Law
- Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Full text of UK, and International cases, legislation, journals and ebook legal reference material. It also includes the text books: Contract Law: Textbook Series; Criminal Law: Textbook Series; Darbyshire on the English Legal System; English Legal System: The Fundamentals; Glanville Williams Textbook of Criminal Law; Hayton and Mitchell on the Law of Trusts & Equitable Remedies; McEldowney: Public Law; Smith & Thomas: A Casebook on Contract; Treitel on The Law of Contract; Clarkson & Keating Criminal Law: Text and Materials; Contract Law: The Fundamentals; Criminal Law: The Fundamentals; Elliott & Wood’s Cases and Materials on Criminal Law Equity and Trusts: Textbook Series; Hanbury & Martin: Modern Equity Land Law: Textbook Series; Megarry & Wade Tort: Textbook Series; Winfield & Jolowicz on Tort. Registration required on first login
- Lexis+ This link opens in a new window
Legal database containing the full text of amended and consolidated UK legislation from 1267 onwards as well as a comprehensive range of general and specialist law reports including the Law Reports of England & Wales, All England Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports and the Family Law Reports. Includes Halsbury’s Laws of England and Wales, a complete narrative statement of the law of England and Wales. You can search and browse over 100 full text UK law journals from a range of publishers including Cambridge University Press and Oxford University Press.
- BAILII (British And Irish Legal Information Institute) This link opens in a new windowThis service covers British and Irish case law & legislation, European Union case law, Law Commission reports, and other law-related British and Irish material. Also links to WORLDLII & other jurisdictions.
- Legislation.gov.ukOriginal and revised versions of legislation, together with accompanying explanatory documents.
- National Archives Case LawFind the latest UK judgments here. Includes cases from 2003 onwards.
- Cardiff Index to Legal AbbreviationsFind full and abbreviated titles of law reports and journals from the British Isles, Commonwealth and America.
- MootingNetGuidance and support for moot participants and organisers.
- Courts and Tribunals JudiciaryDetails of the court process and the appointment and role of judges. Plus recent judgments.
- UK ParliamentInformation on Parliamentary business and affairs, including Bills, Select Committees and debates.
- Equality and Human Rights CommissionAn organisation working to promote equality and prevent discrimination.
- Supreme CourtDetails of the work of the final national court of appeal, including judgments from August 2009.
- House of LordsFull-text archive of all House of Lords judgments 1996-2009.
- Law CommissionWork of the statutory independent body keeping the law under review, including reports.
- LawboreStudy, research and careers resources for undergraduate law students at UK universities, includes a link directory to key websites, blogs and online documents.
- Access to LawAnnotated links to UK, Commonwealth and worldwide legal websites.
- Eagle-iLinks to quality-assessed legal information sources and sites on the web.
- Legal Scholarship NetworkLinks to research papers in Law and associated areas. Also links to jobs and conferences.
- WWW Virtual Library: International and National LawLinks to a wide variety of legal and related sites.
- Learn for Free: Law Courses & Lectures OnlineFree courses and learning materials available online.
- BrowZine: Law and Legal StudiesBrowse key journals related to Law and Legal Studies using BrowZine!
Lexis+ is home to legal resources related to environmental law, including the Journal of Environmental Law.
Westlaw UK is home to legal resources related to environmental law, including the Journal of Planning & Environment Law.
- Garner's Environmental LawAccess is via Lexis+. Garner's Environmental Law is a comprehensive collection of UK Acts, statutory instruments, Scottish Acts and SIs covering environmental law. The work now includes new authoritative commentary dealing with a range of topics from regulation, enforcement and disputes, to reporting and management, taxes and incentives, waste and hazardous substances, marine and pollution, conservation and habitats. The service is fully maintained through regular issues, informing subscribers of forthcoming legislation, cases and prosecutions.
- Environmental Law – Access to LawAccessToLaw is a gateway site, providing annotated links to selected UK, Commonwealth and worldwide free legal web sites. This page links to legal resources selected & annotated by Inner Temple Library related to environmental law. The Inner Temple Library is one of the four Inns of Court libraries, which serve barristers, judges and bar students in England and Wales.
- Environment AgencyEA is an executive non-departmental public body, sponsored by the Department for Environment, Food & Rural Affairs, supported by 1 public body. They work to create better places for people and wildlife, and support sustainable development.
