Interpreting & Translation
Journals and Reference resources
- BrowZine: Translation StudiesBrowse key journals related to Interpreting & Translation using Browzine!
- BrowZine: LinguisticsBrowse key journals related to Linguistics using BrowZine!
More key titles:
- The LinguistThe Linguist is the professional journal of the Chartered Institute of Linguists.
- The TranslatorThe Translator is a peer-reviewed international journal that publishes original and innovative research on a variety of issues related to translation and interpreting as acts of intercultural communication.
- InterpretingInterpreting serves as a medium for research and debate on all aspects of interpreting, in its various modes, modalities (spoken and signed) and settings (conferences, media, courtroom, healthcare and others).
- CIRIN BulletinCIRIN is an international information network on research into conference interpreting.
- OnlineNewspapers.comOnline newspaper directory for the world, with thousands of newspapers listed by country and region.
- BoB : On Demand TV And Radio For Education This link opens in a new window
Shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for education institutions. BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 free to air TV and radio channels.
- Kanopy Film Streaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a film streaming service designed for academic use and can be used in a web browser as well as through mobile and smart TV apps. The London Met package includes various curated film collections such as Classic Cinema, Independent Cinema, Film Studies, Early Cinema and more. Sign up for a personal login on the site to be able to use the Kanopy mobile and TV apps.
BrowZine
BrowZine is a service that allows you to browse, read and follow scholarly journals from London Met Library in a beautiful visual display.
With BrowZine, you can:
• Browse and read journals: Browse thousands of top journals by subject, easily review tables of contents, and download full articles.
• Stay Current with My Bookshelf: Create a personal bookshelf of titles to follow and receive new article notifications.
• Access on any device: Easily access BrowZine from your iOS and Android device and on the web to stay up to date wherever you are.
• Save and export articles: Use the BrowZine app to save articles for off-line reading or export to services such as Zotero.
Try it now! Use the search box below or browse the full collection at London Metropolitan University — BrowZine. If you want the app, search for BrowZine on the Apple App Store, Google Play Store or Amazon App Store.
Databases
For most databases that the Library subscribes to, the content within them is findable via Library Search. However, this is not true for all databases. I have indicated below where a database must be searched separately in order to get access to the content.
- Handbook of Translation Studies Online This link opens in a new windowNOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. The Handbook of Translation aims at disseminating knowledge about translation and interpreting and providing easy access to a large range of topics, traditions, and methods. All articles in the Handbook are written by specialists in the different subfields and are peer-reviewed.
- Translation Studies Bibliography This link opens in a new windowNOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. The online Translation Studies Bibliography (TSB) is an annotated bibliography of the vast field of Translation and Interpreting Studies that is updated annually. The following categories of publications are covered by the TSB: journal articles, monographs, articles from collective volumes, reviews, reference materials, dissertations and unpublished manuscripts. The TSB includes the options of both searching and browsing, and includes abstracts for all publications covered.
- BITRA (Bibliography Of Interpreting & Translation) This link opens in a new windowNOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. This site comprises more than 43,000 entries of title details to books, chapters, articles, journals, dissertations to help students track information on translation and interpreting publications. It provides access to over 13,000 summaries and provides some tables of contents details starting from June 2001. It is assembled and coordinated by Javier Franco at the University of Alicante. It is updated once a month.
- IRISNOT IN LIBRARY SEARCH. IRIS is a searchable repository of materials for researching second languages. Includes access to interview and observation schedules, questionnaires, language elicitation tasks, working memory, which can be adapted for reuse.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of journals across a broad range of topics. Contains also summaries to articles which are available fulltext via other databases.
- Communication And Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Links to full text for many journal articles. This database also contains indexes and summaries for articles from over 400 journals in the field of communications and mass media, including radio, television and journalism.