Criminology, Policing & Security

Academic writing by Stephen Bailey Now in its fifth edition, Academic Writing helps international students succeed in writing essays and reports for their English-language academic courses. Thoroughly revised and updated, it is designed to let teachers and students easily find the topics they need, both in the classroom and for self-study. The book consists of five parts: The Writing Process Elements of Writing Language Issues Vocabulary for Writing Writing Models The first part explains and practises every stage of essay writing, from choosing the best sources, reading and note-making, through to referencing and proofreading. The four remaining parts, organised alphabetically, can be taught in conjunction with the first part or used on a remedial basis. A progress check at the end of each part allows students to assess their learning. All units are fully cross-referenced, and a complete set of answers to the practice exercises is included. New topics in this edition include Writing in Groups, Written British and American English, and Writing Letters and Emails. In addition, the new interactive website has a full set of teaching notes as well as more challenging exercises, revision material and links to other sources. Additional features of the book include: Models provided for writing tasks such as case studies and essays Use of authentic academic texts from a wide range of disciplines Designed for self-study as well as classroom use Useful at both undergraduate and postgraduate level Glossary to explain technical terms, plus index Written to deal with the specific language issues faced by international students, this practical, user-friendly book is an invaluable guide to academic writing in English.

Academic Writing for University Students by Stephen Bailey Academic Writing for University Students is designed to help all students succeed in writing essays, reports and other papers for coursework and exams effectively. Academic writing is often the biggest challenge facing college and university students, but this book provides all the tools needed to master the necessary skills. The book is divided into four parts, to help teachers and students easily find the help they need, both in the classroom and for self-study: The Writing Process: From finding suitable sources, through to editing and proofreading Writing Types: Practice with common assignments such as reports and cause-effect essays Writing Tools: Skills such as making comparisons, definitions, punctuation and style Lexis: Academic vocabulary, using synonyms, nouns, adjectives, verbs and adverbs This key handbook breaks down and practises every stage of essay writing. All units are fully cross-referenced, and a complete set of answers to the practice exercises is included. In addition, the companion website hosts comprehensive teaching notes as well as more challenging exercises, revision material and links to other sources. Designed for self-study as well as classroom use, this book uses authentic academic texts from a range of sources and provides models for common writing tasks such as case studies, while progress checks are included for each part to enable students to assess their learning. Academic Writing for University Students is an invaluable guide to all aspects of academic writing in English.

Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates by Mike Wallace; Alison Wray Reading critically, and writing using critical techniques, are crucial skills you need to apply to your academic work.  If you need to engage with published (or unpublished) literature such as essays, dissertations or theses, research papers or oral presentations, this proven guide helps you develop a reflective and advanced critical approach to your research and writing. New to this edition: Two new chapters on basic and advanced writing skills More advice on self-bias and perception Updates and additional examples throughout Updated online resources providing additional support. A Companion Website provides additional resources to help you apply the critical techniques you learn.  From templates and checklists, access to SAGE journal articles and additional case studies, these free resources will make sure you successfully master advanced critical skills.

Critical thinking: tools for taking charge of your learning and your life by Richard Paul and Linda Elder Written by international authorities on critical thinking, this book details an integrated, universal concept of critical thinking that is both substantive and applicable to any and every situation in which human thinking is necessary. It provides students with the basic intellectual tools needed for life-long learning, helping them understand the mind and how its three functions-thinking, feeling, motivating-influence one another. Critical Thinking fosters the development of fair-minded critical thinking and explores essential intellectual standards of clarity, precision, accuracy, logicalness, significance, depth, breadth, and fairness; the importance of skilled and deep questioning; and how to take thinking apart in order to find problems in thinking and then improve thinking. The fourth edition features: Think for Yourself activities, Glossary of critical thinking terms, New chapter on argumentation, New chapters on critical thinking in the professions (including critique of disciplines), Discussion of the Internet's effects on our lives, Updated discussions of media bias and political propaganda, as well as egocentric and sociocentric thought as barriers to critical thinking.

