Materials and Products Collection
Materials samples
Silicastone recycled material for tiles and solid surfaces
Interior design and MDF substitute versatile material made from cow manure
Bamboo panels and side pressed bamboo plywood
Ceramic tiles using metal waste
Post-consumer recycled PET bottles are used to create acoustic panels
Sensitive, skin-friendly, UV protection, antibacterial magic, eco-friendly fiber that combines natural cellulose with an essential trace element: zinc
Woodio: 100% waterproof solid wood composite designed to replace ceramic and stone materials
Seamless resin floors
Corcrete: Composite material for interior design and architecture made of cork and concrete
Reused and upcycled paper
Barkskin: Versatile and easy to apply organic and hand-pounded bark material
Eco-friendly cork tiles
Wall cladding cork panel
Reclaimed coconut shell tile
Natural cork for internal wall cladding
Terrazzo flooring - Natural marble chippings and a range of aggregates set in a matrix of cement with a colour pigment added to it.
Wastea:100% Sustainable from recycled tea - Vegan leather and plant & bio-based
FabBRICK: Textile waste transformed into furniture or wall covering materials
Japanese natural textile made from woven leftover walnut planks and veneers
Foresso - Recycled waste: Timber terrazzo and wood dust
Recycled textiles waste for wall cladding, insulation and decorative panels
Recycled textiles waste for wall cladding, insulation and decorative panels
Coffee grounds and powdered waste of peach, olive stone, pepper, marble, automobile parts, marine architecture and more
Birch, European Oak & American Walnut bended and 3 dimensional 3d panels
Venetian plaster and polished plaster
Plastic: 100% recycled and recyclable plastic sheets
Plastic: 100% recycled and recyclable plastic sheets
Sustainable solid surface material which contains recycled post industrial plastics and is 100% recyclable
Surface material made from 100% recycled plastic
Sustainable solid surface material which contains recycled post industrial plastics and is 100% recyclable
Architectural laminated bronze
Isohemp: Insulation - carbon neutral hemp block
Bio Flex: Natural fibre hemp insulation
MORTEX: Mineral coating with concrete effect
Terrazzo coating
Hemspan Bio Board: Natural fibre hemp insulation
Natural moss for internal wall cladding
HempWood: Carbon-negative hemp fibre wood
Acoustic insulation that relies on the up-cycling of single-used plastic bottles
Terrazzo coating
Anodized architectural titanium
Stone tile
Biocomposites: Recycled shell from the fishing industry, plastic waste and coat hangers
Glass with metal mesh
Stone tile
Recycled and repurposed acrylic
Natural moss for internal wall cladding
Tiles: Earthenware clay, natural iron sludge and high glossy transparent glaze
Terrazzo coating
Acoustic insulation that relies on the up-cycling of single-used plastic bottles
Modular wall panel made from 100% recycled and recyclable material
Eggshell ceramic
Jute Tiles: Industrial waste, jute and gypsum plaster
Table-mats: Made of inner bark of pine trees
Natural moss for internal wall cladding
Biocomposite: orange peel, pine needles, reed, local organic waste, renewable materials and binders made of nature’s starches and resins
Stone tile
Natural moss for internal wall cladding
Biodegradable seaweed and plants packaging, paper and plastic
Graphene sheet
Mycelium: 100% sustainable mushroom material for packaging, building material and interior design items
Tree-free, eco-friendly and sustainable paper and stationery products made from elephant, donkey, horse and cow poo
Sappi Symbio is a new natural composite material combining high quality cellulose from wood and thermoplastics
Premium and durable surface material made from paper
Handmade ceramics from broken pieces of ceramics and stoneware clay
Mycelium: 100% sustainable mushroom material for packaging, building material and interior design items
Premium and durable surface material made from paper
Malai is a newly developed material made from entirely organic and sustainable bacterial cellulose, grown on agricultural waste sourced from the coconut industry in Southern India
Premium and durable surface material made from paper
Ocragela is made of ochre, gelatin, glycerine, water, and is fully biodegradable. Created by conceptual & material designer Soowon Chae / 채수원
Pomace material created from the juice press residues industry
How to find samples of a particular product or material
Use the Collection list page to see our holdings and to locate the shelf position of a particular material.
