Health
Key databases for all Health and Health related subjects
These are some of the most relevant e-journals sources for your subject. They make a good starting point in searching for journal articles and book references.
- Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of journals across a broad range of topics. Contains also summaries to articles which are available fulltext via other databases.
- CareKnowledge This link opens in a new window
CareKnowledge is a practice-focused research tool used extensively by social work and health studies students and academics to develop their skills and knowledge. Compiled from a wide range of resources, Care Knowledge brings together the latest social care information into one database. The database contains journal articles, in-house commentaries, special reports, Government documents and more.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window
CINAHL is an index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature. CINAHL Complete allows you to search across its index of thousands of journals and provides full access to articles from hundreds of journals, many of them peer-reviewed. Content includes journal articles, evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, clinical trials, and research instruments records. The allied health content means that it can also be useful for public health, social work, physiotherapy and other allied health professions.
- Emerald Insight This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text articles covering management disciplines including strategy, leadership, information management, and marketing and human resource management – and over 3,000 e-books covering the social sciences subjects, including education, economics, politics and research in the social sciences.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Please note that the personal Sign In function does not currently work with London Met IT logins. Please use a personal Google/Gmail or Microsoft/Hotmail login if you wish to create a personal account on PubMed.
- ScienceDirect Journals Collection This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 2,000 academic journals published by Elsevier. Subject fields covered include Biological Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Biochemistry, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Business, Management and Accounting, Chemical Engineering, Chemistry, Computer Science, Decision Sciences, Economics, Econometrics and Finance, Engineering and Technology, Immunology and Microbiology, Materials Science, Mathematics, Medicine, Neuroscience, Pharmacology, Toxicology and Pharmaceutics, Physics and Astronomy, Psychology, and Social Sciences.
- ScienceDirect Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
Over 1,200 Open Access journals across a range of disciplines. All Open Access articles are peer-reviewed and immediately free to access and download.
- Social Sciences Citation Index - now part of Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides researchers, administrators, faculty, and students working in the social sciences with quick, powerful access to the bibliographic and citation information they need to find research data, analyze trends, journals and researchers, and share their findings.
- Trip Medical Database This link opens in a new window
Clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
Please sign-up to the database the first time you use it and always use this personal login to get the best results
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science is citation tracking search tool that allows you to follow citation links between academic journal articles and conference papers. This is particularly useful for broadening your understanding of a specific topic and for carrying out literature reviews for research projects. Web of Science covers over 20,000 journals across most major disciplines (not just science disciplines).
- APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new windowFull-text psychology journal collection published by the American Psychological Association and other related publishers. Includes approximately 120 journals with coverage from 1894 to present.
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
Journal article abstract database focused on psychology, social science and behavioural sciences. Covers approximately 2,400 journals in multiple languages.
- Cochrane Library, The This link opens in a new window
Medical research resource covering Health Psychology and other medicine-related issues. Available free of charge nationally. See their online Search Manual for details of the different databases, which sections are most appropriate for your search (e.g. Systematic Reviews). Includes some full-text.
- Europe PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Europe PMC is a unique, free, information resource for biomedical and health researchers. Search 30.4 million+ abstracts and 3.3 million+ full text research articles from PubMed and PubMed Central. Discover who is citing who, find related data resources and browse summaries of key terms. Access additional content including biological patents, clinical guidelines, PhD theses and research reports.
- PubMed Central This link opens in a new window
Free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health’s National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
- Social Science Database This link opens in a new window
The Social Science Database offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing extensive coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work, and sociology.
- Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Offering more peer-reviewed, full-text journals than any other sociology research database, Sociology Source Ultimate provides the must-have materials for students studying social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.