Business

Harvard Referencing - the basics

Harvard Referencing guides and videos

• Harvard referencing quick guide

  Created by the London Metropolitan University Library. This guide includes AI ChatGPT citation and ref example in the introduction.

• Cite them right online

Manage your references and save time

• Referencing software guide on Zotero

Check out our guide on Artificial Intelligence (AI) Library Guide.

Includes:

•  Video Recordings on AI, using Copilot and Firefly
•  Citing and Referencing AI
•  AI and Academic Integrity for students

Citation tracking and metrics, finding citations by research author or topic

Citation tracking search tools allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers and also tracks the research work of specific authors. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects.

• Ask your Librarian for help to get the best research from these subscribed resources.
• Have a look at Research Matters for more information.

Web of Science: Research and citation tracking search tool. You can register on the site to save search questions, set up alerts and collaborate with a research group. Useful for systematic searching and reviews.

Google Scholar: Find citations or scholar metrics. Set up search alerts.

Libkey Nomad

This is a great tool which helps you to easily find scholarly journal articles.  When you are searching on the web, Nomad lets you know if any of the content is available from our library subscriptions or open access alternatives. Go to libkeynomad.com, select your browser at the bottom of the page and follow the instructions to add the extension. When prompted, select London Metropolitan University as your organisation. 

When searching the web look out for the Nomad button to link you to the article.

• British Library 

 The British Library at St Pancras is a research library and the Reading Rooms are for reference only. Students and researchers are normally asked to demonstrate specific research requirements before being allowed admission, so consult the British Library catalogue before your visit. Access is free but only to materials not available elsewhere. Admission forms can be downloaded from the main British Library web site. 
 

• Economic History Library 
  The Goldsmiths'' Library of Economic History is the part of the Historic Collections of Senate House Library. Material from the Goldsmiths'' Library has to be requested from the staff in Special Collections, and must be consulted in the Palaeography reading room. Advance notice is helpful to assist in ensuring that material is available when required. 
   
• Guildhall Library 
  For economic history, it holds runs of many investment, financial and economic journals and also the London Stock Exchange and Lloyd’s collections. It is a public reference library. 

Business

• ABIS (The Academy of Business in Society)

           An alliance of companies, business schools and academic institutions which aim to embed issues on business in society into learning and               practice in Europe. Includes examples of corporate social responsibility activities. Academic papers can be viewed online.

Economics

• CBR 
  Centre for Business Research publications. 
   
• Economist Online
  Showcases some of the world's leading institutions, their scholars and their academic publications and datasets; contains over 900,000 bibliographic references, many with links to open access full text; combines content with RePEc archives to provide a new information service to the economist; is run by the Nereus consortium and co-funded by the European Union.
   
• International Monetary Fund 
  Publications website including policy and working papers. 
   
• Kellogg School of Management 
  The International Business & Markets Research Center working paper series is available for downloads in pdf format. 
   
• Lancaster University Research Centre Working Papers 
  Lancaster University Management School publishes its own series of research working papers, many of which are available for free download. 
   
• Olin 
  Links to Working Papers in Business. 
   
• NYU
  New York University, Salomon Center for Research in Financial Institutions and Markets. 
   
• Research Papers in Economics
  Collaborative volunteer effort to enhance the dissemination of research in economics. 
   
• World Bank e-Library 
  This is one of the most comprehensive collections in the area of social and economic development. It is an electronic portal to the World Bank’s full-text collection of final, peer-reviewed versions of books, reports, journal articles and working papers. It brings together, in a fully-indexed and cross-searchable database, and in PDF format, over 6000 titles published by the World Bank since 2000, as well as every new title as it becomes available in print. Useful for statistics too.