Using the London Met Libraries

We know it can be confusing when you're not sure where to look for information.  Below we have listed the best places to look for library information and resources.  But remember you can always just ask us.

ALLs are available to provide help and advice on finding and using research material available in London Met’s Libraries, obtaining material from other Libraries, and using other Libraries and archive collections. If you need help identifying resources for your research please email or make an appointment with your ALL.

Academic Liaison Librarians are specialists in their subject areas and are available to advise and support students in the following ways:

• Help with researching for assignments, dissertations and projects
• Effective use of Library subject collections, databases and other resources
• Referencing and plagiarism
• Basic study skills
• And any other information needs you may have related to your studies

You can get in touch by email at alls@londonmet.ac.uk . Library Services also offers a Live Chat during staffed hours; look for the Chat button on the Library webpages.

Discover key resources in your subject area

Tailored specifically to subject areas, these guides provide lots of essential information and guidance, plus the contact details for your Academic Liaison Librarian.

Subject Guides

Library Search is the library catalogue: your window to millions of resources. 

Use Library Search to find a specific book, article, or to find resources on a topic.  It’s an excellent place to start your independent research, as it covers all subject areas and a range of information types.  It searches the Aldgate and Holloway Road libraries, as well as our Special Collections and Archives, the London Metropolitan University Repository and many of the electronic online databases we subscribe to. 

Library Search

There are four different search options on the Library Search home page:

Useful links:

Don't miss out!

Many of our online resources or databases can be searched via the main Library Search tab, but not all of them.  

The A-Z of Library e-resources gives a complete list of all the resources the library subscribes to so that you can access a broad range of high quality research.

Explore A-Z library e-resources

You can browse the list of resources, or search by title.  You can also filter by subject or type (e.g. journals, market research, legal information etc).

In Library Search? 

Next to each resource you will see a green or yellow tab.  This will indicate whether results from these resources will show when searching Library Search.  If it says 'not in library search' you will need to go directly to these resources and search there.

What's recommended for my subject?

Your subject guide will provide a list of key e-resources for your subject area.  

Find practical information about using the library, including: opening hours, how to borrow, request and reserve books, and what kind of study space to expect.

Welcome to Library Services

The Special Collections of London Metropolitan University include a wide range of published books and volumes, alongside archives that document a history of local business, community life, trade union activity, and the University (including its various predecessors). The stories of the people and organisations these records hold span over 170 years and can be found in many different formats such as letters, oral history and photographs. The collection also contains historic objects from collections like the University Archive, The Archive of Irish in Britain, the Trades Union Congress Library collections and the Frederick Parker Archives and Chair collection

See The Special Collections pages for visitor information.

The Library holds collections of print theses. They are gradually being digitised and added to the Institutional Repository. Many will still be available in print only.

To search for all London Met theses go to the London Met Repository Advanced Search and choose THESIS in the Material Type list.

 If you wish to request a print thesis in our collections at Holloway Road Library that is not yet digitised, please complete a Thesis copyright declaration form and we will notify you when it is ready for collection.  All print theses are reference only and cannot be removed from the Library.

Where a book is needed to support your research studies and it is not currently available via the Library Catalogue, you may place a request using this form. We cannot guarantee that the titles will be purchased as we have to manage the available funds, but we will give careful consideration to all recommendations from postgraduate research students.

Doctoral research students may request up to ten interlibrary loans per academic year via the catalogue. These are funded by the Research and postgraduate office (RPO). There are additional fees for renewals and overdue loans which must be paid by the borrower. The British Library will invoice for the non-return or late return of books.

• Minimum charge of £1.00 per item per day for the late return of books and theses.
• If unreturned within 5 days of the due date, you may be subject to a British Library invoice for a minimum of £214.30 which includes an admin charge.

Electronic Delivery

• You may request a journal article or a chapter from a book. Whole journal issues and complete books cannot be delivered electronically

Discover our Skills Hub guides!  Topics include: Studying at London Met; Finding Information; Referencing, Plagiarism and Academic Integrity; Writing and Assignments; AI (Artificial Intelligence); Digital Skills.

Skills Hub

Led by the Academic Liaison Librarian team, these workshops will help you develop your skills for uni and beyond.  

Upcoming workshops...

For full details of our workshops take a look at: Library Skills Workshops