Nursing
Description
Many of these databases are subscribed to by the University. Many of them give you full access to some or all of the content in them, but some of them are indexes and only give the abstracts of articles. Please visit A-Z of Library E-Resources (londonmet.ac.uk) for a full list.
Databases
Recommended databases
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Journal article abstract database focused on psychology, social science and behavioural sciences. Covers approximately 2,400 journals in multiple languages.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFull-text psychology journal collection published by the American Psychological Association and other related publishers. Includes approximately 120 journals with coverage from 1894 to present.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is an index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL Complete allows you to search across its index of thousands of journals and provides full access to articles from hundreds of journals, many of them peer-reviewed. Content includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, clinical trials, and research instruments records. The allied health content means that it can also be useful for public health, social work, physiotherapy and other allied health professions.
- Cochrane Library, The This link opens in a new window
Medical research resource covering Health Psychology and other medicine-related issues. Available free of charge nationally. See their online Search Manual for details of the different databases, which sections are most appropriate for your search (e.g. Systematic Reviews). Includes some full-text.
- Emerald Insight Journals and Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Emerald provides access to journal articles covering management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, and marketing and human resource management. It also includes over 3,000 e-books covering the social sciences subjects, including education, economics, politics and research in the social sciences.
- Europe PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Europe PMC is a unique, free, information resource for biomedical and health researchers. Search 30.4 million+ abstracts and 3.3 million+ full text research articles from PubMed and PubMed Central. Discover who is citing who, find related data resources and browse summaries of key terms. Access additional content including biological patents, clinical guidelines, PhD theses and research reports.
- Internurse This link opens in a new window
Access to approximately 20 Nursing e-journals from the publisher MA Healthcare with full access to the archive for each journal. Includes access to the British Journal of Nursing.
- NCBI Bookshelf This link opens in a new window
National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) Bookshelf provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
- New England Journal of Medicine This link opens in a new window
Important journal and resource for research publications in Medicine and related subject areas.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Please note that the personal Sign In function does not currently work with London Met IT logins. Please use a personal Google/Gmail or Microsoft/Hotmail login if you wish to create a personal account on PubMed.
- Oxford Journals Archive This link opens in a new window
This archive represents over 165 years of historical research, containing articles from over 140 titles, compiled into subject-based archives, which includes The Humanities Archive (1829 – 1995), The Medicine Archive (1878 – 1995), The Science Archive (1848 – 1995), The Law Archive (1952 – 1995) and The Social Science Archive (1902 – 1995).
- Oxford Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowOpen Access journals articles published by Oxford University Press, covering computing, science, law, medicine and social sciences. Enter a subject under 'Modify Search' to narrow down the display to your required subject.
- RCNi Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to journals published by the Royal College of Nursing, including Nurse Researcher, Nursing Management and Nursing Standard.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
The Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
- Social Sciences Citation Index - now part of Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students working in the social sciences with quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings.
- Trip Medical Database This link opens in a new window
Clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Please sign-up to the database the first time you use it and always use this personal login to get the best results
Other useful databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of journals across a broad range of topics. Contains also summaries to articles which are available fulltext via other databases.
- ScienceDirect Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 2,000 academic journals published by Elsevier. Subject fields covered include Biological Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Business, Management and Accounting, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, Engineering and Technology, Immunology and Microbiology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics, Physics and Astronomy, Psychology, and Social Sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is citation tracking search tool that allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects. Web of Science covers over 20,000 journals across most major disciplines (not just science disciplines).
- Wiley Online Library: Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to approximately 2,800 academic journals published by Wiley. Subject areas include medicine, health, life sciences, engineering, physics, information science, computing, mathematics and more.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources. After logging in there is an optional step to set up a personal account for app access (click Skip button if you do not wish to sign up).
- British National Formulary (BNF) This link opens in a new window
The BNF is a publication of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain. It aims to provide prescribers, pharmacists and other healthcare professionals with sound up-to-date information about the use of medicines. The BNF provides ready access to key information on the selection, prescribing, dispensing and administration of medicines.
- BoB : On Demand TV And Radio For Education This link opens in a new window
Shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for education institutions. BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 free to air TV and radio channels.
- Credo Reference Academic Core Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
An online reference resource that provides access to the full text of subject-specific reference titles, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases from a wide variety of publishers. Credo guides students through topics and concepts using visualisation tools and extensive cross referencing. Constantly expanding, it contains over 3 million entries from over 500 titles, including over 200,000 multimedia items and allows seamless searching of your other library resources. This multidisciplinary resource covers anthropology, art, astronomy, biography, biology, business, chemistry, computer science, ecology, economics, education, engineering, environmental studies, food, geography, geology, history, language, law, literature, mathematics, media studies, medicine, midwifery, music, nursing, palaeontology, philosophy, physics, politics, psychology, quotations, religion, sociology, technology, and zoology.
- Elsevier Clinical Skills This link opens in a new window
Evidence-based clinical and nursing skills tool with peer-reviewed content produced by practising nurses, therapists and clinicians.
Account registration required to access full functionality. To register, select 'Login to Clinical Skills Here', then 'Institutional Login'. Search for London Met on the login screen and select the option with the London Met Logo. Enter enter your IT account details. Follow the on-screen prompts to set up a new account and enter your London Met email address. The site will send you a confirmation email to activate your account - ignore the ‘Link Expired’ message after clicking on the activation link and click OK. After this, return to the 'Institutional Login' page, log in again and your account will be set up.
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning (formerly known as Lynda.com) is an online learning platform to help people learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals through access to a searchable video library of courses. Training sessions in streaming video taught by recognised industry experts cover a variety of software products and digital technologies as well as a wide range of other topics.
- Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical and Cancer Nursing Procedures This link opens in a new window
The Royal Marsden Manual brings together all the latest clinical evidence nurses need to meet confidently the requirements of their demanding profession. The Manual includes over 350 evidence-based clinical procedures related to every aspect of care, from handwashing to cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online statistics portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions. According to the company, the platform has statistics on over 80,000 topics, covering Europe (with a focus on the United Kingdom), the United States and China, from more than 18,000 sources. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Data sources include market research reports, such as the Ipsos Affluent Survey published annually by Ipsos Media, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights from Scarborough Research, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Visible Body - Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window
The Human Anatomy Atlas is an interactive online tool covering anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, quizzes, and more. Click on the blue ‘Human Anatomy Atlas 2017' button and then ‘Launch’ to access the Atlas.