Applied Computing, Computer Science, Communications Technology and Mathematics
Magazines - individually subscribed
Browse Journals
- BrowzineBrowse our journals by choosing disciplines and specific subjects, or search for journal titles containing certain words.
Resources
These are the top databases for your course. See the A-Z of online resources to see other interdisciplinary databases.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is the interface for IEL Online (IEEE/IET Digital library). This database provides full text access to all the IEEE and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) journals, conferences and active IEEE standards. It gives access to worldwide quality technical literature in electrical engineering, electronics, communications technology, business management, computing and multimedia.
- IET Research Hub This link opens in a new window
Access to journals published by the Institution for Engineering and Technology. Covers a wide range of technological disciplines including computing, electronics, biotechnology, robotics and much more.
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowThe Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) provides access to full text articles of ACM journals, conference proceedings and publications of affiliated organisations. This database covers all aspects of computing and computer science including programming, computer architecture, operating systems, mobile and wireless computing, the internet and worldwide web, computer networks, management information systems, e-commerce, computer graphics, multimedia, human computer interaction and much more. It may also contain only summaries to some articles.
- ScienceDirect Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 2,000 academic journals published by Elsevier. Subject fields covered include Biological Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Business, Management and Accounting, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, Engineering and Technology, Immunology and Microbiology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics, Physics and Astronomy, Psychology, and Social Sciences.
- Wiley Online Library: Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to approximately 2,800 academic journals published by Wiley. Subject areas include medicine, health, life sciences, engineering, physics, information science, computing, mathematics and more.
- Cambridge University Press E-books This link opens in a new window
Collection of over 30,000 e-books, primarily recently published works, across a wide-range of subjects within fully searchable online environment. Includes e-books from both Cambridge University Press and also selected other publishers.
- BoB : On Demand TV And Radio For Education This link opens in a new window
Shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for education institutions. BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 free to air TV and radio channels.
- LinkedIn Learning This link opens in a new window
LinkedIn Learning (formerly known as Lynda.com) is an online learning platform to help people learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals through access to a searchable video library of courses. Training sessions in streaming video taught by recognised industry experts cover a variety of software products and digital technologies as well as a wide range of other topics.
For IEEE published standards (American) go to IEEE Xplore. You can search or browse for active and historical standards.
For freely available European standards created by the European Telecommunications Standards Institute (ETSI) visit the ETSI website.
For British and European standards visit the BSI (British Standards Institution) website. These are not free. However, the British Library allows access to the British Standards Online full-text database to be accessed in the reading rooms at their St Pancras site.
This is a list of some key professional bodies that offer membership and networking opportunities.
- BCS, The Chartered Institute for IT - UK accrediting body of some of our degrees.
- Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) - American educational and scientific computing society. ACM publications can be found in the ACM Digital Library.
- Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) - professional American association promoting technological innovation and excellence. IEEE publications can be found in IEEE Xplore.
- The Institute of Mathematics and its Applications (IMA) - UK learned and professional society for mathematics and its applications, and the accrediting body of our mathematics degrees. Search our Library Catalogue for IMA journals.
- Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) - UK professional society for the engineering and technology community. Many IET publications can be found in IEEE Xplore.
- National Cyber Security Centre - part of GCHQ, a UK security and intelligence agency.
Other academic libraries with relevant materials can be searched via Library Hub Discover and accessed via the SCONUL Access Scheme.
- British Library - access to material unavailable elsewhere. See their website for visiting information and how to register for a reader pass.
- Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) Library - open to the public for reference only access. See their page on 'Library only membership' for paying membership options.
These websites are not all academic in nature, but are really good for keeping up with industry developments. Evaluate anything you find before including it in your research:
- 5G Technology World - news, articles and videos on all things to do with internet connectivity.
- Alpha Vantage - Stock API - Alpha Vantage is an Open Access (free) resource that provides a good Application Programming Interface (API) for students and researchers who need access to real-time live stock data when writing their own programs/applications. It gives access to UK, North America, Asia Pacific, and other global market statistics (stock prices, company filings, economic indicators such as GDP & inflation, foreign exchange rates, etc.) and is suitable for machine learning and statistical modeling. Also, see this data guide for sample Python code scripts or reach out to support@alphavantage.co for 24/7 technical support.
- Dr Dobbs - Journal website with some free articles, news, blogs and events information for programmers and software engineers.
- Information Age - magazine aimed at IT managers and executives involved in the application of technology in business.
- Project Euclid - some free journal and conference articles, and monographs, in maths and stats. Look out for the open padlock symbol for full access.
- Web of Conferences - open access platform for published scientific (and engineering and technology) conference proceedings.