LibGuides: Creative Technologies and Digital Media: Resources

Journals and magazines

Sound on Sound

Screen

New Media and Society

Celebrity Studies

Edge

Browse Journals

Browzine
Browse our journals by choosing disciplines and specific subjects, or search for journal titles containing certain words.

Resources

Communication And Mass Media Complete

Links to full text for many journal articles. This database also contains indexes and summaries for articles from over 400 journals in the field of communications and mass media, including radio, television and journalism.
Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO)

Full-text access to thousands of journals across a broad range of topics. Contains also summaries to articles which are available fulltext via other databases.
JSTOR Journals and E-books (including Artstor Images)
Large collection of academic e-journals and e-books, though will not include material within the last few years. Very good for historical and interdisciplinary content. Includes content relevant to every course covered by this guide.

JSTOR is an archive service for journals and therefore does not include the most recent three years for each journal on the platform.
IEEE Xplore
This database provides full text access to all the IEEE and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) journals, conferences and active IEEE standards. It has some content relevant to every course covered by this guide.
IET Research Hub

Access to journals published by the Institution for Engineering and Technology. Covers a wide range of technological disciplines including computing, electronics, biotechnology, robotics and much more.
ACM Digital Library
The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) provides access to full text articles of ACM journals, conference proceedings and publications of affiliated organisations. This database covers all aspects of computing and computer science, but has some content relevant to all courses covered by this guide.
Web of Science
NOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. Web of Science is citation tracking search tool that allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects. Web of Science covers over 20,000 journals across most major disciplines (not just science disciplines).

If you have issues with searching after logging into a personal account on Web of Science, try clicking on your name on the top-right, click 'End Session' and then re-access Web of Science from the link above.

Music Ally
NOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. Music Ally is a knowledge company. It has 15 years worth of information, experience and data on the global music business – click on ’sign in’ and then Academic login to access all content when off site.
Statista
NOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. Statista is an online statistics portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions. According to the company, the platform has statistics on over 80,000 topics, covering Europe (with a focus on the United Kingdom), the United States and China, from more than 18,000 sources. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Data sources include market research reports, such as the Ipsos Affluent Survey published annually by Ipsos Media, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights from Scarborough Research, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Lexis+
NOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. If you need UK newspaper articles or legislation, this is a great resource.

Screen Studies : Filmmaking Collection

Filmmaking on Screen Studies offers a dedicated collection of over 100 practical eBooks from Focal Press and Bloomsbury, offering depth and coverage across the curriculum for student-practitioners. It provides coverage across key areas of filmmaking including production, screenwriting, cinematography, direction, and the business of film – and includes overviews, practical handbooks, and technical guides. It is cross-searchable with other content available on Screen Studies, including screenplays, critical-historical works, and reference content.

Click on Explore Collection under Filmmaking to see the entire collection
LinkedIn Learning
NOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. LinkedIn Learning (formerly known as Lynda.com) is an online learning platform to help people learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals through access to a searchable video library of courses. Training sessions in streaming video taught by recognised industry experts cover a variety of software products and digital technologies as well as a wide range of other topics.
Credo Reference Academic Core Premium Collection
NOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. An online reference resource that provides access to the full text of subject-specific reference titles, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases from a wide variety of publishers. Credo guides students through topics and concepts using visualisation tools and extensive cross referencing. Constantly expanding, it contains over 3 million entries from over 500 titles, including over 200,000 multimedia items and allows seamless searching of your other library resources. This multidisciplinary resource covers anthropology, art, astronomy, biography, biology, business, chemistry, computer science, ecology, economics, education, engineering, environmental studies, food, geography, geology, history, language, law, literature, mathematics, media studies, medicine, midwifery, music, nursing, palaeontology, philosophy, physics, politics, psychology, quotations, religion, sociology, technology, and zoology.

