Special Collections: What is an Archive?

The term archive(s) can be thought of in TWO different ways. It can refer to a building that holds a collection of historical records or it can refer to the collection itself.

In our Special Collections we hold a number of archives, which record information about community activity, business or institutional operations, and more often than not, tell us about the experience of an individual or group who has lived through both the ordinary and extraordinary.

This is why archives (and their records) are important to our understanding of the past, because they provide a contemporary account through the voice of those who have lived it.

To make sure our Special Collections are cared for, archival records and rare library material are stored in secure and environmentally-controlled rooms. Temperature and relative humidity levels are periodically monitored to identify any significant changes and, if required, make the relevant adjustments. 

Different archival formats, such as 35mm acetate film or vellum parchment, each require lower and higher temperatures and relative humidity, to maximise their lifespan. 

When researchers access archival material in the reading room, we ask that careful handling is maintained. This includes, for instance, wearing vinyl gloves to handle photographs, or using book supports to relieve pressure on the spine when reading and turning pages.  

To help provide remote (and wider) access to material, we digitise records for publication online or use on dedicated terminals in our reading room. Digitisation can also be a form of preservation, because the original can be left in its box and the digital surrogate can be viewed instead. Therefore preventing wear and tear, and unnecessary handling by the researcher. 

Throughout our daily life, we might take photographs, collect objects or write correspondence (either via social media or email).