International Students: Library Guide

This guide explains common words used in the library. If you don't understand something, please ask the library staff - they are here to help you.

A   B   C   D   E   F   H   I   J   L   O   P   R   S   T

A

Abstract: A summary of a book, journal article, thesis, or other publication.

Academic Liaison Librarian: A librarian who knows a lot about resources in a specific subject. Each subject area has its own librarian. They answer questions, teach information skills, order library materials, and help students and staff in their subject area with finding information, referencing and research. Check the list of subjects to find the librarian for your area.

Article: A piece of writing published in a journal (also known as a periodical or serial) or magazine. This could be a research study, a report, or an opinion piece. To find out more about journals see Understanding journals - Finding information guide.

B

Bibliography: List, usually arranged alphabetically by authors’/editors’ surnames.  It contains details of all the books, journal articles and other information sources that have been referred to in research for a book, journal article or a piece of coursework, usually placed at the end.

Boolean searching: A way to search databases using the words 'AND, OR, NOT' to combine search terms. These words are called "Boolean operators".

C

Catalogue: A list of all materials in a library. The London Met University Library catalogue is part of Library Search and is on the Library home page. It includes details of all resources in all London Met libraries.

Citation: Basic information about a source (book, journal, website, etc.), also called a reference. For example, a book citation includes author(s), title, year, edition, place of publication, and publisher. For more information go to our Referencing guide.

Citing your sources: Also known as referencing. Acknowledging the sources you used in your work. For more information go to our Referencing guide.

Conversation Café: Friendly, informal gatherings for students to practise conversational English in a relaxed and welcoming environment. Find out when the next meeting is.

Classmark number: A code of numbers and letters on a book's spine and in the LibrarySearch system. It helps you find the book in the Library. Also known as a shelfmark.

Copyright: Legal protection given to artists, authors, songwriters and composers, preventing the illegal copying of their work. For more information go to our Copyright guide.

D

Database: See e-resource.

Dewey Decimal System: The system used to classify library materials at London Met Library. Each item gets a classmark number (a set of numbers and letters) based on its subject. This helps you find items in the library. Books on the same subject are shelved together.

Dictionaries: Books with alphabetical listings of words and their meanings.

Dissertation: A long piece of original work required for an academic degree.

DOI: 'Digital Object Identifier'. A unique code for a specific online object, often used for documents or journal articles.

E

E-resource: An online collection of data that can be searched systematically. Many databases index journal articles and may include full text. See A-Z of E-Resources for a complete list of databases available to London Met students and staff.

Encyclopaedias: Works with information on all subjects, sometimes specific to one subject. Entries are usually arranged alphabetically.

F

Full text: The complete text of a journal article, as opposed to an abstract or a summary, usually made available online.

H

Hold: See reservation.

I

Index: A list to help find specific contents of a resource. It can be alphabetical and list subjects, authors, or other relevant matters.

Interlibrary Loan: See Request It.

ISBN: International Standard Book Number, a unique number assigned to every published book.

ISSN: International Standard Serial Number, a unique number assigned to every journal title.

J

Journal: Publication, that may be in print (hard copy) format or available online, that is published at regular intervals, for example, weekly, monthly, quarterly. Another name for a magazine or a periodical. Check Library Search to find out which journals are held.

Journal article: A piece of writing published in a journal (also known as a periodical or serial) or magazine. This could be a research study, a report, or an opinion piece.  See Understanding journals - Finding information guide.

L

Library Search: A listing of all materials in a library, plus information about other sources not held at London Met. Use Library Search to find and view books, journals, and e-books.

Library skills workshops: Sessions delivered by your Academic Liaison Librarian in which you will learn practical skills to find information for your coursework.

Literature search: A select analysis and review of existing research relating to your topic.

O

Oversize: Books that are too large to fit on the ordinary shelves; to find out where they are kept, ask Library Staff.

P

Peer Review: Books and articles that have been read/approved by experts in that field prior to publication. For more information see Understanding journals - Finding information guide.

Plagiarism: Passing off someone else's words or thoughts as your own. Find out more about plagiarism and how to avoid it:  Referencing, academic integrity and avoiding plagiarism.

PMID: ‘PubMed identifier’. A unique code for a specific article, reference, or abstract in the PubMed database for Biomedical and Life Sciences.

R

Reading for Pleasure: Collection of general interest (fiction and non-fiction) books called 'Reading for Pleasure'. The collections can be found in both the Aldgate and Holloway Road libraries and can be borrowed for 3 weeks.

Reference: A book, journal, or another information source that is referred in a piece of coursework or any other piece of writing whether printed or online.

Reference list: A list of references to books, journal articles, and other sources. It is often part of a publication or assignment, placed at the end, including all sources mentioned in the work. The term can be used interchangeably with bibliography or refer specifically to sources mentioned in the work.

Referencing: Acknowledging the sources you used in your work. Visit the library’s Referencing guide for more information.

Reference only / Reference copy: Items that may only be used in the library and cannot be borrowed.

Renewal, Renew: To keep a library item for a longer time. See 'How to renew' on our Borrow or Request guide.

Request It: A service where users can request books, book chapter, journal articles, and theses not held at London Met. See Request It for more information.

Reservation: A system to request that a specific book is kept for you to collect.

S

Sconul Access: Scheme enabling you to visit, and sometimes borrow from, the collections of most other UK university libraries. See Using other libraries - Visit the Library for more information.

Shelfmark: See Classmark number.

Subject guide: An online guide, produced by your Academic Liaison Librarian, containing information about the information resources available to support your course. Find your subject guide.

T

Thesaurus: A list of words with their meanings and synonyms (words with the same or similar meanings).

Thesis: In the UK, a thesis a published research paper that a student writes to earn a higher degree, such as a PhD, MLitt, or MRes. A thesis is a longer, more in-depth project than a dissertation, which is usually written for an undergraduate or taught master's degree.