Skip to Main Content
London Metropolitan University
Library LibGuides
Skills Hub | Subject Guides | Library Search | E-Resources A-Z

Business

Recommended Websites by Subject

Accounting
Banking & Finance, UK, International & development banks
  • Bank of England: The Bank is committed to promoting and maintaining monetary and financial stability as its contribution to a healthy economy. 
     
  • European Financial Integration Reports: Links to reports published by the Commission on EU financial integration, European financial stability issues and EU financial services policy.
     
  • The Financial Conduct Authority (PRA): This is an independent non-governmental body, given statutory powers by the Financial Services and Markets Act 2000.
     
  • Financial Sector Continuity (UK):  Provides a central point of information about work on continuity planning that is relevant to the UK's financial sector.
     
  • Initiative on Global Markets: Looks at international business, financial markets and the role of policies and institutions in the context of the global economy. Includes details of research topics, an archive of working papers, and details of academics working for the Initiative plus news and events.
     
  • HM Treasury: The UK’s economics and finance ministry is responsible for formulating and implementing the Government's financial and economic policy. 
     
  • Independent Banking Advisory Service: Advises on specialist UK Business Banking, Corporate banking, SME Business Banking disputes, banking mistakes, bank errors, bank charges, bank overdrafts, bank loans, financial or bank guarantees, bank mortgages, bank lending security problems and disputes on bank accounts.
     
  • The Prudential Regulation Authority (PRA): Responsible for the prudential regulation of banking and finance institutions in UK.
  • International Banking Federation: The banking associations of Europe, the United States, Australia and Canada have joined forces to establish the IBF. A key international forum to address legislative, regulatory and other issues where there is a common interest and where it affects the banking industry globally. 
  • American Bankers Association :The association represents banks of all sizes on issues of national importance for financial institutions and their customers. 
     
  • Arab Bankers Association: Encourage Arab finance professionals to the exchange views, information and expertise between the banking and financial sectors in the Arab world, and their counterparts in the United Kingdom and other countries. 
  • African Development Bank: ADB is Africa’s premier development finance institution which is dedicated to combating poverty and improving living conditions across the continent. It also engages in mobilizing resources for the economic and social progress of its Regional Member Countries. The Bank’s mission is to promote economic and social development through loans, equity investments and technical assistance. 
     
  • Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) : APEC Member Economies work together to sustain economic growth, in the Asia-Pacific region, through a commitment to open trade, investment and economic reform. 
     
  • Asian Development Bank: The work of the ADB is aimed at improving the welfare of the people in Asia and the Pacific, those living on less than $2 a day.
     
  • Bureau of Economic Analysis: This US government agency prepares national, regional, industry, and international accounts presenting essential information on key issues: economic growth, regional economic development, inter-industry relationships, and the US's position in the world economy.
     
  • Department for International Development :The (DFID) is the part of the UK Government that manages Britain's aid to poor countries and works to get rid of extreme poverty.
     
  • Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean: One of the five regional commissions of the United Nations, contributing to the economic development of Latin America, and reinforce economic relationships among the countries and with other nations of the world. 
     
  • International Finance Corporation: The private sector arm of the World Bank Group and provides loans, equity, structured finance and risk management products, and advisory services to build the private sector in developing countries. 
     
  • International Monetary Fund: Promotes international monetary cooperation, exchange stability, and orderly exchange arrangements; to foster economic growth and high levels of employment; and to provide temporary financial assistance to countries to help ease balance of payments adjustment.
     
  • Middle East Economic Digest: MEED is internationally recognised as providing essential information for anyone doing business in, or with, the Middle East and North Africa. MEED can be accessed and searched via Business Source Complete. 
     
  • United Nations Conference on Trade and Development :UNCTAD promotes the development and friendly integration of developing countries into the world economy. This site also has statistics for FDI and news and information on many trade related topics. 
     
  • WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources: This is a frequently updated Internet directory of over 2000 annotated links to high-quality English-language sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international relations, international studies, global studies, and global education topics. These sites are carefully selected for their long-term value, favouring those with cost-free, authoritative information and analysis online
     
  • World Bank: Acts as a vital source of financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world. World Bank is made up of two unique development institutions owned by 185 member countries. 
Investing
  • Interactive Investor: Recommended resource. This site allows you to check the price of stocks and shares, and also enables you to compile your own share portfolio. The website software automatically tracks your share portfolio over time and calculates its monetary value as the stock market fluctuates.
     
  • City Wire: Provides share, investment and company news.
     
  • Dow Jones: Provides stock market indices, including those for speciality markets such as the Asian and Islamic markets.
     
  • Fortune rankings: Lists America's most successful companies showing revenue details (the Fortune 500) as well as producing similar details for the 500 best performing companies globally (the Global 500).
     
  • FTSE: The official FTSE website, providing FTSE indices for the UK, European and global stock markets.
     
