Skip to Main Content
London Metropolitan University
Library LibGuides
Library Matters | Subject Guides and Librarians | E-Resources A-Z |
Library links

Creative Technologies and Digital Media

 

  • Association of Independent Music - The not-for-profit trade body that represents the UK’s independent music sector.
     
  • Association of Stringed Instrument Artisans - A not-for-profit American professional trade organisation for stringed instrument makers and repair technicians.
     
  • European Guitar Builders - An alliance formed by professional independent European stringed instrument makers with the aim of organising independent luthiers and those related to the field of guitar building in Europe.
     
  • International Society of Weekly Newspaper Editors - An American society whose purpose is to help to improve standards of editorial writing and news reporting and “to encourage strong, independent editorial voices”.
     
  • Ivors Academy - The UK’s independent professional association for music creators.
     
  • Music Industries Association - The Trade Body for the UK Musical Instrument Industry.
     
  • Music Producers Guild - A UK not-for-profit organisation that represents professional record producers, recording studios, recording engineers, mixers and mastering engineers.
     
  • National Music Council - A key British organisation that aims to promote the interests of the whole music industry.
     
  • UK Music - A member organisation that represents all sectors of the UK’s music industry.
     

Other academic libraries with relevant materials can be searched via Library Hub Discover and accessed via the SCONUL Access Scheme.

These websites are not all academic in nature, but are really good for keeping up with industry developments. Evaluate anything you find before including it in your research:

  • Archives Hub - archives are a good source of primary material. Find out if there is an archive on your research area, where it is, and how to access it.
     
  • Cecilia - provides an online guide to music collections in archives, libraries and museums in the UK and Ireland.
     
  • Creative Bloq - information and tutorials from a number of creative magazines, including Computer Arts and 3D World.
     
  • Global Journalist - reports on the state of press freedom around the world, covers international news and serves international journalists.
     
  • OnMusic Dictionary - dictionary of instruments, composers and music symbols.
     
  • ScreenSkills - industry skills body for the screen industries, including film, television, animation and visual effects, and games. Provides information on training, education and careers as well as industries.
     

The following are games and animation companies, many of which have publications, presentations, videos and podcasts, blogs, and research: