Creative Technologies and Digital Media

Music Ally is a knowledge company. It has 15 years worth of information, experience and data on the global music business – click on ’sign in’ and then Academic login to access all content when off site.

WGSN an online news and information service for the fashion and style industries including fashion forecasting, company profiles and news items on e-commerce, finance, advertising and marketing.

Mintel offers access to a range of UK consumer, media and market research reports covering a wide variety of sectors including international travel and tourism and country reports. Each report links to relevant industry news and company information.

Statista is an online statistics portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions. According to the company, the platform has statistics on over 80,000 topics, covering Europe (with a focus on the United Kingdom), the United States and China, from more than 18,000 sources. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Data sources include market research reports, such as the Ipsos Affluent Survey published annually by Ipsos Media, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights from Scarborough Research, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Database of UK social and economic data and statistics. Provides a unified point of access to data from the Economic and Social Data Service, UK censuses, Secure Data Service and others. Requires registration for first time use - search for London Met University on the login page and use your University IT login.

Filmmaking on Screen Studies offers a dedicated collection of over 100 practical eBooks from Focal Press and Bloomsbury, offering depth and coverage across the curriculum for student-practitioners. It provides coverage across key areas of filmmaking including production, screenwriting, cinematography, direction, and the business of film – and includes overviews, practical handbooks, and technical guides. It is cross-searchable with other content available on Screen Studies, including screenplays, critical-historical works, and reference content.

LinkedIn Learning (formerly known as Lynda.com) is an online learning platform to help people learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals through access to a searchable video library of courses. Training sessions in streaming video taught by recognised industry experts cover a variety of software products and digital technologies as well as a wide range of other topics.

An online reference resource that provides access to the full text of subject-specific reference titles, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases from a wide variety of publishers. Credo guides students through topics and concepts using visualisation tools and extensive cross referencing. Constantly expanding, it contains over 3 million entries from over 500 titles, including over 200,000 multimedia items and allows seamless searching of your other library resources. This multidisciplinary resource covers anthropology, art, astronomy, biography, biology, business, chemistry, computer science, ecology, economics, education, engineering, environmental studies, food, geography, geology, history, language, law, literature, mathematics, media studies, medicine, midwifery, music, nursing, palaeontology, philosophy, physics, politics, psychology, quotations, religion, sociology, technology, and zoology.

Kanopy is a film streaming service designed for academic use and can be used in a web browser as well as through mobile and smart TV apps. The London Met package includes various curated film collections such as Classic Cinema, Independent Cinema, Film Studies, Early Cinema and more. Sign up for a personal login on the site to be able to use the Kanopy mobile and TV apps.

Shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for education institutions. BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 free to air TV and radio channels.

The Sound Archive holds over a million discs, 185,000 tapes, and many other sound and video recordings. The collections come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound from music, drama and literature, to oral history and wildlife sounds. Updated daily it is one of the largest catalogues of its kind anywhere in the world.

BFI Screenonline is an online encyclopaedia and is the single most extensive publicly available resource devoted to British film and television. The site is supplemented by rich and authoritative contextual material by expert writers, specially commissioned for BFI Screenonline alongside thousands of stills, posters and press books.

Online image database providing unlimited access to over 1.2m images, all copyright cleared for educational use by institutions, teachers, lecturers, librarians and students. Bridgeman Art Library represents over 1,600 museums, galleries and private collections, and over 30,000 artists. The comprehensive and eclectic range of images spans the curriculum, providing invaluable visual teaching and learning material on a variety of subjects, including: fine art, history, geography, politics, sociology, antiquity, literature and theatre, science and medicine, religion and philosophy.