  • Hemscott: Using Hemscott Morningstar you can register for free access to comprehensive share and company information. This site also enables you to create your own share portfolio and track your shares.
     
  • Hong Kong Stock Exchange: Trading information and data from the Hong Kong Stock Exchange.
     
  • London Metal Exchange: Lists the London Metal Exchange monthly and daily commodity prices.
     
  • London Stock Exchange:Includes a searchable database of companies listed on the London Stock Exchange and the AIM and techMARK exchanges.
     
  • New York Stock Exchange: Includes a searchable database of companies listed on the New York Stock Exchange
     
  • This Is Money: Offers a free service where you can compile your own portfolio of stocks and shares. Software on This Is Money platform automatically tracks the stocks and shares in your portfolio value and its corresponding market value. The site also offers share market news, tips, and company information, and personal finance information.
Job sites for Financial Services areas
  • Bank of England jobs: Recruitment website 
     
  • TheCityUK: This is the new, independent membership body for promoting the UK-based financial and professional services industry.
     
  • City Jobs: Search and apply for current vacancies with top City finance companies and recruitment agencies. Covers recruitment in Banking, Accounting / Accountancy, Insurance, Financial Services, and Finance related IT / Financial Marketing positions.
     
  • eFinancial Careers: Graduate recruitment, jobs in banks, finance, accounting and investment. 
     
  • Inside Careers: In collaboration with other professional bodies produces a range of career guides on banking, financial services, insurance etc.
     
  • Women in Banking and Finance: 
    WIBF is a non-profit making leading professional organisation committed to empowering its members in the banking and finance industry to realise their full potential.
Job sites for Economists
  • Careerjet.co.uk: This is a job search engine for the United Kingdom. Look for graduate jobs on Careerjet.
     
  • DevNetJobs: Jobs in international development, NGO and the environmental sectors. 
     
  • Econ-Jobs.com: Econ-Jobs.com lists jobs for economists, business and finance students from all around the world. It is used by many prestigious employers. It also allows job seekers to create an online resume which allows them to be headhunted by employers.
     
  • Government Economic Service (GES): UK’s largest recruiter of economists with over 1000 professionals in more than 30 departments and agencies.
     
  • Policy Jobs: An internet resource for job vacancies, fellowships and internships in public, social and economic policy research. 
Aviation Organisations and Associations
  • Airports Council International (ACI): Global trade representative of the world’s airports, represents airports interests with Governments and international organisations such as ICAO, develops standards, policies and recommended practices for airports and provides information and training opportunities to raise standards around the world. They also provide statistics. 
     
  • Airlines for America - A4A :ATA represents principal US Airlines. 
     
  • British Airline Pilots Association: BALPA is a flight crew association. The website includes information on becoming a pilot. 
     
  • British Women Pilots Association: BWPA was set up to help women participate in aviation.  Includes a careers section. 
     
  • CAA The UK Civil Aviation Authority: CAA is the UK's specialist aviation regulator. The website includes information on aviation legislation, economic and safety regulations and a link to the CAA Library. 
     
  • EASA - European Aviation Safety Agency: EASA promotes common standards of safety and environmental protection in civil aviation in Europe and worldwide.  The centrepiece of a new regulatory system for the single European market in the aviation industry.
     
  • FAA - The Federal Aviation Administration :US aviation regulator founded with the mission to provide the safest, most efficient aerospace system in the world.
     
  • The Honourable Company of Air Pilots:The Honourable Company of Air Pilots was established in order to represent pilot and navigator interests within all areas of aviation. 
     
  • International Civil Aviation Organization: ICAO is a United Nations body responsible for international rules and standards governing civil aviation. Covers: standardisation, procedures, rules of the air and much more. 
     
  • Joint Aviation Authority: JAA is an associated body representing the civil aviation regulatory authorities from a number of European States. This site offers a strong focus on safety regulations and standards. 
     
  • Royal Aeronautical Society: The RAeS website includes information on careers, events and professional standards. Includes link to the RAeS Library. 
     
  • Sustainable Aviation: Brings together main players from UK airlines, airports, manufacturers and air navigation service providers. Tracks work undertaken by signatories to provide key data and information on strategy.
Websites
  • Airliners: Contains articles, news, forum and other links.

    Aerade: A search portal hosted by Cranfield University. Useful for aerospace and defence resources. 
     
  • Aviation Week: News on aviation, defence and business, Aviation Training and Development 
     
  • CAP 393 - Air Navigation: The Order and the Regulations by the Civil Aviation Authority
  • Centre for Aviation Transport and the Environment: Internationally-recognized centre of expertise on environmental impacts of transport and mobility. 
    ​​​​​​​
  • Department for Transport - Aviation: Department of Transport Aviation pages. Information on the Government's aims for aviation, including a link to the white paper on "The Future of Air Transport". 
     
