LibGuides: Psychology: Databases

Key databases
More databases

PubMed
Not included in Library Search. (The free full-text archive from PubMed Central is included in Library Search). PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
CINAHL Complete
Included in Library Search. CINAHL is an index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL Complete allows you to search across its index of thousands of journals and provides full access to articles from hundreds of journals, many of them peer-reviewed. Content includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, clinical trials, and research instruments records. The allied health content means that it can also be useful for public health, social work, physiotherapy and other allied health professions.
Cochrane Library, The
Not included in Library Search. Medical research resource covering Health Psychology and other medicine-related issues. Available free of charge nationally. See their online Search Manual for details of the different databases, which sections are most appropriate for your search (e.g. Systematic Reviews). Includes some full-text.
Access only available when located in England due to licensing restrictions.
Trip Medical Database
Not included in Library Search. Clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Emphasises evidence-based medicine (EBM) and clinical guidelines and queries, rather than a database, but is a key subscribed resource. It is particularly useful for finding sources on health psychology topics.
Web of Science
Not included in Library Search. Web of Science is citation tracking search tool that allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects. Web of Science covers over 20,000 journals across most major disciplines (not just science disciplines).
If you have issues with searching after logging into a personal account on Web of Science, try clicking on your name on the top-right, click 'End Session' and then re-access Web of Science from the link above.

Business Source Complete
Contains full text journals plus summaries to some articles available full text elsewhere and market research data. Subjects covered are accounting, banking, business, economics, finance, management, sales & marketing, logistics & transport. Contains full text of the Harvard Business Review from 1922. Datamonitor, Gartner and others provide market research, industry reports and company reports & SWOT analysis. The Economist Intelligence Unit provides some country reports.
Communication And Mass Media Complete
Links to full text for many journal articles. This database also contains indexes and summaries for articles from over 400 journals in the field of communications and mass media, including radio, television and journalism.
Emerald Insight Journals and Ebooks
Emerald provides access to journal articles covering management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, and marketing and human resource management. It also includes over 3,000 e-books covering the social sciences subjects, including education, economics, politics and research in the social sciences.
ScienceDirect Journals Collection
Full text of over 2,000 academic journals published by Elsevier. Subject fields covered include Biological Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Business, Management and Accounting, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, Engineering and Technology, Immunology and Microbiology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics, Physics and Astronomy, Psychology, and Social Sciences.
Social Science Database
The Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
Sociology Source Ultimate
Offering more peer-reviewed, full-text journals than any other sociology research database, Sociology Source Ultimate provides the must-have materials for students studying social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.
SPORTDiscus
Developed by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC), SPORTDiscus covers both the practical and research literature on sport, physical fitness and physical education. It includes HERACLES, a French-language bibliographic database covering sport, physical education and fitness. Subjects covered include sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and other sport- and fitness-related topics. Also included are ATLANTES and CATALOGUE DU MUSEE OLYMPIQUE.
Maximum of 8 concurrent users.
Westlaw UK
Full text of UK, and International cases, legislation, journals and ebook legal reference material. It also includes the text books: Contract Law: Textbook Series; Criminal Law: Textbook Series; Darbyshire on the English Legal System; English Legal System: The Fundamentals; Glanville Williams Textbook of Criminal Law; Hayton and Mitchell on the Law of Trusts & Equitable Remedies; McEldowney: Public Law; Smith & Thomas: A Casebook on Contract; Treitel on The Law of Contract; Clarkson & Keating Criminal Law: Text and Materials; Contract Law: The Fundamentals; Criminal Law: The Fundamentals; Elliott & Wood’s Cases and Materials on Criminal Law Equity and Trusts: Textbook Series; Hanbury & Martin: Modern Equity Land Law: Textbook Series; Megarry & Wade Tort: Textbook Series; Winfield & Jolowicz on Tort. Registration required on first login
Interactive Tutorial | Journals Tutorial |
Wiley Online Library: Journals
Access to approximately 2,800 academic journals published by Wiley. Subject areas include medicine, health, life sciences, engineering, physics, information science, computing, mathematics and more.