Youth
Leadership skills and,group work
Develop Your Leadership Skills by
This indispensable guide from leadership guru John Adair, will boost your confidence levels, inspire you and help you on your journey to becoming a leader of excellence. Acknowledged as a world expert, John Adair offers stimulating insights into recognizing and developing individual leadership qualities, acquiring personal authority and, most importantly, mastering core leadership functions such as planning, communicating and motivating. This 5th edition now features even more practical exercises, useful templates, and top tips to improve or develop your leadership skills, this guide distils the essence of John Adair's teaching and provides a framework for becoming an effective leader. The Creating Success series of books... Unlock vital skills, power up your performance and get ahead with the bestselling Creating Success series. Written by experts for new and aspiring managers and leaders, this million-selling collection of accessible and empowering guides will get you up to speed in no time. Packed with clever thinking, smart advice and the kind of winning techniques that really get results, you'll make fast progress, quickly reach your goals and create lasting success in your career.
ISBN: 9781398606272Publication Date: 2022-07-03
Skills for success: personal development and employability by
Now in its fourth edition, this indispensable guide helps students to create their own personal development programme and build the skills and capabilities today’s employers want. Step by step, it takes students from the initial stages of setting goals and defining success through to the application process for their dream job. Part 1 prompts students to think about what ‘success’ means to them and to think more deeply about what matters to them, what inspires them, and what will help them to achieve their long-term ambitions. This section also helps students to better manage their time, energies and resources so that they can achieve the kind of success they want. Part 2 shows students how to refine their people and task management skills, enabling them to become the effective communicators and problem-solvers that today's employers want. Part 3 develops students' creative and reflective thinking, thereby strengthening students’ academic and professional abilities. Part 4 helps readers to reflect on what employers really want from job applicants and explains how they can take concrete action to improve their job prospects. Chapters contain guidance on how to put forward a strong application, how to make the best use of placements, and how to keep records so that students feel more in control during the application process.
ISBN: 9781352011609Publication Date: 2021
Strengthening Collaborative Project Skills by
The ability to work in teams, communicate effectively, and improve efficiency make for highly successful professionals. Written in easy-to-access language, this book aligns with the Core Curriculum requirement of teaching students how to develop research projects that are similar to those they might face in their careers. It also provides guidance on building and participating in teams, bolstering interpersonal skills, and developing assertiveness. This volume contains concrete, real-world examples of actions students can take now to help them attain their desired futures.
ISBN: 9781508175674Publication Date: 2017-07-30
Strengthening Public Speaking Skills by
One of the skills employers want most in new hires is the ability to speak well. Public speaking can not only advance a person in almost any career but can also help an individual do better in school as well. Following the English Language Arts standards for Speaking and Listening, this book teaches readers why public speaking can be such an effective tool, how to craft a powerful speech, and how to overcome one of the most common problems people have with talking in front of a crowd--stage fright.
ISBN: 9781508175711Publication Date: 2017-07-30
Research, Dissertations, Projects and Theses for Youth and Community
Qualitative Research Methods for Community Development by
The second edition of Qualitative Research Methods for Community Development teaches the basic skills, tools, and methods of qualitative research with special attention to the needs of community practitioners. This book teaches students entering planning, community development, nonprofit management, social work, and similar applied fields the core skills necessary to conduct systematic research designed to empower communities and promote social change. Focusing on the basic elements of qualitative research, such as field observation, interviewing, focus groups, and content analysis, this second edition of this book provides an overview of core methods and theoretical underpinnings of successful research. It also includes two new chapters on qualitative data analysis software and techniques for conducting online qualitative interviews and focus groups. From housing, community organizing, neighborhood planning, and urban revitalization, this book gives students the skills they need to undertake their own projects and provides professionals a valuable reference for their future research. This book serves as a primary text for courses in applied qualitative research and as a reference book for professionals and community-based researchers.
ISBN: 9781000504996Publication Date: 2021-12-30
General Study Skills
- Academic Writing Hub (student's area)Contains short videos and examples on academic writing for students in higher eduation.
Academic Writing by
Now in its fifth edition, Academic Writing helps international students succeed in writing essays and reports for their English-language academic courses. Thoroughly revised and updated, it is designed to let teachers and students easily find the topics they need, both in the classroom and for self-study. The book consists of five parts: The Writing Process Elements of Writing Language Issues Vocabulary for Writing Writing Models The first part explains and practises every stage of essay writing, from choosing the best sources, reading and note-making, through to referencing and proofreading. The four remaining parts, organised alphabetically, can be taught in conjunction with the first part or used on a remedial basis. A progress check at the end of each part allows students to assess their learning. All units are fully cross-referenced, and a complete set of answers to the practice exercises is included. New topics in this edition include Writing in Groups, Written British and American English, and Writing Letters and Emails. In addition, the new interactive website has a full set of teaching notes as well as more challenging exercises, revision material and links to other sources. Additional features of the book include: Models provided for writing tasks such as case studies and essays Use of authentic academic texts from a wide range of disciplines Designed for self-study as well as classroom use Useful at both undergraduate and postgraduate level Glossary to explain technical terms, plus index Written to deal with the specific language issues faced by international students, this practical, user-friendly book is an invaluable guide to academic writing in English.
