Special Collections: Develop your skills

Our collections are filled with a variety of original media used by researchers for creative response work. These include primary source material like recorded sound, visual arts including commercial prints and posters, alongside secondary source material like our Artists’ books and early 20th century journals including The Cabinetmaker.

We offer workshops and focused sessions where groups, like our Visual Communication (Graphic Design) students, can introduce themselves to selected collections and access material e.g. our poster collections, which can provide inspiration on lines, shapes and fonts.

Case Study:

In April 2024, students from the School of Art, Architecture and Design (SAAD) were invited to submit a proposal to be an Artist in Residence in Special Collections throughout June 2024. This four-week residency provided the opportunity for artists to engage with and respond creatively to The Archive of the Irish in Britain. 

Our panel, which included Senior Lecturers from SAAD and Special Collections, shortlisted and interviewed different artists. The successful artist was Freya, who is an Illustration and Animation student at London Metropolitan University (LMU). 

"I am an Illustrator and animator that loves working in a variety of mediums, but I always prefer working with my hands, the messier the better.

Art for me is simply, communication. Good communication takes you some place new, it helps you grow and feel more connected. This is why I was drawn to work with the Special Collections as their archive houses a number of voices and untold stories that not only deserve to be heard but could also offer insights to current events." 

Freya's work can be found on our online catalogue.

A critical analysis examines and evaluates someone else’s work, such as a book, artwork, or an object, such as a chair. It requires two steps: a careful study of that work and a thoughtful analysis of the information presented in – or message(s) conveyed by - that work.

Although this may sound complicated, all you are doing is closely reading or evaluating work and providing your opinion on how well its creator accomplished their purpose.

Critical analyses are most frequently done in academic settings (such as a class assignment). Writing a critical analysis demonstrates that you can read or study work and think deeply about it. However, critical thinking skills are vital outside of an educational context as well. You just don’t always have to demonstrate them in, for example, essay form.

Research work conducted in our archives is a fantastic way to develop your information and digital literacy. In particular, using finding aids like our online catalogue to understand how information or data is organised, and described. It also provides an introduction to working with material created or owned by others, and what processes are required to correctly reference (or clear rights) in order to avoid plagiarism and copyright infringement. 

For students, building these information skills will prove useful for future employment opportunities. In particular, developing a knowledge of how to implement effective search strategies, and the ability to communicate information and data effectively.