How to Use Your Reading in Your Essays by Jeanne Godfrey Reading is part and parcel of academic writing, and knowing which sources to include in assignments and how to go about this process can be challenging. That's where this handy guide comes in. With over 20 years' experience in the field, Jeanne Godfrey is no stranger to essay writing. Taking students step-by-step through the process, from choosing their sources to checking their work, she helps students to develop the skills and confidence they need to use their reading effectively in their essays and get the best marks possible for their work. Concise and practical, it breaks down the 'why' and 'how' of using reading in academic writing and contains valuable guidance on paraphrasing, comparing the views of different authors and commenting on sources. This book is ideal for students of all disciplines, and can be used by college students, undergraduates and postgraduates. New to this Edition: - Part A contains new sections on how to target your reading, remain focused and know when to stop reading - New section on how to use reading in reports, supported by short report extracts - New two-colour text design to enliven the reading experience and make the text more accessible

Study Skills for International Postgraduates by Martin Davies Destined to become a life saver for international students everywhere, this book provides clear, comprehensive guidance for students embarking on postgraduate study at a western university. Helping to maximise your chances of academic success, topics include challenges such as critical thinking, research, writing and speaking skills.

Succeeding with your master's dissertation: a step-by-step handbook John Biggam by John Biggam Succeeding with your Master’s Dissertation is a thorough and comprehensive guide for postgraduate dissertation students. Now in its fifth edition, it offers clear, straightforward and practical support for each stage of the master’s dissertation. Brimming with examples of good practice, to help students to reach their full potential, this fully updated and revised edition takes students through the entire writing process, from start to finish, from proposal to submission. Featuring detailed guidance on how to: • Clarify your research objectives • Produce a research proposal • Complete each chapter of a traditional dissertation: Introduction, Literature Review, Research Methods, Findings, and Conclusion • Reference sources • Add a professional touch • Prepare for a viva This is essential reading for social science students of all disciplines. Additional, tailored advice is provided on: • Writing about theory and practice • Critiquing what you have created • Completing a systematic review

Essential Study Skills by Tom Burns; Sandra Sinfield Packed with study tips, activities, templates and quotes from students, this is your essential guide to university, showing you step-by-step how to study effectively and make the best of your time at university. Whether you are going to university straight from school, as a mature, or as an overseas student studying in the UK for the first time, you′ll find out how to: Sail through those tricky first weeks Get the most out of lectures by understanding how you learn Learn techniques for academic writing and research Effectively work with others in groups, seminars and workshops Write assignments and pass exams with flying colours Build your CV and plan your next steps after graduation. New to this edition is content on how to thrive at university, learn and research digitally, and how to develop your employability skills. Student Success is a series of essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to boosting your employability and managing your wellbeing, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. 

Good Essay Writing by Peter Redman; Wendy Maples Writing good essays is one of the most challenging aspects of studying in the social sciences. This simple guide provides you with proven approaches and techniques to help turn you into a well-oiled, essay writing machine. Good Essay Writing demonstrates how to think critically and formulate your argument as well as offering water-tight structuring tips, referencing advice, and a word on those all too familiar common worries-all brought to life through real student examples from a range of subjects. Now in its Fifth Edition, this fresh update contains: New essay examples are analysed and discussed, so you have a clear understanding of what makes a good essay A new chapter on essay writing skills and other forms of social science writing, helping you transfer the skills you learn to different types of written assessments A new Companion Website providing additional exercises and examples, helping you practice and apply the skills This practical guide is an absolute must for everybody wanting-or needing-to brush up on their essay writing skills and boost their grades. SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!

