Architecture and Interior Design
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowGood for all areas of Architecture and Interior Design, including some not covered by Art Full Text.
- Bloomsbury Applied Visual Arts Core Collection This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive resource offers instant, searchable access to books which combine visual inspiration with practical advice on idea generation, research techniques, portfolio development and more, across the main visual arts disciplines including Fashion and Textiles, Design and Illustration, Photography, Film and Media, Architecture and Interiors, and Marketing and Advertising.
- Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window
A resource for students, academics and researchers in Visual Arts and Design which provides coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. This database offers cross-searchable access to a broad range of reference works, e-books, images, designer pages, and exhibition collections. Reference works include the landmark, 3-volume Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design, World History of Design - a multi-volume work by eminent design historian, Victor Margolin, 17 online exclusive articles from the Encyclopedia of Asian Design, and The Encyclopedia of East Asian Design, the first comprehensive publication to focus on East Asian design and its histories.
- British Periodicals Collections I And II This link opens in a new windowArticles from the late seventeenth to early twentieth century. A useful source of primary material on design history.
- Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new windowUse the Search box to find journal articles and ebooks.
- Credo Reference Academic Core Premium Collection This link opens in a new windowEncyclopedias and reference books – wide range of topics and subject areas. Gives an overview and introduction to topics. (Full text)
- JSTOR Journals and E-books (including Artstor Images) This link opens in a new windowSpecifically: JSTOR Arts and Science 1,3 and 7
Wide range of topics and subject areas. The most recent articles were published three to five years ago. Includes some ebooks. - Lexis+ This link opens in a new windowGreat for trade press and newspaper articles. Click on the News tab, then you can go straight to a newspaper search for your keyword/phrase or use the Industry, Subject, Region filters.
- SAGE Journals Online This link opens in a new windowA discipline-specific research database of the most popular peer-reviewed journals in Urban Studies and Planning. (Access to subscribed journals only.)
- ScienceDirect Journals Collection This link opens in a new windowExcellent for materials science, research for architecture and interior design. Journals include Cement and Concrete Research, Materials and Design and Geotextiles and Geomembranes. We also have one e-book “Compostable Polymer Materials”
- Taylor And Francis Online Journals This link opens in a new windowGood for planning, transport and urban studies. The articles in these journals receive both rigorous peer review and expedited online publication e.g. International Journal of Smart and Nano Materials, Materials Research Letters, Regional Studies, Regional Science.
- Wiley Online Library: Journals This link opens in a new windowWide range of topics and subjects. Focus is scientific or technical.
- WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new windowTrendsetting and forecasting site, with news from catwalk shows, including images. Watch this 11 minute video to learn how to use WGSN.
- Artstor This link opens in a new windowContains images and media from photo archives, museums, libraries and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. Also contains Open Access collections from partner museums. All content is rights-cleared for education and research.
- BoB : On Demand TV And Radio For Education This link opens in a new windowFilm, television and radio broadcasts from UK terrestrial stations. Good for interior design, style trends, architecture and the cinema.
- Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new windowVisual images database of the Bridgeman Art Library. A comprehensive guide to worldwide content from international museums, galleries, historic houses, private collections, photographers and artists.
- Cities and Buildings DatabaseContains digitised images of historic and recent constructions from around the world. Remember to check the copyright on individual images.
- Europeana This link opens in a new windowMulti-lingual collection of millions of digitized items from European museums, libraries, archives and multi-media collections. Includes images, texts, audio and video.
- JSTOR Open Community CollectionsThese continuously expanding Open Community Collections feature freely accessible primary source materials in a wide variety of subjects contributed by libraries, museums, and archives.
- The Public Domain ReviewCovers Images, Film, Audio and Books searchable by time period or theme.
- RIBApixHuge collection of digital images of architecture and photography collections in Lo-resolution. These images can be downloaded for non-commercial private study or research
- Smithsonian Open Access image collectionThe Smithsonian has released 2.8 million images from its vast holdings. All are in the public domain as Creative Commons Zero, meaning they can be used without permission from Smithsonian.
- Visual Arts Data Service (VADS) This link opens in a new windowOver 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections in the UK, free for use in education.
- World Digital LibraryIncludes books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, journals, prints and photographs, sound recordings and films.