LibGuides: Architecture and Interior Design: Home

Architecture Librarian

Email Me

Subjects: Architecture, Built Environment, Construction, Education, Leadership in Communities, Psychology, Social Work, Youth

Interiors Librarian

We can help you with

Research for assignments, dissertations and projects
Effective use of Library subject collections, databases and other resources
Referencing and plagiarism
Basic study skills
And any other information needs you may have related to your studies

Online reading lists

The best place to find your reading list is on Weblearn.

Each of your modules will have a Blackboard site. Look for the "Reading List" link in the left hand menu to link to your online reading list.

Or do search for a reading list by module code or title using the quick search box below:

Reading List

Search for lists, modules & courses

Browse hierarchy | Recent changes

Featured Resources

RIBA Journal
Free access to the archive of this journal from the Royal Institute of British Architects. You can download a maximum of one issue per month.
Detail
Print Journal for design and construction solutions in architecture, providing daily, usable information and inspiration.

Construction Information Service (CIS) This link opens in a new window
A complete reference source for students and practitioners needing rapid, reliable and up to date online access to British Standards, RIBA publications, legislation and other guidance information related to construction, health and safety and pharmaceuticals, in addition to product catalogues covering the construction, engineering, process and electronics industries. Includes CIS (including AJ Buildings Library), Knowledge Workspace (formerly Specify-It), SCI Blue Book and LABC Type Approval.
Once logged in choose either Construction Information Service or Knowledge Workspace on the first screen that appears. Please note that you can only use one service at a time in a single session.

Interior Design (USA)
For the interior design professional marketplace; features a variety of outstanding projects, latest new products across all disciplines, industry news and more.

Bloomsbury Design Library This link opens in a new window
A resource for students, academics and researchers in Visual Arts and Design which provides coverage of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. This database offers cross-searchable access to a broad range of reference works, e-books, images, designer pages, and exhibition collections. Reference works include the landmark, 3-volume Bloomsbury Encyclopedia of Design, World History of Design - a multi-volume work by eminent design historian, Victor Margolin, 17 online exclusive articles from the Encyclopedia of Asian Design, and The Encyclopedia of East Asian Design, the first comprehensive publication to focus on East Asian design and its histories.

LibKey

Get fast access to scholarly articles

LibKey Nomad is a great tool which helps you to easily find scholarly journal articles. When you are searching on the web, Nomad lets you know if any of the content is available from our library subscriptions or open access alternatives.

All you need to do is add an extension to your web browser.

Go to libkeynomad.com, select your browser at the bottom of the page and follow the instructions to add the extension. When prompted, select London Metropolitan University as your organisation.

When searching the web look out for the Nomad button to link you to the article.

Specify-It - Construction Database

Specify-It is a UK construction resource hub, offering a searchable database of product info, BBA certificates, and connections to 90,000+ industry professionals. It integrates with CIS, simplifying research and enhancing project management. Subscribe for cost control, workflow improvement, and time savings. After entering your login details to CIS, first select Knowledge Workspace platform, then Specify-It as shown below.