Use the Collection list page to see our holdings and to locate the shelf position of a particular material.
Beyond the List, you can log in to Construction Information Service (CIS).
On the IHS homepage select Construction Information Service to search for articles and regulations relating to a material or product.
Knowledge Workspace helps you search for suppliers of a material or product. Use the Classifications tab to narrow down your search for suppliers.
You can also use Architonic and NBS Knowledge or NBS Source to search for products and suppliers.
Many thanks to:
A materials catalogue that features a variety of building materials and products. It's a curated selection of products that can be useful for design inspiration.
Since 1948, American Supply has conceived, developed and produced a range of more than 10,000 materials that are renowned for their originality and personality. American Supply is now present on 3 continents and recognised for its Creativity, Technical Expertise and Global Logistics by some of the most demanding customers in the luxury sector.
Provides a range of courses and resources, including information on materials and products. It's a valuable source for continuing education in the field.
Provides a comprehensive database of building products, materials, and manufacturers. It allows users to explore materials based on project types and specific product categories.
University College London
The Materials Library is a collection of some of the most wondrous materials on earth, gathered from sheds, labs, grottoes and repositories around the world. It is a resource, laboratory, studio, and playground for the curious and material-minded to conduct hands-on research through truly interdisciplinary inquiry and innovation. The collection is accessible to Institute of Making members day to day, and to the public at Materials Library Discovery sessions.
A digital platform that allows users to search and sample materials from various manufacturers. It streamlines the material selection process for architects and designers.
Serving as the interface between makers and manufacturers of innovative, sustainable materials and their strategic applications. With a curated range of 300+ materials in the collection, their expertise lies in locating and sourcing innovative materials, as well as understanding their applications, and impact across industries.
A global materials consultancy that offers a vast library of innovative and sustainable materials. It's a valuable resource for staying updated on the latest material trends.
A building product database that includes information on materials, products, and manufacturers. It is a comprehensive resource for architects, engineers, and designers.
A catalogue of materials that redefines our physical environment.
The Library’s Materials & Products Collection is a superb assemblage of materials samples including concrete, ceramics, textiles, glass, paper and metals. To support our transition to an ethical future, we are now focused on circular materials and collecting bio-composites and biomaterials: salvaged, sustainable, recycled, recyclable, reclaimed, repurposed, reused, rethink!
The purpose of the collection is to inspire students, to provide them with a tactile experience on a variety of textures and shapes, and to inform them of the latest developments in materials technology. It is a challenging and interesting time in the materials sphere with so many amazing products being explored and developed worldwide.
Please note that the Materials and Products Collection room is currently closed as we prepare for our relocation to the new library space in the Wash Houses building.
We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause and appreciate your understanding during this transition. We’ll keep you informed and look forward to welcoming you soon to our newly upgraded, state-of-the-art facility.