Kanopy Film Streaming
NOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. Kanopy is a film streaming service designed for academic use and can be used in a web browser as well as through mobile and smart TV apps. The London Met package includes various curated film collections such as Classic Cinema, Independent Cinema, Film Studies, Early Cinema and more. Sign up for a personal login on the site to be able to use the Kanopy mobile and TV apps.

To watch films via the Kanopy mobile app, first create a personal login on the site with your London Met email address.
BoB : On Demand TV And Radio For Education
NOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. Shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for education institutions. BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 free to air TV and radio channels.

(initial registration required where you need to enter your university email address)
British Library Archival Sound Recordings
NOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. The Sound Archive holds over a million discs, 185,000 tapes, and many other sound and video recordings. The collections come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound from music, drama and literature, to oral history and wildlife sounds. Updated daily it is one of the largest catalogues of its kind anywhere in the world.

Search first then click on “log in” to download
BFI Screenonline
NOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. BFI Screenonline is an online encyclopaedia and is the single most extensive publicly available resource devoted to British film and television. The site is supplemented by rich and authoritative contextual material by expert writers, specially commissioned for BFI Screenonline alongside thousands of stills, posters and press books.

Video and audio material can only be viewed in the University
Bridgeman Education
NOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. Online image database providing unlimited access to over 1.2m images, all copyright cleared for educational use by institutions, teachers, lecturers, librarians and students. Bridgeman Art Library represents over 1,600 museums, galleries and private collections, and over 30,000 artists. The comprehensive and eclectic range of images spans the curriculum, providing invaluable visual teaching and learning material on a variety of subjects, including: fine art, history, geography, politics, sociology, antiquity, literature and theatre, science and medicine, religion and philosophy.

For further information see the User Manual or the Subjects Guide

Association of Independent Music - The not-for-profit trade body that represents the UK’s independent music sector.

Association of Stringed Instrument Artisans - A not-for-profit American professional trade organisation for stringed instrument makers and repair technicians.

European Guitar Builders - An alliance formed by professional independent European stringed instrument makers with the aim of organising independent luthiers and those related to the field of guitar building in Europe.

International Society of Weekly Newspaper Editors - An American society whose purpose is to help to improve standards of editorial writing and news reporting and “to encourage strong, independent editorial voices”.

Ivors Academy - The UK’s independent professional association for music creators.

Music Industries Association - The Trade Body for the UK Musical Instrument Industry.

Music Producers Guild - A UK not-for-profit organisation that represents professional record producers, recording studios, recording engineers, mixers and mastering engineers.

National Music Council - A key British organisation that aims to promote the interests of the whole music industry.
Professional Publishers' Association - BA Journalism and BA Fashion Marketing and Journalism courses are accredited by the PPA.
UK Music - A member organisation that represents all sectors of the UK’s music industry.

Other academic libraries with relevant materials can be searched via Library Hub Discover and accessed via the SCONUL Access Scheme.

British Library - access to material unavailable elsewhere. See their website for visiting information and how to register for a reader pass.

BFI Reuben Library - material on film, television and the moving image. Open to the general public.

Royal Academy of Music Library - access by appointment only.

Royal College of Music Library - access for researchers, contact the library before visiting.

These websites are not all academic in nature, but are really good for keeping up with industry developments. Evaluate anything you find before including it in your research:

Archives Hub - archives are a good source of primary material. Find out if there is an archive on your research area, where it is, and how to access it.

Cecilia - provides an online guide to music collections in archives, libraries and museums in the UK and Ireland.

Creative Bloq - information and tutorials from a number of creative magazines, including Computer Arts and 3D World.

Global Journalist - reports on the state of press freedom around the world, covers international news and serves international journalists.

OnMusic Dictionary - dictionary of instruments, composers and music symbols.

ScreenSkills - industry skills body for the screen industries, including film, television, animation and visual effects, and games. Provides information on training, education and careers as well as industries.

The following are games and animation companies, many of which have publications, presentations, videos and podcasts, blogs, and research: