Writing, Literature and Performance

Written by established scholars as well as the newest and brightest young critics, AL's thought-provoking essays cover a broad spectrum of periods and genres and employ a wide range of methodological and theoretical approaches--the best in American literary criticism.

Articles related to the study of Australian literature, including critique, bibliography, biography and history.

Callaloo, the premier African and African-American literary journal, publishes original works by and critical studies of black writers worldwide.

Canadian Literature is an academic quarterly that publishes peer-reviewed scholarly articles in French or English related to the field of Canadian literature, broadly defined.

Presents articles which explore important problems in literary theory and literary history not confined to a single national literature.

Critical Inquiry has been publishing the best critical thought in the arts and humanities for almost forty years.

Critical Quarterly is internationally renowned for its unique blend of literary criticism, cultural studies, poetry and fiction.

Explores the relation between cultural practices, everyday life, material, economic, political, geographical, & historical contexts.

A quarterly statistical journal on the arts and wider cultural sector.

As the official publication of the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies (ASECS), Eighteenth-Century Studies is committed to publishing the best of current writing on all aspects of eighteenth-century culture.

ELH is an academic journal established in 1934 at Johns Hopkins University, devoted to the study of major works in the English language, particularly British literature

Published four times per year by Oxford University Press on behalf of the Association, English provides a forum for people who think hard and passionately about literature, and who want to communicate those thoughts to a wide audience.

English Today provides accessible cutting-edge reports on all aspects of the language, including style, usage, dictionaries, literary language, Plain English, the Internet and language teaching, in terms of British, American and the world’s many other Englishes.

Founded in 1951, by F. W. Bateson, Essays in Criticism soon achieved world-wide circulation, and is today regarded as one of Britain's most distinguished journals of literary criticism.

Presents short stories, interviews, novelettes, book and film reviews and criticism of works of science fiction and fantasy.

Foundation: The International Review of Science Fiction is a critical peer-reviewed literary journal established in 1972 that publishes articles and reviews about science fiction.

Genre: Forms of Discourse and Culture is a triannual publication devoted to the study of the codes, conventions, and histories of generic forms in the context of their cultural manifestations and effects.

Granta is a literary magazine and publisher in the United Kingdom whose mission centres on its "belief in the power and urgency of the story, both in fiction and non-fiction, and the story's supreme ability to describe, illuminate and make real

Interventions: International Journal of Postcolonial Studies is an interdisciplinary peer-reviewed journal operating at the crossroads of contemporary work in the humanities and social sciences in the following areas of research, theory and politics

The Journal of Caribbean Literatures (JCLs) is devoted entirely to literature, in all genres, by, about, and concerning the writers and critics of the Caribbean

The Journal of Commonwealth Literature has long established itself as an invaluable resource and guide for scholars in the overlapping fields of commonwealth Literature, Postcolonial Literature and New Literatures in English.

The Journal of Dramatic Theory and Criticism was founded in 1986 at the University of Kansas, Department of Theatre, and publishes full-length articles that contribute to the varied conversations in dramatic theory and criticism, explore the relationship between theory and theatre practice, and/or examine the body of work by an individual author or a recent theoretical or critical trend.

The Journal of Linguistics is concerned with all branches of theoretical linguistics.

Showcases theoretically sophisticated essays that examine narrative in a host of critical, interdisciplinary, and cross-cultural contexts.

Journal of Victorian Culture is essential reading for scholars of the Victorian period. Beautifully produced, the Journal was established in Spring 1996, and is edited and published in Britain with the assistance of a distinguished group of Editorial Consultants.

Kunapipi: Journal of Postcolonial Writing and Culture, was a biannual arts magazine with special but not exclusive emphasis on the new literatures written in English.

Founded in 1948, Mississippi Quarterly is published by the College of Arts and Sciences at Mississippi State University and is recognized as one of the premier journals in the field of southern studies.

MFS publishes theoretically engaged and historically informed articles on modernist and contemporary fiction.

Brings new and challenging perspectives of cultural analysis to bear on the cutting edge of politics.

New Literary History (NLH) focuses on theory and interpretation – the reasons for literary change, the definitions of periods, and the evolution of styles, conventions, and genres.

Contains creative work from university & college creative writing programs worldwide, alongside interviews with writers, articles about creative writing teaching methods & research, etc; offers an international forum for creative writing, etc.

A forum on fiction including articles, review articles and book reviews.

Critical attention on the contemporary arts and their various contexts of interpretation.

OLR devotes itself to outstanding writing in deconstruction, literary theory, psychoanalytic theory, political theory and related forms of exploratory thought.

Poetics Today brings together scholars from throughout the world who are concerned with developing systematic approaches to the study of literature (e.g., semiotics and narratology) and with applying such approaches to the interpretation of literary works.

Poetry London’s artistic vision is based on the understanding that ‘the best poetry’ includes the broadest variety of styles and subjects, and that the very best of that poetry often acts as an unacknowledged catalyst for change.

The Poetry Society has published a journal and newsletter for almost 100 years. The Poetry Review is one of the world’s leading contemporary poetry magazines, and has recently undergone a bold new redesign.

Prompt is a biannual, refereed online journal that publishes academic writing prompts (i.e., assignments). We publish prompts directed at both undergraduate and graduate students from all academic disciplines.

Research in African Literatures, founded in 1970, is the premier journal of African literary studies worldwide and provides a forum in English for research on the oral and written literatures of Africa.

The Review of English Studies is the leading scholarly journal in the field of English literature and the English language from the earliest period up to today.

Science Fiction Studies is a refereed scholarly journal devoted to the study of the genre of science fiction, broadly defined.

Covers all aspects of seventeenth-century culture, English, American, and European, with emphasis on literature and history.

Shakespeare Quarterly (SQ) is a leading journal in Shakespeare studies, publishing highly original, rigorously researched essays, notes, and book reviews.

Social Text covers a broad spectrum of social and cultural phenomena, applying the latest interpretive methods to the world at large.

If “interdisciplinary” connotes anything, it should be improved communication across disciplines that fosters mutual understanding. This, in turn, advances our understanding of the deeply complex ethical and moral issues facing our world today. Acknowledging the need for diversity and integrity in speaking to these issues, Soundings promotes dialogue, reflection, inquiry, discussion, and action.

Studies in the Novel has been published quarterly by the Department of English at the University of North Texas since 1969. Its aim is to present excellence in criticism of the novel in all periods, by established and emerging novelists worldwide, from all interpretive approaches.

The Times Literary Supplement is a weekly literary review published in London by News UK, a subsidiary of News Corp.

Wasafiri encourages readers and writers to travel the world via the word. Since 1984 the magazine has been publishing the best international contemporary writing from a diverse range of cultures across the UK and beyond.

Women & Performance: a journal of feminist theory publishes scholarly essays from interdisciplinary feminist perspectives.

Women’s Writing is a fully refereed international journal focusing on women’s writing in English from the Middle Ages to the end of the long nineteenth century.