Education
SCONUL & Specialist Libraries
- SCONUL access to other university librariesSCONUL Access is a scheme which allows many university library users to use
study spaces or books and journals at other libraries which belong to the scheme.
Some library users may be able to borrow print books from other libraries too.
Please also remember access granted under the Scheme is a privilege and not a right. - NSPCC Library & Information ServiceNSPCC library and Information Service provides quick and easy access to the latest information, research and resources on child abuse, child neglect and child protection.
Computer Science
- Computing in SchoolThis website has a huge library of resources and links plus tools to develop yourselves as professionals, through blogging, connecting with like-minded individuals and sharing your resources.
- De Gruyter e-books This link opens in a new window
De Gruyter’s package of e-books includes, Law, Business & Economics and Social Sciences. There are approximately 8,000 titles in Chemistry, Computer Science, Engineering, Geosciences, Industrial Chemistry, Life Sciences, Materials Sciences, Mathematics, Medicine, Pharmacy, and Physics.
- IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
IEEE Xplore is the interface for IEL Online (IEEE/IET Digital library). This database provides full text access to all the IEEE and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) journals, conferences and active IEEE standards. It gives access to worldwide quality technical literature in electrical engineering, electronics, communications technology, business management, computing and multimedia.
English, Media & Drama
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
Provides introductions to major writers, artists, philosophers, topics and periods in the subject areas of literature, philosophy, classics, religion and cultural studies in a functional, cross searchable online environment.
- Discovering Literature: Romantics & Victorians(British Library) Discover 1,400 collection items, 171 articles, 25 films, 36 teachers’ notes and more.
- Drama Online: National Theatre Collection 1 This link opens in a new window
Filmed versions of 30 previous productions at the National Theatre in London, including recordings from NT Live performances and other high-quality archive recordings. See also separate Collection 2 for further performances.
- English & Media Centre (EMC)The English and Media Centre is an independent educational charity with a national and international reputation as a Centre of Excellence. It is a development centre, serving the needs of secondary and FE teachers and students of English and Media Studies in the UK and beyond. We are unique in being a group of teachers, working in a voluntary sector organisation and able to draw on our close connections with colleagues in the classroom.
- Project MUSE Humanities Collection This link opens in a new window
The Project MUSE Humanities Collection provides full-text access to over 240 humanities, arts and social sciences e-journals – as well as access to nearly 5,000 Open Access e-books.
- Shakespeare (British Universities Film & Video Council)An International Database of Shakespeare on Film, Television and Radio
This authoritative online database of Shakespeare-related content in film, television, radio and video recordings is international in scope, is regularly updated and currently holds over 9,200 records dating from the 1890s to the present day.
Films, TV, Radio & Documentaries
- BoB : On Demand TV And Radio For Education This link opens in a new window
Shared online off-air TV and radio recording service for education institutions. BoB enables all staff and students in subscribing institutions to choose and record any broadcast programme from over 65 free to air TV and radio channels.
- Kanopy Film Streaming This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is a film streaming service designed for academic use and can be used in a web browser as well as through mobile and smart TV apps. The London Met package includes various curated film collections such as Classic Cinema, Independent Cinema, Film Studies, Early Cinema and more. Sign up for a personal login on the site to be able to use the Kanopy mobile and TV apps.