Politics, International Relations, Peace, Conflict, Diplomacy, Human Rights, Climate Security & International Security
- EldisA gateway to development, policy, practice and research information.
- WWW Virtual Library: International AffairsLinks to resources on international affairs, international relations and global studies.
- ACE Electoral Knowledge NetworkInformation and commentary on electoral processes worldwide, including articles, comparative data and an online encyclopaedia.
- Avalon ProjectMulti-disciplinary historical digital archive of documents relating to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government.
- Global Peace Operations ReviewData on military peacekeeping and civilian political missions compiled by the New York University Center on International Cooperation.
- Global Terrorism DatabaseDetails of individual terrorist events carried out from 1970 onwards, updated annually.
- PARLINEInformation on the structure, working methods and electoral systems of parliaments in countries where a national legislature exists.
- Political Data Yearbook InteractiveData on national election results, voter turnout and changes in the composition of government in 36 countries.
- SSRN (Social Science Research Network)E-library of downloadable research.
- Stanford Encyclopaedia of PhilosophyOnline philosophy reference work written and updated by academic experts, with entries on political theory and prominent thinkers.
- UCDP Conflict EncyclopaediaInformation on armed conflicts, peace agreements and other aspects of organised violence globally, covering 1946 onwards.
- United Nations Research GuidesGuides to research documents and online resources on international relations topics.
- The World FactbookFacts and figures on the countries of the world, compiled by the US Central Intelligence Agency (CIA).
- GOV.UKFind government services and information, including publications.
- PoliticsHomeNews resource monitoring and reporting on UK politics.
- The National ArchivesOfficial national paper and digital archive of the UK government, and for England and Wales.
- UK Data Service This link opens in a new window
Database of UK social and economic data and statistics. Provides a unified point of access to data from the Economic and Social Data Service, UK censuses, Secure Data Service and others. Requires registration for first time use - search for London Met University on the login page and use your University IT login.
- UK ParliamentDatabase of UK social and economic data and statistics. Provides a unified point of access to data from the Economic and Social Data Service, UK censuses, Secure Data Service and others. Requires registration for first time use - search for London Met University on the login page and use your University IT login.
- Access to LawAnnotated links to UK, Commonwealth and worldwide legal websites.
- Amnesty InternationalPublishes an annual human rights report, country reports and regular specialist reports on the death penalty, and women’s rights.
- Country Reports on Human Rights PracticesDigital archive of all U.S. Department of State annual reports to Congress on the state of human rights in individual countries. Covers 1999 onwards.
- Human Rights Documentation Initiative (HRDI)Based at the University of Texas. This project provides access to documents and archived versions of key websites. They include a Rwandan Genocide Archive.
- Human Rights WatchIncludes annual and country specific human rights reports.
- Lawlinks: Human RightsLinks to a variety of organisations and HR resources.
- University of Minnesota Human Rights LibrarySpecialist site for researchers proving free access to over 65,000 full text documents. includes sections for treaties and specialist search engines.
- Council of EuropeOrganisation promoting co-operation between member European states to protect human rights, democracy and the rule of law.
- ESO (European Sources Online)Wide range of information sources on EU affairs.
- EurActivIndependent multilingual online network reporting and commenting on EU news and policy debates.
- EuropaOfficial EU portal, giving access to institutions, policies, laws, statistics and official publications.
- European Elections DatabaseDownloadable data on European national and EU elections since 1990, enabling comparative analysis.
- European Policy ForumReports, policy analysis, etc.
- The Parliament MagazineNews and commentary on contemporary EU issues and developments.
- POLITICO (Europe edition)Online news resource reporting on developments in European politics.
- Congress.govOfficial information and documentation relating to the activities of the US Federal legislature.
- POLITICO (US edition)Online news resource reporting on developments in American politics.
- The White HouseNews, policies and pronouncements direct from the US executive branch of government.
- E-International RelationsIncludes articles, blogs, essays and interviews.
- Stockholm International Peace Research InstituteNews, articles and data on global security.
- Global Policy ForumScrutiny of UN and global policymaking on peace, security, social justice and international law.
