies!
As a partner student at Islington College - Nepal undertaking a London Metropolitan University award, you also have access to the ACM Digital Library and IEEE Xplore.
The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) provides access to full text articles of ACM journals, conference proceedings and publications of affiliated organisations. This database covers all aspects of computing and computer science including programming, computer architecture, operating systems, mobile and wireless computing, the internet and worldwide web, computer networks, management information systems, e-commerce, computer graphics, multimedia, human computer interaction and much more. It may also contain only summaries to some articles.
IEEE Xplore is the interface for IEL Online (IEEE/IET Digital library). This database provides full text access to all the IEEE and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) journals, conferences and active IEEE standards. It gives access to worldwide quality technical literature in electrical engineering, electronics, communications technology, business management, computing and multimedia
You will use the username and password provided by London Metropolitan University (the same one you use to access the VLE, WebLearn) to log into this resource.
Open Access resources are freely available sources of knowledge (mainly academic in content), which can include academic journal articles, books, conference reports and PhD theses.
The open access movement's purpose is to increase and encourage sharing of knowledge to help further research.
Unpaywall retrieves Open Access content from over 50,000 publishers and research repositories, and makes it easy to find, track, and use freely available research.
It’s a tool – a browser plugin – that will indicate if an Open Access version of an academic journal article, conference paper or book chapter is available when you’ve landed on a web page which is requesting a login and you're being asked to pay to view the item.
For example, instead of looking at a journal article on the publisher's website, it could alternatively be available in a university digital research repository as the final pre-print copy that was sent for publication.
ACM has created some YouTube Video guides on specific topics pertaining to using the ACM Digital Library
These collections give access to open access books. For more details about these resources, and links to other databases as well please see the A-Z list at the bottom of the page
These collections give access to open access journals. For more details about these resources, and links to other databases as well please see the A-Z list at the bottom of the page