ISBN: 9781351690577Publication Date: 2017-12-06
Academic Writing for University Students by
Academic Writing for University Students is designed to help all students succeed in writing essays, reports and other papers for coursework and exams effectively. Academic writing is often the biggest challenge facing college and university students, but this book provides all the tools needed to master the necessary skills. The book is divided into four parts, to help teachers and students easily find the help they need, both in the classroom and for self-study: The Writing Process: From finding suitable sources, through to editing and proofreading Writing Types: Practice with common assignments such as reports and cause-effect essays Writing Tools: Skills such as making comparisons, definitions, punctuation and style Lexis: Academic vocabulary, using synonyms, nouns, adjectives, verbs and adverbs This key handbook breaks down and practises every stage of essay writing. All units are fully cross-referenced, and a complete set of answers to the practice exercises is included. In addition, the companion website hosts comprehensive teaching notes as well as more challenging exercises, revision material and links to other sources. Designed for self-study as well as classroom use, this book uses authentic academic texts from a range of sources and provides models for common writing tasks such as case studies, while progress checks are included for each part to enable students to assess their learning. Academic Writing for University Students is an invaluable guide to all aspects of academic writing in English.
ISBN: 9781000480221Publication Date: 2021-12-30
Critical Reading and Writing for Postgraduates by
Reading critically, and writing using critical techniques, are crucial skills you need to apply to your academic work. If you need to engage with published (or unpublished) literature such as essays, dissertations or theses, research papers or oral presentations, this proven guide helps you develop a reflective and advanced critical approach to your research and writing. New to this edition: Two new chapters on basic and advanced writing skills More advice on self-bias and perception Updates and additional examples throughout Updated online resources providing additional support. A Companion Website provides additional resources to help you apply the critical techniques you learn. From templates and checklists, access to SAGE journal articles and additional case studies, these free resources will make sure you successfully master advanced critical skills.
ISBN: 9781529727647Publication Date: 2021-06-15
Critical thinking: tools for taking charge of your learning and your life by
Written by international authorities on critical thinking, this book details an integrated, universal concept of critical thinking that is both substantive and applicable to any and every situation in which human thinking is necessary. It provides students with the basic intellectual tools needed for life-long learning, helping them understand the mind and how its three functions-thinking, feeling, motivating-influence one another. Critical Thinking fosters the development of fair-minded critical thinking and explores essential intellectual standards of clarity, precision, accuracy, logicalness, significance, depth, breadth, and fairness; the importance of skilled and deep questioning; and how to take thinking apart in order to find problems in thinking and then improve thinking. The fourth edition features: Think for Yourself activities, Glossary of critical thinking terms, New chapter on argumentation, New chapters on critical thinking in the professions (including critique of disciplines), Discussion of the Internet's effects on our lives, Updated discussions of media bias and political propaganda, as well as egocentric and sociocentric thought as barriers to critical thinking.
ISBN: 9781538138755Publication Date: 2021
How to Use Your Reading in Your Essays by
Reading is part and parcel of academic writing, and knowing which sources to include in assignments and how to go about this process can be challenging. That's where this handy guide comes in. With over 20 years' experience in the field, Jeanne Godfrey is no stranger to essay writing. Taking students step-by-step through the process, from choosing their sources to checking their work, she helps students to develop the skills and confidence they need to use their reading effectively in their essays and get the best marks possible for their work. Concise and practical, it breaks down the 'why' and 'how' of using reading in academic writing and contains valuable guidance on paraphrasing, comparing the views of different authors and commenting on sources. This book is ideal for students of all disciplines, and can be used by college students, undergraduates and postgraduates. New to this Edition: - Part A contains new sections on how to target your reading, remain focused and know when to stop reading - New section on how to use reading in reports, supported by short report extracts - New two-colour text design to enliven the reading experience and make the text more accessible
ISBN: 9781352002973Publication Date: 2018-08-09
Study Skills for International Postgraduates by
Destined to become a life saver for international students everywhere, this book provides clear, comprehensive guidance for students embarking on postgraduate study at a western university. Helping to maximise your chances of academic success, topics include challenges such as critical thinking, research, writing and speaking skills.
ISBN: 9781403995803Publication Date: 2011-08-25
Succeeding with your master's dissertation: a step-by-step handbook John Biggam by
Succeeding with your Master’s Dissertation is a thorough and comprehensive guide for postgraduate dissertation students. Now in its fifth edition, it offers clear, straightforward and practical support for each stage of the master’s dissertation.
Brimming with examples of good practice, to help students to reach their full potential, this fully updated and revised edition takes students through the entire writing process, from start to finish, from proposal to submission.
Featuring detailed guidance on how to:
• Clarify your research objectives
• Produce a research proposal
• Complete each chapter of a traditional dissertation: Introduction, Literature Review, Research Methods, Findings, and Conclusion
• Reference sources
• Add a professional touch
• Prepare for a viva
This is essential reading for social science students of all disciplines. Additional, tailored advice is provided on:
• Writing about theory and practice
• Critiquing what you have created
• Completing a systematic review
ISBN: 9780335249817Publication Date: 2021