How to Read Journal Articles in the Social Sciences by Phillip C. Shon ′Shon′s writing is engaging and entertaining; he opens up the "black box" of academic reading and writing, explaining how to decode and critique formal scientific writing and systematically organize information gained from reading journal articles′- Dr Lorraine Whitmarsh, School of Psychology, University of Cardiff, UK ′Once the reader has mastered Philip Shon′s codes and applied them to texts, it will become increasingly impossible not to write and critique with integrity. I thoroughly recommend this book′ - Professor Helen Cowie, Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences, University of Surrey, UK Many texts provide tips for successfully writing theses, dissertations, and journal articles.  All argue that writing is like any other skill - it has to be developed, taught, and practiced daily. The same is certainly true of academic reading, yet many advanced students have trouble with the essential skill of ′reading critically′. This handy guide teaches you how to read so you′re able to maximize your output in the writing process, whether you′re a student or early career researcher.  The author′s unique reading code teaches you how to approach social and behavioural science journal articles as texts that can be deciphered structurally, mechanically and grammatically. The strategies included allow you to systematize the reading, note-taking and organizing of voluminous amounts of information in an easily identifiable and retrievable format, which will be a huge confidence boost to anyone who struggles with this first phase in the writing process. This book is indispensable for social and behavioural science students and researchers worldwide wanting to sharpen their critical evaluative skills for better academic writing.' SAGE Study Skills are essential study guides for students of all levels. From how to write great essays and succeeding at university, to writing your undergraduate dissertation and doing postgraduate research, SAGE Study Skills help you get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills website for tips, quizzes and videos on study success!

Doing your research project: a guide for first-time researchers by Judith Bell and Stephen Waters. Step-by-step advice on completing an outstanding research project. This is the market-leading book for anyone conducting a research project, whether for the first time or as an experienced researcher honing their skills. Clear, concise and readable, this bestselling resource provides a practical, step-by-step guide from initial concept to completion of your research report. Thoroughly updated but retaining its well-loved style, this seventh edition provides: • A brand new first chapter outlining what it means to carry out research, the responsibilities of the researcher, the research journey, and the 'intentional' and 'unintentional' roles of a researcher. • An extensive update to chapter nine on using social media in research, to include ethical considerations and how the researcher can use and reference information collected via these platforms and create collaborative connections. • An online review of the latest tools for collecting and analysing both quantitative and qualitative data gathered from social media sites, such as Survey Monkey and Google Forms. • Further coverage on how to protect research participants, including advice from the NHS on how to conduct research in health-based settings. • More detailed coverage of how to conduct effective online literature searches, not only using Google but also other research-based search engines such as PubMed and professionally-focussed sites. • To support your learning, questions at the end of each chapter, which prompt you to reflect on your research journey. This practical, no-nonsense guide is vital reading for all those embarking on undergraduate or postgraduate study, irrespective of discipline, and for professionals in such fields as social science, education and health.

Educational Research for Social Justice by Alistair Ross (Editor) This book presents a series of analyses of educational policies - largely in the UK, but some also in Europe - researched by a team of social scientists who share a commitment to social justice and equity in education. We explore what social justice means, in educational policy and practice, and how it impacts on our understanding of both 'educational science' and 'the public good'.  Using a social constructivist approach, the book argues that social justice requires a particular and critical analysis of the meaning of meritocracy, and of the way this term turns educational policies towards treating learning as a competition, in which many young people are constructed as 'losers'.  We discuss how many terms in education are essentialised and have specific, and different, meanings for particular social groups, and how this may create issues in both quantitative survey methods and in determining what is 'the public good'. We discuss social justice across a range of intersecting social characteristics, including social class, ethnicity and gender, as they are applied across the educational policy spectrum, from early years to postgraduate education. We examine the ways that young people construct their identities, and the implications of this for understanding the 'public good' in educational practice. We consider the responsibilities of educational researchers to acknowledge these issues, and offer examples of researching with such a commitment. We conclude by considering how  educational policy might contribute to a socially just, equitable and inclusive public good.

