Materials and Products Collection

Applications of Advanced Green Materials provides a comprehensive and authoritative review on recent advancement in green materials in various applications. Each chapter is focused on a specific application of advanced green materials from packaging to sensor technology, biomedical to environmental applications, textile to catalysis to electronic shielding applications, supercapacitors, drug delivery, tissue engineering, bioelectronic, gas storage and separation, etc. This book also discusses life cycle assessment and circular economy of green materials and their future prospective. The book is unique with contributions from renowned scientists working on biopolymers and biocomposites, bioactive and biodegradable materials, composites, and metallic natural materials. This book is an essential resource for academicians, researchers, students and professionals interested in exploring potential of advanced green materials.

"Reduce, reuse, recycle”. This is the standard “cradle to grave” manufacturing model dating back to the Industrial Revolution that we still follow today. In this thought-provoking read, the authors propose that instead of minimising waste, we should be striving to create value. This is the essence of Cradle to Cradle: waste need not to exist at all. By providing a framework of redesign of everything from carpets to corporate campuses, McDonough and Braungart make a revolutionary yet viable case for change and for remaking the way we make things.

Authors Victoria Ballard Bell and Patrick Rand have revisited the format of their award-winning first volume and present sixty new case studies of materials put to imaginative use by today’s brightest architects. Bell and Rand introduce each material type - glass, concrete, wood, metal, plastic and masonry units - with new text describing its history and significance. Accessible case studies highlight recent advances in design and construction around the world - from a wooden church in Finland (JKMM Architects) and hand-crafted bamboo huts in Thailand (TYIN Tegnetsue Architects) to a bank encased in a glass shroud in Denmark (Schmidt Hammer Lassen Architects) and a museum faced with thousands of multicoloured ceramic rods in Germany

"MaterialDistrict Utrecht, the show for the latest trends in material innovation for architecture and interior design, announces its 16th edition, taking place from 8-10 March 2023 at Werkspoorkathedraal Utrecht, the Netherlands. This year's event, themed "Meet the Innovators", will feature 125 exhibitors showcasing their latest products and materials, as well as a material exhibition with over 250 samples and a lecture programme with more than 50 expert speakers."

Bioluminescent algae, symbiotic aquariums, self-healing concrete, clavicle wind instruments and structures made from living trees – biology applied outside the lab has never been so intriguing, or so beautiful. Bio Design examines the thrilling advances in the field, showcasing some seventy projects (concepts, prototypes and completed designs) that cover a range of fields – from architecture and industrial design to fashion and medicine.

Textilepedia is an extensive textile dictionary that covers all essential fabric knowledge – from deciphering different types of materials to understanding your finishing options. A balance between text and imagery; it acts as a quick easy-to-navigate guide – simplifying complicated fabric and fibre information using comparisons and relatable stories.

The book brings a comprehensive knowledge of textile applications to you. From how to choose fibres, the formation of yarns, the characteristics of common fabrics, and the effects of textile finishing, the book serves as an all-in-one textile information hub.

The perfect resource for fashion students and designers "The perfect handbook for fashion students everywhere, Fabric for Fashion: The Swatch Book 2e, presents over 120 swatches of fabrics so that one can not only appreciate their aesthetic appeal, but also familiarise themselves with each one's structure, feel and weight. The book also details information on fibers, basic construction of fabrics, weights, construction, and weave comparison, so you'll be a textile expert in no time!" HungerTV This easily navigable resource provides 125 swatches of the most recognized and widely used varieties of fabric. Natural fabrics such as cottons, silks, wools and linens are included, as are artificial and synthetic ones like nylons, polyesters, microfibers, metallics and soya fabrics, and fabrics made from alternative plant fibers like bamboo and hemp. Their properties are explained alongside the swatches, with diagrams and colour photographs of fashion garments to illustrate their behavior. With information on fibers, basic construction of fabrics, weights, construction, and weave comparison, the book will help student fashion designers to make informed textile choices based upon an understanding of raw materials together with the processes that make up a fabric. Presented in a sturdy ring-binder folder, Fabric for Fashion: The Swatch Book also includes a section on techniques such as felting, weaving, and knitting as well as practical information on sourcing fabrics, costing and testing them and an invaluable annex on fabric terminology. The book will be useful for anyone who works with fabrics and is the ideal companion to Fabric for Fashion: The Complete Guide, also in its second edition. Written and thoroughly researched by two experts in the field, this book is an indispensable resource and a must-have for students, instructors and professionals alike.

