LibGuides: Art, Photography, Illustration and Graphic Design: Home

Academic Liaison Librarian

JSTOR Journals and E-books (including Artstor Images) This link opens in a new window
Large collection of academic e-journals and e-books. Full text, covering many subjects including visual and performing arts.
JSTOR is an archive service for journals and therefore does not include the most recent three years for each journal on the platform.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to thousands of journals across a broad range of topics. Contains also summaries to articles which are available fulltext via other databases.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Millions of high-quality images and media from some of the world’s top photo archives, museums, libraries, scholars, and artists, including rare materials not available anywhere else. All content is rights-cleared for education and research
Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window
Online image database providing unlimited access to over 1.2m images, all copyright cleared for educational use by institutions, teachers, lecturers, librarians and students. Bridgeman Art Library represents over 1,600 museums, galleries and private collections, and over 30,000 artists
For further information see the User Manual or the Subjects Guide

Public
PUBLIC is a beautifully designed peer-reviewed journal founded in Toronto as an intellectual and creative forum that focuses on how theoretical, and critical issues intersect with art and visual culture.
Public Art Dialogue: PAD
Public Art Dialogue serves as a forum for critical discourse and commentary about the practice of public art defined as broadly as possible to include: memorials, object art, murals, urban and landscape design projects, social interventions, performance art, and web-based work.
Public Art Review
This international magazine offers an inspiring collection of articles, insights, ideas and commentary about art in public spaces.

Drawing
Promotes and disseminates drawing research with a focus on contemporary practice and its theoretical context
Journal of Illustration
The Journal of Illustration provides an international forum for scholarly research and investigation of a range of cultural, political, philosophical, historical, and contemporary issues, in relation to illustration.
Studies in Comics
Studies in Comics aims to describe the nature of comics, to identify the medium as a distinct art form, and to address the medium's formal properties.
Other Art, Illustration, Graphic Design and Photography journals