Skip to Main Content

Skills Hub Subject Guides Library Search E-Resources A-Z

Skills Hub | Subject Guides | Library Search | E-Resources A-Z

Special Collections: Teaching Resources

Using Special Collections in your Studies

Text: Using Special Collections for your Studies. Image of handwritten letter.

Text: The Special Collections at London Metropolitan University hold rare books, objects and archives that span over 350 years. They range in format from personal letters to oral history and photographs. Our main collections comprise the University Archive, The Archive of the Irish in Britain, the Trades Union Congress Library Collections and the Frederick Parker Archives and Chair Collection. They include material to support research into Politics, Journalism, Interior and Product Design, Visual Communications and more. Image: Archive storage racks

Text: Our main collections include ... University Archive In August 2014, London Metropolitan University created a central historic archive of material that relates to all its predecessor institutions and contributes towards the narrative arc of the institution's extensive history. The archive includes examples of student work, newsletters by the Student’s Union, social and sporting events, alongside papers on governance, finance and estates development. The Archive of the Irish in Britain Founded in 1984, this unique collection of documents, audio and video recordings, books, photographs and ephemera catalogues the history of the Irish in Britain from the late nineteenth century to the present day. The bulk of the records relate to Irish community groups in London in the late 20th century. Image(s): Woman scientist in laboratory / Map of Ireland and Britain

Text: Our main collections include ... The Trades Union Congress Library Collections The TUC Library is the major research library for the study of all aspects of trade unions, collective bargaining and labour history, with both historical and contemporary coverage. The emphasis is on Britain, but many other countries are represented, especially Europe and the Commonwealth. Frederick Parker Chair and Archive Collection The Frederick Parker Collection is a unique and outstanding collection of almost 200 British chairs, ranging in date from 1660 to the present day. The collection also includes a substantial archive of related historical documents, artefacts and some company information covering the period 1880 to 2001. Image(s): Woman speaking a group outside factory / Pencil drawing of a chair

Text: Artists’ Books Artists’ Books are books made and produced by artists. They are a contemporary art form and address diverse ideas and subjects and can explore the book form, including sequence, structure and the space of the page. They are produced in limited or unlimited editions. Artists' books utilise the full spectrum of artistic processes, including printmaking, graphic design and bookbinding. Image: Selection of books on a table

Text: Primary sources - Our archives largely contain primary source material. These include personal papers, photographs and oral history. First-hand or contemporary accounts of an event or subject can provide the written or spoken voice from those who lived it. As a result, these sources are a valuable resource for academic study and personal research. Image: 'Jamaica Arise' front cover with man on cover writing in a book

Text: Secondary sources - A secondary source is a work that uses primary sources to analyse and interpret information. Visual imagery, data or quotations from a primary source will often be included within a secondary source to provide commentary, evaluation and opinions by its author, to persuade the reader of their argument. In our reference library we hold the following secondary sources: periodicals and journals, books, reviews, essays on and criticisms of creative works, such as art, literature and music. Image: Books on a shelf

Text: Critical thinking and analysis. Be curious! Critical thinking is to question the information, ideas and arguments presented to you in your research and studies. Developing this skill will help you: interpret evidence and develop well-reasoned arguments of your own utilise and reference evidence to justify your arguments and ideas synthesise your opinions and the opinions of different writers or researchers. Image: Group of people looking at archive materia

Text: Sample Questions for Primary Source. Why was this primary source created? Who was the intended audience? What don’t we know about this source? What other information do we have about this source? What other sources might help answer our questions or develop our understanding? What have others said or written about this or similar sources? How does evidence from this source alter or fit into existing interpretations of the past?. What is it? Who wrote or made it? When was it written or made? Where was it written or made? How was it written or made?

Text: Type of Special Collections. Correspondence Photographs Institutional and Company Records Objects and artwork Ephemera. Community Media Oral histories. Image: Group of young people in a bar

Text: Correspondence.Written by an individual or organisation, the type of correspondence we hold is largely in the form of letters. They exchange information about news, people and events. Correspondence can be a valuable primary source for research, because it can provide an individual account or perspective on a subject or event. Sample questions: What is the historical context of the correspondence? Who is the author, and how might their perspective affect their description of events? What sort of language is used in the correspondence- is it emotive, factual, formal – and why do you think the author chose to write in this style? Image: Two handwritten letters

Text: Example. Letter to Mr Ward, 6th June 1939 by the Anti-Partition League This letter is from The Archive of the Irish in Britain. It forms part of the Anti-Partition League collection. The League was founded in London in 1938 in order to educate the British public about the inequities of partition and campaign for its removal. Written in 1939, this letter begins by thanking Mr. Ward for his recent financial contribution and his support for a United Ireland. It also discusses the position of the League on Britain and the British Government. Image: Handwritten letter