Special Collections: Blog

Black histories in our University Archive

The University Archive holds a wealth of records about our institutional history dating back to 1848, many of which include histories of Black students and academic staff. Below, the Special Collections team has selected a few areas of the archive to begin research, but recognise further work is needed to provide a more comprehensive representation of these histories.

Enrolment Cards

The University Archive comprises a number of historical student records, including Enrolment Cards. Our earliest example(s) date back to the 1910s, and although initially this type of record served an administrative function, they are now a valuable source of social, cultural and genealogical history. This is because many of the more detailed enrolment cards include information about the Name, Address, Employer (if Evening Class), Course enrolled on and Nationality of the student. 

In this example (see image), Isaac Adekunle Adepoju is enrolling on evening course, 'Transport - Graduateship' on 21 September, 1960 at the City of London College (1861-1970). He was from Nigeria, West Africa and employed by British Railways at Neasden as an Engine Fitter. On completion of course, it is detailed that Isaac will sit examinations of the Institute of Transport. 

Unfortunately, we don't have any further information about Isaac, but it does encourage further enquiry about his experience migrating to - and working in - Britain during the late 1950s/60s. In particular, when the British government were leading recruitment drives for sectors like Transport, in former British colonies like Nigeria. 

Also from the enrolment cards of the City of London College is information about student Isaac Ennin (pictured here), who studied Accountancy between 1945 and 1947. His nationality is detailed as 'British (West Africa)', and because we also know his fees were 'paid for by the Colonial Office', that Mr Ennin was from a former British Colony.

Through further research, we found a portrait of Isaac* at the City of London College in the photograph collections at the Imperial War Museum, and include below the description provided:

"Mr Isaac Ennin of Western Province, Gold Coast, studies accountancy at City of London College. According to the original caption, Mr Ennin was educated at an Elementary Missionary School and went to work for the Gold Coast Government Railway, continuing his education via correspondence courses. He has been sent to Britain for a three year course by the Gold Coast Railway, and will have some practical experience with the LNER before returning to the Gold Coast Railway as a Government Accountant."

* under terms of 'non-commercial use' on websites that are primarily information-led, research-oriented and not behind a paywall

Students' Union

The activity of past (and current) Students' Union (SU) is widely represented in our University Archive through newsletters, student handbooks, and promotional leaflets. These records represent the student voice, but also provide insight - certainly from the 1970s onwards - to Black histories, both on and off campus. 

The African Caribbean Society of London Guildhall University is one such example, and highlights the aim of SU Clubs and Societies to create welcoming and safe, community spaces for its students. 

In Issue 5 (Feb, 1999) of G:Echo (see image), Entertainment Officer, Samantha Francis and President, Gavin White detail that the society is largely made up of African Caribbean students but is not restricted to anybody from specific backgrounds. Throughout the academic year, the society holds dances and talent shows. The biggest event of the year is ACFEST, which is held in the Midlands and welcomes African Caribbean Society members from across Britain.

The society also welcomed Guest Speakers to talk on various subjects:

'Last semester we had The Islamic Group in to talk about their opinion on mixed race relations. We also had the Chief Superintendent of the Brixton Police, whose talk centered on the police's relationship with the Black community. Personally, I felt this particular member of the police was doing his best to improve race relations - let's hope this trend continues. An organisation called Blackliners came in to talk about HIV awareness and prevention. That particular talk opened a few peoples' eyes'

The Students' Union President (1992-93) for the University of North London was Andrea Cumberbatch (see image), who was interviewed for staff newsletter, Omnibus. Andrea was asked a series of questions including what she hoped to achieve, how she planned to get more students involved, and what course she is studying (which she details as Latin American Studies and Caribbean Studies). 

When asked what Andrea hope to achieve, she said:

"I intend to be responsive rather than prescriptive, to respond to the needs of the students as they are brought to me. Of course I am concerned with student poverty and hardship ... but, I would like to see the creche and nursery facilities improved by the time I leave office, and the student/staff ratio."

Like many SU newsletters in our University Archive, Anti-Racism advocacy and campaign work features in articles written during the 1970s and 1980s to raise awareness amongst the student body of Social Justice.  

In an issue of Pepys, the SU newsletter for the City of London Polytechnic (1969-1992), an event titled 'Protest Against Racism: March Rally and Multi-Racial Festival' is advertised. The event was organised by Hackney Committee Against Racialism, Tower Hamlets Movement Against Racism and Fascism, Hackney Community Relations Council and Hackney Trades Council.

Artists booked to perform included Roy Shirley and The Aces, (Reggae Band) and The Explosives, (West Indian Dance Troup)

Instructions to assemble in Shoreditch Park at 11 am. 

Awards and Graduations

Omnibus is a Staff Newsletter that was circulated by our most recent precursor, the University of North London (1992-2002). It contains a number of articles about events, current affairs and staff profile pieces. It also recognises the achievements of its students.
 

In Issue 92 (11 Jan 1999), for example, final year student on the BA Hons Accounting and Finance degree, Obi Arinze, is congratulated for being awarded the CIMA Undergraduate Prize for 1998. The prize is awarded in recognition of excellent academic performance in Management Accounting.

In the same Issue, alongside a number of Graduation photographs, is the Honorary Degree that was awarded to British writer, dub poet, actor, and musician Benjamin Zephaniah (1958-2023).

On receiving the award, he said 'I finished with education at the age of 13 and went on to a series of approved schools. This honorary degree shows the kids out there what is possible'.

London Metropolitan University continues to award Honorary Doctorates and Fellowships to individuals who have made outstanding contributions to particular fields of academic or professional endeavour, and whose accomplishments reflect the ethos and values important to the University and its community.

These include Rashada Harry (Honorary Doctor of Philosophy), Alison Kriel (Honorary Doctor of Philosophy), Grace Olugbodi (Honorary Doctor of Philosophy), Raymond Stevenson (Honorary Doctor of Philosophy) and Shaun Wallace (Honorary Doctor of Laws) and Armando Cabral (Honorary Doctor of Business Administration).