Business

Recommended databases

Note: The content  on FAME, Mintel, Passport, Statista and WGSN databases cannot be not found via a Library catalogue search. You need to search for the database by name on the Library A-Z or of Library E-resources or click on the database name in this list and login.    ​​​​

Report any access issues to Alls@londonmet.ac.uk

Recommended databases

Note: The content on the following databases cannot be not found via a Library catalogue search. You need to search for the database by name on the Library A-Z or of Library E-resources or click on the database name in this list and login.

 FAME, Mintel, Passport and Statista  

Report any access issues to Alls@londonmet.ac.uk

Other Resources outside the Library

• Bloomberg
• Major industry-level resources providing current and historical global data on banking, financial markets, economic indicators, company information and news.
• NOTE: The Bloomberg Suite is located in Holloway Road campus in room T1-20 on the mezzanine area near the Tower building entrance. Students who require access need to ask their lecturer to request access via the IT Self-Service Portal.

• Nasdaq Data link (previously Quandl)
• Site providing access to financial, economic and alternative datasets for investors from various sources including central banks and stock exchanges. Includes alternative data previously hosted by Quandl. Some free data is available (free account registration required).

Library catalogue search: examples of searching for case studies in books and journals.

Examples are: "case study" United Kingdom retailing industry, filter first set of results to last five years, academic journal articles. 

search on "case study" retail* industry. 

For a specific theme use search to find case studies of interest for example: "case study" fashion circular economy

Passport 

• International market research database with country data, consumer lifestyles, consumer market sizes, forecasts, companies and brands, information sources, major market profiles and market analysis.
• Euromonitor video on working with statistics on Passport

Statista 

• Provides direct access to quantitative data on media, business and finance covering Europe, United Kingdom), the United States and China, from more than 18,000 sources.

UK Data Service 

•  Statistics platform provides access to data on the UK economy, demographics and social research plus international economic data. Requires registration for first time use - search for London Met University on the login page and use your University IT login. Contains data skills modules on their Learning Hub. 

UN Monthly Bulletin Of Statistics 

• Data on important economic trends and developments, including population, industrial production and price indices, employment and earnings, energy, manufacturing, transport, construction, international merchandise trade, finance and national accounts.

Main Economic Indicators (OECD) 

• Contains data on national accounts, industrial production, employment, prices, business trends, finance and trade for the major world economies and runs from January 1960 to the current month.

       Statistics list on A-Z

        Link to various statistical portals

• Association of Leading Visitor Attractions: Find visitor statistics to all UK tourist attractions.

• BP Statistical Review of World Energy: Contains latest statistical review, figures on consumption by energy type, historical data and projections of long term energy trends.

• Building Societies Association: Represents mutual lenders and deposit takers across the UK, including all UK building societies. Contains mortgage lending and savings statistics.

• EIU: Free access to the Economist Intelligence Unit's latest data, analysis and forecasts, webinars and Global Forecasting Service. Registration required. 
   
• Foreign and direct investment statistics: FDI statistics from OECD portal. Find investment statistics and trends compiled by UNCTAD (United Nations Conference on Trade and Development). Manipulate the data you need by country, year and economy. This can then be transferred in to graphs and charts. 
• IMF:International Monetary Fund provides a comprehensive range of statistical and other information. International Financial Statistics (IFS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS) and Government Financial Statistics (GFS) are available via the UK Data Service.
   
• The International Labour Organization (ILO): The ILO is the tripartite UN agency that brings together governments, employers and workers of its member states in common action to promote decent work throughout the world.
   
• Migration Policy Institute: Statistics on migration. Choose the country of your choice to see statistics on number of migrants, nationality of migrants etc. 
   
• OECD Statistics Portal: The Statistics Portal provides free access to some OECD databases as well as extracts from all other databases, classified by topic.  Statistics compiled for the analysis of economic and social developments.

• UK Finance: Acts as the principal trade association for banks operating in the UK as well as a leading representative body in the financial services sector. Good source for banking statistics. 

• VisitBritain: Includes data and market research on Britain's Tourism industry and provides specific research on tourism business in the UK, consumer behaviour, inbound tourism by areas of interest and international tourism markets.

SMES/Entrepreneurship

• GEM: This is the world's largest single country study of entrepreneurial activity within the GEM Global consortium. It can tell us about how much activity is going on, where that activity is, how regions across the UK compare, the types of people that become entrepreneurs and the impact that entrepreneurs have on job and wealth creation.

Find articles from Harvard Business Review on Library Search.

Henry Stewart Talks (HS Talks): Business and Management Collection

• Audio visual presentations by world leading experts and academics on marketing and management. Each talk has informative visuals and printable slide handouts in PDF format.

BOB on Demand

• Shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for education institutions.

Linked in learning 

• Online learning platform to help people learn business, software, technology and creative skills.

Other

IMF Videos
The IMF monitors the world's economies, lends to members in economic difficulty, and provides technical assistance. By adding visual content to their economics data the IMF aims at helping students to understand complex current issues. 
IMF Videos are free to use and to re-post.  Students can browse all videos available or search for a particular topic using the search box.

BBC/OU Money & Management podcast
Contains a series of podcasts such as retail revolutions or the cost of home ownership. This could be an alternative way for business students to find good materials for their projects, in addition to journals. If you like this you may like the Marketing and Management Collection too.

UK Newspaper sources

Lexis+

• Source for most UK national and regional newspapers.

Specific news information sources

Music Ally 

• Reports, analysis and news, including some statistics, in the music industry spanning the last 15 years. Topics covered include: technological change; marketing, promotion and campaigns; entrepreneurship; trends in music genres over time; and international trends.

WGSN

•  Provides online news and is an information service for the fashion and style industries including fashion forecasting, company profiles and news items on e-commerce, finance, advertising and marketing.

Worldwide News in English

• Links to key online newspapers and news sources. Includes television channel news sites.