- European Environment AgencyThe EEA supports policies with evidence-based knowledge to help the European Union and member countries achieve sustainability.
- ECOLEX - The gateway to environmental lawInternational treaties, national legislation, court decisions, law and policy.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains full text journals plus summaries to some articles available full text elsewhere and market research data. Subjects covered are accounting, banking, business, economics, finance, management, sales & marketing, logistics & transport. Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review from 1922. Datamonitor, Gartner and others provide market research, industry reports and company reports & SWOT analysis. The Economist Intelligence Unit provides some country reports.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text articles covering management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, and marketing and human resource management – and over 3,000 e-books covering the social sciences subjects, including education, economics, politics and research in the social sciences.
- Department for Business, Energy & Industrial Strategy (BEIS)Brings together responsibilities for business, industrial strategy.
- Dept. of Trade and Industry (DTI) Doing business abroadResearching your market, business risk reports, detailed guides to some countries.
- Fame: Company Information This link opens in a new window
A database of information on companies in the United Kingdom and Ireland provided by Moody's Analytics. Company information typically includes: contact information, activity details, credit score and rating, security and price information, names of bankers and auditors, details of holdings and subsidiaries, names of current and previous directors, heads of departments, and shareholders, and scans of the company’s latest annual reports.
- Mintel This link opens in a new window
Mintel offers access to a range of UK consumer, media and market research reports covering a wide variety of sectors including international travel and tourism and country reports. Each report links to relevant industry news and company information.
- Passport This link opens in a new window
A unique integrated international market research database with country data, consumer lifestyles, consumer market sizes, forecasts, companies and brands, information sources, major market profiles, market analysis. First time account registration required -- Use your London Met email address and enter ‘Western Europe’ as your region -- Ensure all starred fields are completed on registration screen
- Intellectual Property OfficeIncludes information on patents, trademarks, copyright etc.
- ICO: Information Commissioner's OfficeCovers use of information in organisations including data protection and freedom of information. See the "For Organisations" section for organisation obligations including data protection, the freedom of information and much more. Follow the links on the right hand side of the page to guides on marketing, charity, etc.
- World Intellectual Property OrganizationUN agency dedicated to developing a balanced and accessible international intellectual property (IP) system.
- EuropaOfficial EU portal, giving access to institutions, policies, laws, statistics and official publications.
- European Court of Human Rights (ECHR)Information on the work, composition and constitution of the European Court of Human Rights.
- EUR-LexThe official search for EU legal materials, including the Official Journal, treaties, directives and case law.
- HUDOCSearchable database and index of ECHR case law, including judgments and advisory opinions.
- CURIASite of the Court of Justice of the EU, including database of case reports and related documents.
- European Commission: External TradeGives information about EU trade policies and practice, allows you to search for statistics, legislation and relevant documents.
- European e-Justice PortalBusinesses section contains information on companies, business registers, insolvencies, etc.
- European Sources OnlineProvides information about the European Union, other European institutions, various European countries and regions, and groups that influence European policies. Includes articles from newspapers and journals, speeches and documents.
- WorldLII (World Legal Information Institute)Database resources and links to websites relating to primary and secondary legal sources taken from regional information institutes and nations around the world.
- GlobaLexGuides to research tools and resources on international, foreign and comparative law topics, published by the NYU School of Law.
- Audiovisual Library of International LawA resource bank of research materials on significant legal instruments in international law.
- United NationsUse the Site Index to locate International Court of Justice, Treaty Collection, General Assembly & Security Council Resolutions and Permanent Court of Arbitration.
- United Nations Commission on International Trade LawUNICITRAL is a subsidiary body of the General Assembly of the United Nations mandated to further the progressive harmonization and unification of the law of international trade
- United Nations Research GuidesResearch guides to resources on international law and human rights, from the UN's Dag Hammarskjöld Library.
- FLARE Index to TreatiesBasic information on significant multilateral and some bilateral treaties, with access details.
- Customary International Humanitarian LawAn enhanced version of the ICRC study which is being regularly updated.
- World Trade OrganizationA global international organization dealing with the rules of trade between nations. WTO agreements are negotiated and signed by the bulk of the world’s trading nations and ratified in their parliaments.