Design
- African Research Fashion InstituteAFRI aims to engage both local and global African fashion activists, pioneers, academics, makers, thinkers, students, critics and leaders through fashion-driven decolonial research projects via online networks and platforms, creating shareable materials for outreach, students and the public.
- British Fashion CouncilNews, along with grants and initiatives to support emerging talent in British fashion.
- British Museum Libraries and ArchivesSubject areas covered reflect the museum’s collections such as decorative arts and crafts. Access by appointment only.
- BSI Members Reading RoomBritish Standards. Students (with proof of student status) can consult British Standards free of charge in the BSI Members Reading Room in Chiswick. (Advance notice required - 48 hours).
- Cartoon MuseumThe museum houses a collection of over 6000 original cartoons and comics, and a library of over 8000 comics and books, documenting the history of British comics from the 18th century to the present day.
- Dana Research Centre and Library, Science MuseumTechnology, design history, product design. Open to the general public – no appointment necessary.
- Goldsmiths Company LibraryJewellery. Access by appointment only.
- National Art Library, Victoria and Albert Museum.Decorative arts and craft, and design history. Subject areas covered reflect the museum’s collections. Open to the general public but if you want to access the collections you will need to join the library; details on how to do this can be found on their webpages.
- UK Leather and Fetish ArchiveHeld at the Bishopsgate Institute, this collection is dedicated to documenting and celebrating the history and heritage of the leather, rubber, kink, BDSM and fetish community in the UK.
- Wallace Collection Library and Archives17th and 18th century French decorative art, sculpture, ceramics and furniture. Access is by appointment only.
- Westminster Menswear ArchiveThe Westminster Menswear Archive is located at the University of Westminster on the Harrow campus. You must contact them to make an appointment to visit.
- a-n NewsNews, comment and events within visual arts.
- Archives HubArchives are a good source of primary material. Find out if there is an archive on your research area, where it is, and how to access it.
- British and Irish Furniture Makers OnlineA digital resource created in a partnership between the Institute of Historical Research and the Furniture History Society. It contains details of furniture manufacturers and suppliers - their organising structures, their clientele, the material they produced and the services they provided - from the beginning of the 17th century to the early 20th century.
- BSI Knowledge Centre and ShopFind information on British Standards.
- Design Museum DesignersProvides profiles of the leading designers.
- DexignerThe latest design news, events, competitions, books and resources.
- It's Nice That
News and opinion from the world of visual arts. - Moving Image Archive
Free films and videos uploaded by users.
- It's Nice That
- Fashion History TimelineAn open-access source for fashion history knowledge, featuring objects and artworks from a number of museums and libraries from across the world.
- How Products Are MadeThis online encyclopaedia covers a wide of products.
- It's Nice ThatA leading platform globally for the creative community, encompassing an award-winning website, a range of social channels, a regular live events series and a top-ranking podcast
- MoDiPThe Museum of Design in Plastics is based in Brighton but the collections can be searched online.
- Moving Image ArchiveFree films and videos uploaded by users.
- Park Sustainable PrintingEnvironmentally friendly printing company
- Trendhunterfeatures ULITA which is an Archive of International Textiles.