Flying Aeroplanes and Other Sociological Tales by Brian McDonough Flying Aeroplanes and Other Sociological Tales is an introductory textbook for students wishing to learn about sociology and social research methods. Each of the short tales, told by a sociologist, introduces topics and research methods using an engaging storyline. The opening story narrates how the sociologist uses participant observation to understand the work of a commercial pilot, and how he feels about autopilot systems replacing his job of flying aeroplanes. Other tales feature topics such as education, health, crime, and gender. There is also a chapter on 'lockdown' during the Covid-19 pandemic. One main feature of the book is the 'back door' approach to teaching research methods, with chapters dedicated to exploring statistics, sampling, visual methods, documents, embodied methods, autoethnographic research and ethics. Traditional textbooks in sociology focus on what novice sociologists should do, but few, if any, comprehensively deal with overcoming problems as they might emerge and explain what to do when things go wrong. The sociological tales written in this book provide examples of when field access is denied, research participants refuse to take part, and when recording equipment has broken down. Each tale raises issues and problems for the sociologist to overcome, such as research design flaws, sampling bias, lack of rapport with research participants, and the problems with breaking ethical codes of conduct. The book provides insight into the role of the sociologist, why sociology matters, and what happens when sociology fails us. Flying Aeroplanes and Other Sociological Tales introduces a unique approach to teaching sociology and social research methods.

Introduction to Intersectional Qualitative Research by Jennifer Esposito; Venus E. Evans-Winters Recipient of a 2022 Most Promising New Textbook Award from the Textbook & Academic Authors Association (TAA) Introduction to Intersectional Qualitative Research, by Jennifer Esposito and Venus Evans-Winters, introduces students and new researchers to the basic aspects of qualitative research including research design, data collection, and analysis, in a way that allows intersectional concerns to be infused throughout the research process. Esposito and Evans-Winters infuse their combined forty years of experience conducting and teaching intersectional qualitative research in this landmark book, the first of its kind to address intersectionality and qualitative research jointly for audiences new to both. The book's premise is that race and gender matter, and that racism and sexism are institutionalized in all aspects of life, including research. Each chapter opens with a vignette about a struggling researcher emphasizing that reflecting on your mistakes is an important part of learning. Discussion questions at the end of each chapter help instructors generate dialogue in class or in groups. Introduction to Intersectional Qualitative Research makes those identities and structures central to the task of qualitative study.

An Introduction to Qualitative Research by Uwe. Flick Continuing to be THE guide to the whole qualitative research process for students, this book looks at both the theory behind qualitative research and how to put it into practice in your own work. For students across a range of social science disciplines and beyond, this is a must to help you enhance your research project.This edition introduces:    a decolonisation of methodologies    a range of indigenous, queer and feminist perspectives on methodologies assistance with defending a viva and alternative forms of assessment to suit a changing world. More additions to this seventh edition include a section on the subjectivity of a researcher, and how your identity will shape your research. The further reading has been curated to include more than just western voices, providing you with global perspectives on qualitative research. This text introduces how to sensitively undertake ethical and inclusive research with marginalised groups. This book will help you master a comprehensive understanding of qualitative research.

Taking Sides in Social Research by Martyn Hammersley In the past it was generally taken for granted that the goal of social research was the production of objective knowledge; and that this required a commitment to value neutrality. In more recent times, however, both these ideals have come to be challenged, and it is often argued that all research is inevitably political in its assumptions and effects. In this major contribution to the debate, Martyn Hammersley assesses the arguments from the classic and still influential contributions of C. Wright Mills, Howard Becker and Alvin Gouldner to the present day. He concludes that the case for partisanship is not convincing, and that an intelligent and sceptical commitment to the principles of objectivity and value neutrality must remain an essential feature of research.

Understanding Critical Race Research Methods and Methodologies by Jessica T. DeCuir-Gunby (Editor); Thandeka K. Chapman (Editor); Paul A. Schutz (Editor) Despite the growing urgency for Critical Race Theory (CRT) in the field of education, the "how" of this theoretical framework can often be overlooked. This exciting edited collection presents different methods and methodologies, which are used by education researchers to investigate critical issues of racial justice in education from a CRT perspective. Featuring scholars from a range of disciplines, the chapters showcase how various researchers synthesize different methods--including qualitative, quantitative and mixed methods, and historical and archival research--with CRT to explore issues of equity and access in the field of education. Scholars discuss their current research approaches using CRT and present new models of conducting research within a CRT framework, offering a valuable contribution to ongoing methodological debates. Researchers across different levels of expertise will find the articulations of CRT and methods insightful and compelling.