Interpreting & Translation
Useful websites
- Centre for Languages Linguistics and Area StudiesStandards-setting body for languages, interpreting and translation and recognised expert body for language and cultural skills for the UK-wide Skills for Business Network.
- Chartered Institute of LinguistsThe Chartered Institute of Linguists is a UK-based body for professional translators, interpreters, language educationalists and those using languages in industry and commerce. Includes code of professional conduct.
- Institute of Translation and InterpretingIndependent professional association of practising translators and interpreters in the UK. Primary source of information on these services to government, industry, media and general public.
- National Register of Public Service InterpretersProfessional register that aims to provide public service organisations and agencies access to professional, qualified and quality assured interpreters.
- International Association of Conference Interpreters (AIIC)Worldwide association for conference interpreters that currently has members in 96 countries.
- International Federation of Translators (Fédération Internationale des Traducteurs)FIT is a federation of translators’ associations and publishes the academic journal, Babel and their newsletter, Translation.
- International Medical Interpreters AssociationProfessional association based in Boston, US. Includes standard of practice for medical interpreters and, although primarily US focused, provides useful resources and links.
- CIRIN networkLinks to the CIRIN Bulletin and many other Interpreting and Translation Studies online journal, many full-text.
- Interpreter training resourcesFree resources aimed at helping students to acquire the skills necessary to become conference interpreters. Includes ideas, articles, practical exercises for consecutive and simultaneous interpreting, note-taking and preparation.
- CIUTIInitiated in 1960, CIUTI (pronounced [’sju:ti]) is the world’s oldest and most prestigious international association of university institutes with translation and interpretation programmes.
- European ParliamentOfficial website covering all aspects of the European Parliament. Through the "EP Live" feature, debates and events can be viewed through live web streaming.
- EuropaOfficial EU portal, giving access to institutions, policies, laws, statistics and official publications.
Portal site of the European Union. This site includes information on interpreting and translating in the EU.
Also provides IATE, a multilingual EU terminology database.
- BabelsBabels is an international network of volunteer interpreters and translators whose main objective is to cover the interpreting needs of the European and World Social Forums.