Nursing
Other resources
- BMJ – How to read a paper article series by Trisha Greenhalgh
- Critical Appraisal Skills Programme (CASP)
A set of critical appraisal tools to be used when reading research. Includes checklists for systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials, cohort studies, case control studies, economic evaluations, diagnostic studies, qualitative studies and clinical prediction rule.
- How to read a paper: the basics of evidence-based medicine and healthcare
E-book by Trisha Greenhalgh.
- Mixed Methods Appraisal Tool (MMAT)
Appraisal tool used for qualitative, quantitative, and/or mixed methods studies. Helpful for those working on a mixed methods review.
- CONSORT Statement
Recommendations for reporting Randomised Controlled Trials. Use the checklist to help you assess the different aspects of an RCT paper you are reading.
- PRISMA Statement
Use the PRISMA checklist to help you check for any gaps in a review you are reading and the flow diagram to help you report your systematic search methods when conducting a systematic review.
- Prospero
- See how systematic review protocols are written.
- How to search the literature effectively
- A step-by-step guide to finding information and developing the skills for successful searching
- The 5 Cs website evaluation tool
- As more people use the internet to access health information, nurses need to become skilled in systematically reviewing websites so that they can guide patients to the most appropriate sites. The 5Cs website evaluation tool provides a structured guide to such evaluation, giving tips and suggesting key considerations. The 5 Cs are the key areas that need to be addressed in a comprehensive evaluation - credibility, currency, content, construction and clarity
There are a number of professional UK and International bodies. The ones listed below are the ones that accredit some of the courses in the subject area.
- Health and Care Professions Council (HCPC)
- Health Education England (HEE) - aims to improve the quality of healthcare for patients in England through education, training and ongoing staff development.
- Nursing and Midwifery Council - the regulatory body for nurses and Midwives in the UK and accrediting body for the nursing course.
- Royal College of Nursing - nursing union and professional body in the UK.
Other academic libraries with relevant materials can be accessed via the SCONUL Access Scheme. Search Library Hub Discover to find out which libraries have useful material.
- British Library
Access to print and some online material unavailable elsewhere. Certain forms of ID are needed to register for a reader pass. See the website for further details.
- BioMed Central - open access peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, engineering and medicine.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).
- ELearning for Health (HEE elfh Hub) - Health Education England's learning resources for healthcare practitioners and students. To view content register on elfh Hub. For full access use your Open Athens account. See the Open Athens tab for further information.
- National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE).
- PLOS - open access peer-reviewed journals in biosciences and medicine.
- World Health Organization (WHO) - an international body that works with governments and other partners all over the world to “ensure the highest attainable level of health for all people”.
- RNIB Bookshare - If you are a student with a visual impairment, learning disability or physical disability that means you cannot use our existing printed books or e-books, then you are entitled to access the RNIB UK Education Collection via RNIB Bookshare. Please visit Accessibility support - Student Zone (londonmet.ac.uk) for more details.
- National Centre for Research Methods (NCRM) - NCRM has an extensive library of online resources for learners, researchers and educators. These resources include a large collection of online tutorials, plus podcasts, videos and the NCRM EPrints publications database, which contains more than 3,000 items. It includes statistical analysis and modelling, qualitative and creative methods, ethics, research design and teaching research methods.