Blog - Visual Arts Library - LibGuides at London Metropolitan University

100 years of Disney

by Anna Walsh on 2024-01-12T12:26:00+00:00 in Animation, Art, Design, Film and Television, Fine Art, Graphic Design, Illustration | 0 Comments

To celebrate the exhibition Disney 100, currently on show at Excel London to commemorate a century of the iconic multimedia brand that started as a humble cartoon studio in 1923, we have put together a display of many of our Disney related items in Aldgate LIbrary.

This also means that the first Mickey Mouse film 'Steamboat Willie' has now entered the public domain in the U.S., as US copyright law says the rights to characters can be held for 95 years, which means the characters in Steamboat Willie entered the public domain on Monday, 1 January 2024 (it was made in 1928) - beware the newer versions of Mickey etc are still under copyright law! Copyright is a complicated matter, to find out more, see the libraries pages on copyright, which explains more and lists some useful resources.

Disney have produced many films, if you don't have a subscription to Disney Plus, you might be able to find them via the library. We still have a selection of DVDs, or if it has been shown on one of the free to air channels in the last few decades, you might be able to stream it via Bob (Box of Broadcasts), which the library subscribes to. For example you can find Dumbo, The Jungle Book, Pocahontas, the Aristocats, Mulan, to name a few, on there.

BoB : On Demand TV And Radio For Education

Featured

Shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for education institutions. BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 free to air TV and radio channels.

A few e-books available through the library catalogue as well include:

Disney and Philosophy by Richard Brian Davis (Volume Editor); William Irwin (Series edited by)

ISBN: 9781119538288

Publication Date: 2019-11-18

Take a magic carpet ride through Disney's wonderful world of films and entertainment experiences, and discover the wisdom within its most popular and enduring stories Philosophy begins in wonder, and there's no question that Disney's immersive worlds and iconic characters have enchanted generations of children and adults alike, inviting us to escape the mundane into a world of fantasy, imagination, and infinite possibility. In Disney and Philosophy, essays from thirty-two deep-thinking Disneyphiles chart a course through the philosophical world of Disney, tapping into the minds of the great sages of the ages--Plato, Aristotle, Confucius, Descartes, and Goofy--to explore universal questions of freedom, personal identity, morality, family, and friendship: Can Sleeping Beauty know that she's not dreaming? Does turning our emotions and memories "inside out" tell us who we are? What can Toy Story and Wall-E teach us about being human? Is hakuna matata really such a problem-free philosophy? If you've ever asked who you are, what is right, or what your purpose is, Disney and Philosophy will spark your curiosity and imagination with a whole new world of unexpected insight into the Magic Kingdom.

Understanding Disney by Janet Wasko

ISBN: 9780745669045

Publication Date: 2013-06-07

Since the 1930s the Walt Disney Company has produced characters, images, and stories which have captivated audiences around the world. How can we understand the appeal of Disney products? What is it about the Disney phenomenon that attracts so many children as well as adults? In this major new book, Janet Wasko examines the processes by which the Disney company - one of the largest media and entertainment corporations in the world - manufactures the fantasies which enthrall millions. She analyses the historical expansion of the Disney empire, examines the content of Disney's classic films, cartoons and TV programs and shows how they are produced, considering how some of the same techniques have been applied to the Disney theme parks. She also discusses the reception of Disney products by different kinds of audiences. By looking at the Disney phenomenon from a variety of perspectives, she provides a fresh and comprehensive account of one of the most significant media and cultural institutions of our time. This important book by a leading scholar of the entertainment industries will be of great interest to students in media and cultural studies and will appeal to a wide readership.

The Disney Song Encyclopedia by Thomas S. Hischak; Mark A. Robinson

ISBN: 9780810869387

Publication Date: 2009-08-01

Songs written for Disney productions over the decades have become a potent part of American popular culture. Since most Americans first discovered these songs in their youth, they hold a special place in one's consciousness. The Disney Song Encyclopedia describes and discusses hundreds of famous and not-so-famous songs from Disney films, television, Broadway, and theme parks from the 1930s to the present day. Over 900 songs are given individual entries and presented in alphabetical order. The songwriters and original singers are identified, as well as the source of the song and other venues in which it might have been used over the years. Notable recordings of the song are also listed. But most important, the song is described and what makes it memorable is discussed. This is not a reference list but a true encyclopedia of Disney songs. The book also contains a preface describing the criteria for selecting the songs, a glossary of song terms, a list of all the Disney songs and their sources, a songwriter's directory in which every song by each composer/lyricist is listed, a bibliography, a guide to recordings and DVDs of Disney productions, and an index of people and titles.

Add a Comment

Visual Arts Library: Blog

100 years of Disney

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Archive

Subjects

This post is closed for further discussion.

Visual Arts Library: Blog

100 years of Disney

0 Comments.

Search this Blog

Recent Posts

Subscribe

Archive

Subjects

Follow Us

This post is closed for further discussion.