  • Flyer: Online magazine and web portal with good general information, news and forums. 
    ​​​​​​​
  • ICAO Conventions and Annexes: Information on International Conventions and Protocols, Annexes to the Convention on International Civil Aviation and Air Traffic Management. 
  • ABIS (The Academy of Business in Society): An alliance of companies, business schools and academic institutions which aim to embed issues on business in society into learning and practice in Europe. Includes examples of corporate social responsibility activities. Academic papers can be viewed online.
     
  • Bank of England: Information about the Bank of England, press releases and publications.
  • CBI Confederation of British Industry site.
  • Yahoo Small Business: Yahoo portal for general business and economic information. Especially useful for stock market sources.
  • World Factbook 
  • Online version of the annual publication. Useful for specific country information.
Entrepreneurs
  • BFA: The British Franchise Association is the voluntary self-regulating governing body for franchising. The UK market offers many franchise opportunities.
     
  • Industry Guides from the British Library IP centre: Essential guides for small businesses and entrepreneurs compiled by the British Library Business IP Centre. There are sections on business plans, grants and finance, industries, intellectual property and marketing.
     
  • EC SME Portal: This portal provides access to information on the whole spectrum of EU policies, legislation, programmes and initiatives relevant to Europe's small and medium-sized enterprises.
     
  • ENTERWeB
     
  • Entrepreneur
     
  • Getting British Business Online: A partnership between Enterprise UK, Google & e-Skills, with the support of the Department for Business Innovation & Skills. They offer small businesses a free co.uk website address, a free customised website and free online marketing.
     
  • GEM: is the world's largest single country study of entrepreneurial activity within the GEM Global consortium. It can tell us about how much activity is going on, where that activity is, how regions across the UK compare, the types of people that become entrepreneurs and the impact that entrepreneurs have on job and wealth creation.
     
  • Startups
Events, Conference Organisations and Associations

Best for Industry Information 

UK Events (previously known as The Business Visits and Events Partnership)

Specific Events Organisations 

Festivals and Music Events
Tourism Organisations 
Tourism Websites
  • Association British Travel Agencies: (ABTA) provides information on travel trends and impact of Brexit on tourism in the UK.
     
  • Association of Leading Visitor Attractions: Find visitor statistics to all UK tourist attractions.
     
  • Culture24: UK's National Virtual Museum, with arts and museum news as well as exhibition notices, reviews, features and trails. It promotes publicly funded museums, galleries, archives and heritage attractions in the UK.
     
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport: This government department is responsible for policy on the arts, sport, tourism, libraries, museums and galleries, and the historic environment.
     
  • International Council of Museums: This is the international organisation for museums and museum professionals.
     
  • The National Trust: This charitable organisation aims to protect and open to the public historic houses, nature areas and forests etc.
     
  • Office of National Statistics: Produces statistics including datasets on leisure and tourism industry. Find information on travel trends, tourism spending in the UK and overseas travel.
     
  • VisitBritain: Includes data and market research on Britain's Tourism industry and provides specific research on tourism business in the UK, consumer behaviour, inbound tourism by areas of interest and international tourism markets.
International Tourism Organisations

 

Advertising and Marketing 

 These are links to professional associations where you can find current information and policies and guidelines.

Fashion Marketing 
  • Association British Travel Agencies
    (ABTA) provides information on travel trends and impact of Brexit on tourism in the UK.
     
  • Association of Leading Visitor Attractions
    Find visitor statistics to all UK tourist attractions.
     
  • Culture24
    UK's National Virtual Museum, with arts and museum news as well as exhibition notices, reviews, features and trails. It promotes publicly funded museums, galleries, archives and heritage attractions in the UK.
     
  • Department for Digital, Culture, Media & Sport
    This government department is responsible for policy on the arts, sport, tourism, libraries, museums and galleries, and the historic environment.
     
  • International Council of Museums
    This is the international organisation for museums and museum professionals.
     
  • The National Trust
    This charitable organisation aims to protect and open to the public historic houses, nature areas and forests etc.
     
  • Office of National Statistics
    Produces statistics including datasets on leisure and tourism industry. Find information on travel trends, tourism spending in the UK and overseas travel.
     
  • VisitBritain
    Includes data and market research on Britain's Tourism industry and provides specific research on tourism business in the UK, consumer behaviour, inbound tourism by areas of interest and international tourism markets.
Tourism Organisations 
Tourism Websites
  • Association British Travel Agencies: (ABTA) provides information on travel trends and impact of Brexit on tourism in the UK.
     
  • Association of Leading Visitor Attractions: Find visitor statistics to all UK tourist attractions.
     
  • Culture24: UK's National Virtual Museum, with arts and museum news as well as exhibition notices, reviews, features and trails. It promotes publicly funded museums, galleries, archives and heritage attractions in the UK.
     
  • International Council of Museums: This is the international organisation for museums and museum professionals.
  •  
  • The National Trust: This charitable organisation aims to protect and open to the public historic houses, nature areas and forests etc.
International Tourism Organisations