The environmental impacts of construction are momentous. How can architects minimise these by making responsible material choices? Material choices have a global impact. The design and construction industry are responsible for 39% of all carbon emissions in the world. Despite the great desire among architects to address this, it can be difficult to compare materials directly, let alone understand the repercussions of selecting materials for use in different parts of a building or of sourcing them from across the world. Showcasing the latest thought leadership from subject experts across the industry, this primer sets out the various considerations and parameters for specifying a particular material. It empowers architects with the knowledge of which materials are available, how best to use them, and what their future holds as the industry continues to innovate. Each chapter will be devoted to a single material and will consider environmental impacts holistically, looking at health and biodiversity impacts, among other issues.

Advanced fiber materials have been developed for various superior applications because of their higher mechanical flexibility, high-temperature resistance, and outstanding chemical stability. This book presents an overview of the current development of advanced fiber materials, fabrication methods, and applications. Applications covered include pollution control, environment, energy, information storage technology, optical and photonic, photocatalysis, textile, drug delivery, tumor therapy, corrosion protection applications, and a state of art of advanced fiber materials.

Advanced Materials gives an unique insight into the specialized materials that are required to run our modern society. Provided within are the fundamental theories and applications of advanced materials for metals, glasses, polymers, composites, and nanomaterials. This book is ideal for scientists and engineers of materials science, chemistry, physics, and engineering, and students of these disciplines.

Solid matter. Monolithic and homogeneous concepts for a circular approach to architecture. In response to climate change, architects have been seeking a contemporary expression for durable, solid and homogeneous wall structures made of clay, wood, brick, concrete and recycled materials. This book follows 25 projects to analyze construction methods that predominantly involve materials that have a single origin and can be easily dismantled. It looks at a variety of different ways and scales in which architects have dealt with issues of mass and materiality, both in terms of design and construction. Structured according to the specific materials, the book allows direct comparisons, and renders visible solid building typologies and forms. Numerous drawings, developed especially for this book, document the projects. Two essays as well as interviews with Pepe Marquez and Arno Richter examine the strategies and background of monolithic architecture and solid construction methods. Solid building materials and their contribution to climate protection and sustainability Analytical presentations of single-variety and demountable construction methods Insights into research and applications of the materials

This book gives an overview on the fundamentals and recent developments in the field of luminescent materials. Starting from the definitions and properties of phosphors, novel application areas as well as spectroscopic methods for characterization will be described. The reader will benefit from the vast knowledge of the authors with backgrounds in industry as well as academia.

The volume "Nanocomposite and Nanohybrid Materials: Processing and Applications" is an outstanding resource for exploring the findings and recent trends of nanocomposites and nanohybrid materials. Herein, a full grasp of cutting-edge research, new technologies, and exciting opportunities linked with nanocomposites and nanohybrids. Nanomaterials, including their synthesis, development, and advanced properties, are thoroughly investigated. Several processes for preparing nanomaterials are presented to the reader, along with their characteristics and development phase. It offers the latest applications of nanoparticles for diagnosing and treating neurological disorders and their use in biological imaging and targeted cancer treatments. This provides a strong basis for future study and innovation in this intriguing issue that is very important to methodology, qualitative approaches, and applications.

"Reduce, reuse, recycle”. This is the standard “cradle to grave” manufacturing model dating back to the Industrial Revolution that we still follow today. In this thought-provoking read, the authors propose that instead of minimising waste, we should be striving to create value. This is the essence of Cradle to Cradle: waste need not to exist at all. By providing a framework of redesign of everything from carpets to corporate campuses, McDonough and Braungart make a revolutionary yet viable case for change and for remaking the way we make things

Materiology is directed at all those who are interested in materials and in working with materials: from architects, production designers, and stylists to artists: a handbook for students and new professionals as well as for experienced professionals, written in a clear, understandable style. In four chapters, Materiology offers an overview of the different kinds, processing, and use of materials: 1. Material families: from wood, metal, and plastics to light. 2. Material catalog: over 120 material cards, from basic materials to the latest innovations. 3. Processes: The basics of material processing (spray molds, extrusion, and so on) are presented in a clear manner using numerous diagrams. 4. Thinking ahead: from new processing and use possibilities to questions concerning environmental protection and virtual reality. A prospectus addresses the issues that will be relevant in the future for material development and material use. The second edition has a further 18 material cards and focuses on the challenges of sustainability in design and architecture.