Special Collections: Home
Welcome to London Metropolitan University's Special Collections
Our Special Collections hold archives, rare books, and historic objects that span over 350 years. They range in format from personal letters, to oral history and photographs. To start your research of the collections, please visit our online catalogue.
Our main collections comprise the University Archive, The Archive of Irish in Britain, the Trades Union Congress Library collections and the Frederick Parker Archives and Chair collection, which include material to support your research of:
|
Politics and Journalism
|
Student Voice and Activism
|
Migration and Social Justice
|
|
Furniture and Product Design
|
Trade Union and Labour History
|
Creative Arts and Architecture
|
|
Fashion and Photography
|
Theatre and the Performing Arts
|
University History
|
Due to the relocation of Special Collections to the Holloway Road Learning Centre this Autumn, we will temporarily be closed to users. During the closure we will be operating a limited enquiry service via email, a Learning and Teaching Room at Aldgate, and online appointments.
For online appointments, researchers and students can book a one-hour timeslot to view Special Collections material remotely. Consultation via email prior to booking your appointment is requested.
Thank you for patience and co-operation during this period of change.
Staff and students of the University are welcome to drop into the Special Collections Reading Room during opening hours and without appointment, in order to consult the reference material on the open shelves, and/or for private study. However, most of the Special Collections material is not immediately accessible. In order to view such material, visitors are asked to make an appointment in advance, providing 2 working days' notice.
To book an appointment, staff and students are to log in using their university credentials. Admission for external visitors is via email consultation and registration. Our opening hours can be found under Library locations and opening hours.
Please get in contact with our team via email specialcollections@londonmet.ac.uk if you have any questions.
Follow Us
Keep updated about upcoming events, news and collections:
Contact Us
How to Find Us
We have now relocated to Holloway Road Learning Centre, but still provide a Learning and Teaching Room at our Aldgate Library.
Please email
specialcollections@londonmet.ac.uk
for more information.