Sports and Exercise
Many of these databases are subscribed to by the University. Many of them give you full access to some or all of the content in them, but some of them are indexes and only give the abstracts of articles. Please visit A-Z of Library E-Resources (londonmet.ac.uk) for a full list.
Recommended databases
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFull-text psychology journal collection published by the American Psychological Association and other related publishers. Includes approximately 120 journals with coverage from 1894 to present.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Journal article abstract database focused on psychology, social science and behavioural sciences. Covers approximately 2,400 journals in multiple languages.
- Cochrane Library, The This link opens in a new window
Medical research resource covering Health Psychology and other medicine-related issues. Available free of charge nationally. See their online Search Manual for details of the different databases, which sections are most appropriate for your search (e.g. Systematic Reviews). Includes some full-text.
- PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence DatabaseA free database containing over 37,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines. This database is produced by Musculoskeletal Health Sydney, School of Public Health at the University of Sydney, and is hosted by Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA). Most useful for sports and dance therapy. Search the internet to find this database.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Please note that the personal Sign In function does not currently work with London Met IT logins. Please use a personal Google/Gmail or Microsoft/Hotmail login if you wish to create a personal account on PubMed.
- SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
Developed by the Sport Information Resource Centre (SIRC), SPORTDiscus covers both the practical and research literature on sport, physical fitness and physical education. It includes HERACLES, a French-language bibliographic database covering sport, physical education and fitness. Subjects covered include sports medicine, exercise psychology, biomechanics, psychology, training, coaching, physical education and fitness, and other sport- and fitness-related topics. Also included are ATLANTES and CATALOGUE DU MUSEE OLYMPIQUE.
- Trip Medical Database This link opens in a new window
Clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Please sign-up to the database the first time you use it and always use this personal login to get the best results
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is citation tracking search tool that allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects. Web of Science covers over 20,000 journals across most major disciplines (not just science disciplines).
Other useful databases
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new windowSearch journal articles in all subject areas in the humanities and sciences, including physiology, sports and sport-related areas. Many journals are available in full text, but access to the current year may not be available for some journals.
- ScienceDirect Journals Collection This link opens in a new window★ This database contains journals published by Elsevier and affiliated publishers. It contains journal articles in all areas of science and medicine, including biomedical sciences, anatomy and physiology, nutrition, sports science, sports medicine, sports and dance therapy, psychology, coaching and related areas. There are many full text articles available from 1995 onwards, though not all.
- Wiley Online Library: Journals This link opens in a new window★ This database contains journals published by Wiley and affiliated publishers. It covers all areas of science, including biomedical sciences, nutrition, sports science, coaching, medicine, sports and dance therapy. Full text access to most, but not all, journals is available.
- BMJ Best Practice This link opens in a new window
Best Practice has been designed and built from the ground up for use specifically as a decision-support tool at the point of care. Latest research evidence, guidelines and expert opinion are combined in a single source and presented in a step-by-step approach, covering prevention, diagnosis, treatment and prognosis. Provides a second opinion, without the need for checking multiple resources. After logging in there is an optional step to set up a personal account for app access (click Skip button if you do not wish to sign up).
- BoB : On Demand TV And Radio For Education This link opens in a new window
Shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for education institutions. BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 free to air TV and radio channels.
- British National Formulary (BNF) This link opens in a new window
The BNF is a publication of the Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain. It aims to provide prescribers, pharmacists and other healthcare professionals with sound up-to-date information about the use of medicines. The BNF provides ready access to key information on the selection, prescribing, dispensing and administration of medicines.
- Credo Reference Academic Core Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
An online reference resource that provides access to the full text of subject-specific reference titles, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopaedias, quotations and atlases from a wide variety of publishers. Credo guides students through topics and concepts using visualisation tools and extensive cross referencing. Constantly expanding, it contains over 3 million entries from over 500 titles, including over 200,000 multimedia items and allows seamless searching of your other library resources. This multidisciplinary resource covers anthropology, art, astronomy, biography, biology, business, chemistry, computer science, ecology, economics, education, engineering, environmental studies, food, geography, geology, history, language, law, literature, mathematics, media studies, medicine, midwifery, music, nursing, palaeontology, philosophy, physics, politics, psychology, quotations, religion, sociology, technology, and zoology.
- Human Kinetics : Health Care in Sport and Exercise This link opens in a new window
Human Kinetics Health Care in Sport and Exercise is a comprehensive digital collection of 33 ebooks and over 450 videos (approximately 11 hours). Digitally exclusive on an unlimited access basis, this product offers students, researchers and instructors unrivalled access to Human Kinetics’ market-leading physical therapy, athletic training, and sport-related health care content.
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning (formerly known as Lynda.com) is an online learning platform to help people learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals through access to a searchable video library of courses. Training sessions in streaming video taught by recognised industry experts cover a variety of software products and digital technologies as well as a wide range of other topics.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Statista is an online statistics portal. It provides access to data from market and opinion research institutions, as well as from business organizations and government institutions. According to the company, the platform has statistics on over 80,000 topics, covering Europe (with a focus on the United Kingdom), the United States and China, from more than 18,000 sources. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides companies, business customers, research institutions, and the academic community with direct access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets. Data sources include market research reports, such as the Ipsos Affluent Survey published annually by Ipsos Media, Simmons National Consumer Studies and Consumer Insights from Scarborough Research, as well as trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Visible Body - Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window
The Human Anatomy Atlas is an interactive online tool covering anatomy, physiology, muscles, the skeleton, and the circulatory system through interactive 3D models, animations, quizzes, and more. Click on the blue ‘Human Anatomy Atlas 2017' button and then ‘Launch’ to access the Atlas.
- RNIB BookshareIf you are a student with a visual impairment, learning disability or physical disability that means you cannot use our existing printed books or e-books, then you are entitled to access the RNIB UK Education Collection via RNIB Bookshare. Please visit Accessibility support - Student Zone (londonmet.ac.uk) for more details.