Special Collections: Rare Books and Periodicals

Introduction

To accompany the archives in our Special Collections we hold an extensive library of rare books, journals and pamphlets. Art history, architectural history, furniture history and town planning are particularly strong in the collection which also includes some grey literature that is not available in many libraries. One of our earliest titles dates back to the 18th century - 'A Tour thro' the Whole Island of Great Britain' (1724) by Daniel Defoe.

To support research of, for example, The Archive of the Irish in Britain, we also hold a number of titles that provide an introduction to Irish history. And similarly, for contextual introductions to the Trades Union Congress Library collections, Frederick Parker Chair and Archive Collections and our University history we hold relevant titles.

Library classification systems 

London Met catalogues published works by subject, according to TWO classification systems:

Dewey Decimal is used for most of the books found in our libraries.

Library of Congress (mainly used for published material in the TUC (Trades Union Congress) Library.

Grey literature

Grey literature is content that is produced and published in both electronic and print formats by non-commercial private or public entities, including pressure groups, charities and organisations such as trades unions, civic bodies and community groups. All of our collections contain examples of grey literature.

This literature can be in the form of reports, pamphlets, bulletins, newsletters, trial data, working/technical papers, posters, guidelines, policy documents and other types of government publications. 

Many published works held by Special Collections appear on the University’s main library catalogue. You can refine your search using the instructions below:

1. Navigate to the main library catalogue and select ‘Classic Catalogue’

2. You now can refine your search to ONLY material from the Special Collections, TUC Library Collections and TUC Library Journals:

To help start your research, we've created a number of Themed Lists which include suggested titles:

• Artists' Books

• Furniture History in London Metropolitan University Special Collections

• Local History and Maps

• Photography in Special Collections

• Resources for Fashion Students

• Textiles in Special Collections

• Upholstery Books and Journals in Special Collections