Alternatively, feel free to browse when you are in the Materials & Products Room on the 3rd floor of Aldgate Library (CM3N-03).
Beyond the List, you can log in to Construction Information Service (CIS).
On the IHS homepage select Construction Information Service to search for articles and regulations relating to a material or product.
Knowledge Workspace helps you search for suppliers of a material or product. Use the Classifications tab to narrow down your search for suppliers.
You can also use Architonic and NBS Knowledge or NBS Source to search for products and suppliers.
New, interesting, and inspirational material
Many thanks to:
A materials catalogue that features a variety of building materials and products. It's a curated selection of products that can be useful for design inspiration.
Since 1948, American Supply has conceived, developed and produced a range of more than 10,000 materials that are renowned for their originality and personality. American Supply is now present on 3 continents and recognised for its Creativity, Technical Expertise and Global Logistics by some of the most demanding customers in the luxury sector.
Provides a range of courses and resources, including information on materials and products. It's a valuable source for continuing education in the field.
Provides a comprehensive database of building products, materials, and manufacturers. It allows users to explore materials based on project types and specific product categories.
University College London
The Materials Library is a collection of some of the most wondrous materials on earth, gathered from sheds, labs, grottoes and repositories around the world. It is a resource, laboratory, studio, and playground for the curious and material-minded to conduct hands-on research through truly interdisciplinary inquiry and innovation. The collection is accessible to Institute of Making members day to day, and to the public at Materials Library Discovery sessions.
A digital platform that allows users to search and sample materials from various manufacturers. It streamlines the material selection process for architects and designers.
- Material District
As the world’s leading network in the field of innovative materials, MaterialDistrict empowers global innovation by match-making material needs with material solutions.
Registration required - registering is free. - MaterialDriven
Serving as the interface between makers and manufacturers of innovative, sustainable materials and their strategic applications. With a curated range of 300+ materials in the collection, their expertise lies in locating and sourcing innovative materials, as well as understanding their applications, and impact across industries.
A global materials consultancy that offers a vast library of innovative and sustainable materials. It's a valuable resource for staying updated on the latest material trends.
- Material Lab
Architectural and design resource studio in London where people can explore and be inspired by materials such as ceramics, glass, wallpaper, wood, carpet tiles, eco-resins and fabrics. - Sweets
A building product database that includes information on materials, products, and manufacturers. It is a comprehensive resource for architects, engineers, and designers.
A catalogue of materials that redefines our physical environment.
Introduction to the collection
The Library’s Materials & Products Collection is a superb assemblage of materials samples including concrete, ceramics, textiles, glass, paper and metals. To support our transition to an ethical future, we are now focused on circular materials and collecting bio-composites and biomaterials: salvaged, sustainable, recycled, recyclable, reclaimed, repurposed, reused, rethink!
The purpose of the collection is to inspire students, to provide them with a tactile experience on a variety of textures and shapes, and to inform them of the latest developments in materials technology. It is a challenging and interesting time in the materials sphere with so many amazing products being explored and developed worldwide.
Using the collection
All students are welcome to browse the collection in the Materials and Products room on the third floor of the Aldgate Library. The collection can be accessed by all London Met students and staff and is open for self-service browsing when the library is open, you do not need to book to view the collections. You can interact with the samples and take pictures, but the materials are reference only so cannot leave the library.
The samples are shelved using a classification system based on CI/SfB, a system used for the classification of materials and products.
If you know what type of material you want to use for your design project and would like to see some samples of it, you will need to search the Materials and Products Collection List available online and on the computer located in the same room (no login required). There is also a printed booklet version in the room.