- International Monetary Fund (IMF)International financial organisation supporting global monetary cooperation, trade and poverty reduction.
- International Relations and Security NetworkWide range of resources in IR and security studies.
- NATO EncyclopediaNATO Encyclopedia 2016 (Archived) - this is a compilation of archived online topic pages which explain every aspect of the Organization.
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD)Search for topics, countries, etc.
- Political Science NetworkSearchable bank of research papers from institutions around the world. See also the main PSN page for jobs and conferences.
- United NationsNews and documents of the lead body and agencies promoting global security and social progress.
- World Bank e-librarySearchable full-text books, reports, journal articles, working papers and statistics.
- World Economic ForumWork of body engaging political and business leaders in jointly tackling global and regional issues.
- World Trade OrganizationDocuments and resources from the main institution regulating and resolving global trade matters.
- Brookings InstitutionAmerican non-profit public policy research organisation.
- Chatham HouseRoyal Institute of International Affairs, a leading research body.
- IISS (International Institute for Strategic Studies)Body on peace, security and military conflict.
- IPSA (International Political Science Association)Global political science network.
- PSA (Political Studies Association)UK association developing and promoting the study of politics.
- RUSI (Royal United Services InstituteIndependent think tank engaged in defence and security research.
- British LibraryAccess to material unavailable elsewhere. The British Library has a growing collection of e-resources now available within the reading rooms. Certain forms of ID are needed to register for a reader pass. See the website for further details.
- Chatham House LibraryNon-members of Chatham House can use the Library, subject to demonstration of a research need to consult their materials. Phone before you visit. Subject coverage: Great for international relations topics with a particular focus on politics, economics, security and the environment.
- Small Business Research and Enterprise CentreSubject coverage: Largely business information, but also has a good collection of resources giving country information in the areas of economic policy, domestic economy, foreign trade, etc. UN, IMF & OECD publications are available, and access to a number of electronic resources is free.
- International Institute of Strategic StudiesNon-members may use the Library for a daily entrance fee. Subject coverage: Covers a broad range of current international relations, security and defence topics. Contains very little historical material.
- Senate House LibraryThere is a charge to use the library, please see the website for up-to-date visitor information. Subject coverage: includes the libraries of the Institutes of Commonwealth Studies, Germanic Studies, and Latin American Studies. Sizeable collection of politics materials, including public policy. Good for Asia Pacific studies, development studies, peace and conflict studies, and public administration.
- Trades Union Congress (TUC) Library CollectionsSubject coverage: The collection focuses largely on the trade union movement, with union publications from the UK and other countries, working conditions and industrial relations, and campaigns and policy areas in which the TUC has been involved.
- UCL School of Slavonic and East European Studies (SSEES) LibraryFree reference access during UCL vacations only. Please see the website for further details. Subject coverage: “one of the leading teaching and research collections in the UK for the study of Central and Eastern Europe and Russia”. All aspects including history and culture.
Other academic libraries with relevant materials can be accessed via the SCONUL Access Scheme.
- Birkbeck, University of LondonSubject coverage: development studies, economics, management, and politics.
- City University LondonSubject coverage: economics and international politics.
- Goldsmiths, University of LondonSubject coverage: social sciences including politics, also history.
- London South Bank University (Southwark Campus Library - LSBU Hub)Subject coverage: development studies, European studies, management, and social and policy studies.
- Middlesex UniversitySubject coverage: most aspects of politics and international relations, including economic development, the European Union, history of Latin America, Africa and Asia, international trade, and international migration.
- Queen Mary, University of LondonSubject coverage: academic staff and postgraduate research students only. Restrictions on visits by taught postgraduate and undergraduate students only during vacations, see the website for details.
- School of Oriental and Asian Studies (SOAS), University of LondonNo access for Band R students (full-time undergraduates). See the website for details. Subject coverage: many African, Asian and Middle Eastern topics, including international politics and diplomacy, development, migration, and terrorism.
- University of East London (Docklands Campus)Subject coverage: economics, International Development, NGO management, politics, refugee studies.
- University of Westminster (Cavendish Library)Subject coverage: politics, international relations, diplomatic studies.