Social Work
databases image
These are some of the most relevant databases for your subject. They make a good starting point in searching for journal articles and book references.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of journals across a broad range of topics. Contains also summaries to articles which are available fulltext via other databases.
- Campbell Collaboration This link opens in a new window
The Campbell Collaboration is an international research network that produces systematic reviews of the effects of social interventions in Crime & Justice, Education, International Development, and Social Welfare. Our vision We seek to bring about positive social change, and to improve the quality of public and private services around the world. We prepare, maintain and disseminate systematic reviews of research related to education, crime and justice, social welfare, and international development. We believe that a systematic and rigorous approach to research synthesis improves the knowledge base for decisions on policy and practice. Better-informed choices by policymakers, practitioners, and members of the general public can lead to better outcomes.
- CareKnowledge This link opens in a new window
CareKnowledge is a practice-focused research tool used extensively by social work and health studies students and academics to develop their skills and knowledge. Compiled from a wide range of resources, Care Knowledge brings together the latest social care information into one database. The database contains journal articles, in-house commentaries, special reports, Government documents and more.
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFull-text psychology journal collection published by the American Psychological Association and other related publishers. Includes approximately 120 journals with coverage from 1894 to present.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Journal article abstract database focused on psychology, social science and behavioural sciences. Covers approximately 2,400 journals in multiple languages.
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
The Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
- Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new windowSubject coverage includes: social work, child welfare, looked-after children, family social work.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is citation tracking search tool that allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects. Web of Science covers over 20,000 journals across most major disciplines (not just science disciplines).
- BoB : On Demand TV And Radio For Education This link opens in a new window
Shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for education institutions. BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 free to air TV and radio channels.
- Kanopy Film Streaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a film streaming service designed for academic use and can be used in a web browser as well as through mobile and smart TV apps. The London Met package includes various curated film collections such as Classic Cinema, Independent Cinema, Film Studies, Early Cinema and more. Sign up for a personal login on the site to be able to use the Kanopy mobile and TV apps.